DIET - PART 2: Intuitive Eating

in #health6 years ago

Forget diets and fads. When I use the term 'diet' in this series I am referring only to the kind of foods we eat, not a weight loss programme.

For PART 2 of the Diet Series, i'm talking about intuitive eating, or as some people call it, mindful eating. You've probably heard people speak about it, but i'm here to explain what it is and how it could help you have a healthier relationship with food.

What actually is intuitive eating?

It essentially comes down to 3 things:

1) Listening to your body

When your body is hungry, feed it. When you're full, stop eating. It sounds simple doesn't it?
But how many of us put off eating until we are so hungry we end up gorging on whatever we can get our hands on? I know I have done that in the past and still do it sometimes. In the same way, you don't have to finish all the food on your plate just because it's there.
Children and babies know when they are hungry and full and listen to their body's reaction.
Also listen to how your body feels when you eat certain kinds of foods. If you are having negative symptoms, then something is potentially wrong with the kind of foods you're consuming.


image sourced via Pintrest

2) Fueling appropriately 

Give your body the energy it needs to serve it's purpose. Don't think so much about food groups, but instead try to think of it in terms of fuel. I've spoken about this briefly before, but complex carbs are not the enemy.
You need carbs for energy. If your body is craving carbs it could be because it is not getting enough energy from the foods you are putting into it. Understanding nutrition as a whole is important and also somewhat complicated. Finding what kind of food works as fuel for you is an on going process. I would recommend continuing to educate yourself and listen to your body's response.

This links back to listening to your body. If your body is responding by being bloated, tired or sick, usually it is because of the diet you have. 

3) Don't eat as a hobby

I love to eat and because i'm living in SE Asia, I tend to eat out at least 10 meals per week because it's much cheaper to eat out than it is to cook at home. I know what it means to completely love food and enjoy eating, but I try not to eat just for something to do because i'm bored or feeling lazy. Sometimes I find myself just putting food into my mouth because it's in front of me, snacking on nuts or whatever is on my desk. Breaking that habit can be hard, but by changing the way you think about eating, you can in turn change your habits. Mentality is everything.

Why bother?

By eating intuitively you don't need to follow a strict diet or regime and you can eat all the foods your body loves. It helps get us away from punishing ourselves and shifts our mentality into treating our bodies with love and respect. It's important to practice in order to have good health, less sickness and a body and mind which work in harmony with one another.


image sourced via Pintrest

What can I do to start eating more intuitively again? 

As I mentioned, when we are children we have the ability to eat intuitively, but as we get older media, parents, noise, and other things mean we tend to switch off this internal voice. There are so many things you can do to bring you closer to eating in an intuitive way.
Here are my top 5 tips:

1) Stop the diet fads

Whatever diet you are on, whether it be 'no carb', 'high carb', 'no sugar', 'no gluten', or whatever else, I suggest you pack it in, especially if you find your body is craving something you have given up. The diet you are on could be restricting you of something your body could need. Sure, you might experience weight loss, but your health might suffer. Instead just eat when you need to eat, stop when your full and give your body what it craves.

2) Make a note of your body's reaction

When you're eating, eat. Don't eat and watch something or multitask. Be mindful of what you are consuming and recognise how your body feels and responds to the food.
Keep a mental or written log of how certain foods make you feel. For example if you are usually sick or in pain after eating one particular kind of food, chances are it's not good for your body. The more in tune you can become, the faster you will be able to make the association. 


image sourced via Pintrest

3) Educate yourself on nutrition

Sometimes it can be a bit overwhelming to research about food online since there are so many conflicting theories about what we should put into our bodies.
I don't like to ever tell anyone what they should be eating, because I think it's a personal choice. I eat as many  plant-based, whole foods as possible.  That is to say, vegetables, grains, beans, fruits. These make up 95% of my diet. After a few weeks of eating this way it was easy to see a change in my energy levels and generally improved health.
Spend some time to figure out what works for you and keep educating yourself on how certain foods break down in the body and the nutritional value they have. That way if your body doesn't like one particular food, you can research about why that could be.

4) Meal prep

I can't stress this one enough.  By prepping a few healthy meals which suit your body in advance each week, you'll have healthy food to hand. That means at times when you're really busy and can't be bothered to cook, you'll be more likely to eat the prepared meals, rather than grabbing whatever fast food you can get your hands on. This will keep you on track to giving your body the food it needs.
Also I carry healthy snacks with me when I go out in case I feel hungry.

5) Stop punishing yourself

By punishing yourself every time you eat something which isn't good for your body, you will only cause yourself more stress - which in turn isn't good for you physically or mentally. We get into the habit of punishing ourselves from 'falling off the wagon' when trying to lose weight or be more healthy.
Remember, like everything, it's a journey towards a mental shift in giving your body what it needs and when it needs it. Go easy on yourself!

Do you eat intuitively? If so, how do you feel about this? If not, would you like to try?


Yasmine

Sort:  

Such a great article Yasmine. I agree wuith everything you mention. Our bodies knows best! Unfortyunatley the media and food industry have trick us into thinking we are hungry all the time.

Thanks so much Amy. Yeah it's such a shame really!

Really good tips and I totally agree about not restricting your body but actually seeing what works for you best. What works for you might not necessarily work for the same age, sex, build though so you’re right, it’s very important to listen.

I’m fully on board with this but again, with busy lifestyle this gets harder. To eat well, you actually need to invest a good chunk of time in shopping at the right places, looking for recipes, prepping meals in advance and in general always being concious of what you eat. All of this takes time and effort. I wonder if there are any hacks for really busy people or is it a question of prioritisation again? ;-)

P.S. I might try keeping a diary for a week or two and see if I spot anything that my body doesn’t like (that I don’t know already). I think it’s a great tip!

Yeah a diary is always good. Sometimes we feel super healthy but when we look back at our diary it's like wooooaaahh? Maybe i'm not as healthy as I thought.

Haha you crack me up. I definitely know that I eat a lot of fatty foods, I can’t help it but it would be good to see anyway. Are you using an app for this like MyFitnessPal?

Yeah I use that but also I have a fitbit.. which has taken over my life and tracks your sleep and everything. Do you have one? If not you would love it!

Honestly for me meal prepping is key if you're busy. That way if you're not getting home til late every night (which I know most people are these days) you can just grab something healthy which is pre made. I spend Sunday mornings prepping for the week. I know it's a bit dull, but it actually really motivates me on a Sunday and I feel so much more organised. Without it I might go half a day with no food just because i'm always on the go. Also just by knowing i've got healthy food available and pre-made, makes me plan my week differently too. For example i'm less likely to skip a fitness class if I know i've been super healthy for a few days. It keeps me on a roll. For someone like you, who is super busy and might not have a chance to come up with healthy recipe ideas, I suggest replicating the stuff you would eat when you are out but mix it up and make it more healthy.. or something like hello fresh. But I know that can be expensive. Investing 2 hours per week into prepping could change your life. I'll teach you all my hacks when i'm home!

Haha sounds good and yeah, it definitely makes sense to invest a few hours. I know @allasyummyfood does it all the time and it works. Guess I also like fresh salads and stuff and that can’t always be prepped too far in advance.

I’m all ears when you’re back! I’m looking at a few options right now so we will see. My issue with cooking now is finding exciting recipes, getting all the right ingredients and so on - that’s why I moved to HelloFresh but then it’s not that healthy and very carb heavy. I want to give up carbs Mon-Fri as of April so need to look for other solutions :-)

I like to believe I have been eating intuitively all my adult life. I have tried reducing sugar and fat but it has never worked for me and I have fallen back to eating what I want. Presently eating more than I probably should because I am a nursing mum and I end up eating my toddler's left overs :D

That's awesome that you've been eating intuitively your whole life. I suppose there are always times it's a challenge, so long as we make over all healthy habits and choices :-)

I love this article and have resteemed it! Thank you, I think it is so important to understand and to listen to your body, and to take care of its needs and signs.

Thanks so much for your support! Truly agree with you :-)

This is a really interesting concept. I like how you mentioned that kids now how to eat and it's a sad thing watch it get broken down the line.

Yeah that's so true. I think children have so much told to them from so many different people and sources. It's quite sad really.

Hey, following you back from steemsugars. I have recently (about 8 months) cut out most carbs and really changed my quanitity and intuitive eating. I think many health issues are tied to diet more than is talked about. I am all for intuitive eating!

Great to hear you're on board with it too! :-)

I love the last tip to stop punishing ourselves! I too believe it is negative to focus on the bad and to beat ourselves up when we don't stick to a "perfect" diet. As you pointed out, it usually serves to do more harm than just letting go of slips and moving on. If we focus more on what makes us feel good, we would be more likely not to slip up than when we obsess over what we think we shouldn't have.

Yes totally agree with that! Positive attitudes to food and thinking are key.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55