How Do You Take Care Of Your Eyes?

in #health6 years ago

Hi Steemians and especially #needlworkmonday friends!

Today my post is off-topic - I'm not posting any updates about my crochet project.

Instead, I'll briefly talk about how I take care of my eyes as I'm working on my big crochet project and looking at a screen (whether it's computer, TV or smartphone) for the most part of the day.

eye-1132531_640.jpg

It's something I've been meaning to write about for a long time now but somehow kept getting sidetracked...

I'm someone who doesn't have any eyesight problems, but as I work a lot on the computer (like most of us) and am working on a highly detailed crochet project, there are moments when I feel my eyesight suddenly gets worse.

For example, when I was crocheting black and navy blue elements for my Irish lace dress...

1807_EdenDress_Elements-1010029 (Copy).jpg

1807_EdenDress_Elements-1010038 (Copy).jpg

...which are not big on detail and neither did I need many of them, after a couple of hours work, I was really surprised to suddenly feel that I have to squint in order to focus my vision...

For me, all alarm bells started ringing - I just wouldn't want to go down the road of wearing glasses...

So I remembered a simple zooming exercise I used to do when my eyes used to get tired as I was studying for exams:

I zoom onto a small object far away and look at it intensely for a few seconds, then I look at something nearby to relax the muscles. Repeat a few times.

I also did a quick search online and it seems there are about 5 main exercises you can do to improve your vision, here's one article describing them.

It was truly remarkable to see an immediate improvement - after a couple of days doing the exercises and of course, working in a well-lit place, my eyesight got back to normal very quickly.

I stopped doing the exercises after I felt the improvement, but any time I feel tiredness in my eyes, I just simply do a few of those simple exercises and I'm back to normal :-D

As I was preparing to write this blog post, I discovered this interesting (10min) youtube video where Dr. Mercola, the famous alternative medicine proponent, talks about natural ways to improve the eyesight

He touches on a couple of eyesight-related facts (such as our diet and how it affects the vision) and gives some tips on how to keep your eyes healthy.

For example, he tells us that often our vision gets worse not because our eye muscles are weak, but because they are overstrained, which means we need to relax the eye muscles.

He also says that wearing glasses or lenses all the time can considerably harm your vision... well, well, well...

He mentions a book by Dr Bates (written about 100 years ago), where Dr Bates created a programme for improving the eyesight naturally.
Apparently, the method was so effective, that it was banned in the state of New York (and still is) after optometrists lobbied the local politicians!

51nFrc4gtlL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

You can get Dr. Bates book here on Amazon

I have never read the book or tried out the advice from it...

... but since I personally saw how effective simple exercises can be in situations where the eyesight gets strained, I thought I'd share my experience as well as information available out there with needleworkers and other steemians!

So how do YOU take care of your eyes?

CNV00033 (Copy).JPG

All photos and text is my original content.

You can see copyright signs on photos because they were taken for my blog www.curioustovisit.com .

If you liked this post, let’s connect – leave a comment or follow me at @vliet , I’ll check out your profile as well.

You can also find me on my travel blog www.curioustovisit.com or Facebook Page HERE

Sort:  

Nice post! I too will try these eye exercises, Thanks! 😎

These 'look far-look near' exercises are important, effective and easy to do. I learnt about them when I learned typewriting ages ago. At a computer you can do it every time a page loads, you wait for the printer to spit out paper. It's important when your eyes look at things in the same distance for a long time. If you watch TV, look a your hands or something near every now and then. If you read or do needlework, look out of the window or at a picture on the wall.
Another thing is looking up, down, left, right - especially for those of us wearing glasses. We only see well through the lenses so we tend to move the head to look at something at the edge of our visual field. The muscles in our eyes get no trading and the visual field can get narrower.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is brilliant! Thanks for your tips @muscara !
I sometimes set up my alarm clock so as not to forget to do those exercises :D
I'm always amazed at how simple exercises can be so effective. I find nowadays we often overcomplicate things...

Great info, my eyes go weird and I have to do similar things to relieve the strain. Will check out your links!

Good to hear it's helpful @jamethiel !

Really interesting post, thank you. I know what you mean about focusing intensely, I've similar experiences. As well as the exercises, I use one of those eye sprays (I prefer the one you spray on closed lids).
By the way, that photo is spectacular

Thanks @shanibeer , it's just a holiday shot...

I've never used an eye spray, but people say they help. :-)

Great informative post vliet! I have to do the exercises ... knitting, sewing and working on computer ... my life is definitely not good for my eyes ;)

Thanks @akipponn !
The best part is that these exercises work :D

Hi dear!!! wonderful post !!!! eyes are very important for needlework !!! and you're right, a lot depends on the diet and exercises for the eyes. There is also a good book by Norbekov, where he tells you what you wrote. I have been planning to do eye exercises for a long time, although I have no problems with my eyesight either. The only thing that I started to do is regularly drink vitamins A and eat blueberries in a smoothie - it helps to improve vision. You reminded me of the exercises! urgently need to do this! :) Wow !!! do you have a travel site! I will definitely look. we also have such a similar site because my husband is a photographer :)

Yes @tali72 for us needleworkers it's especially important, that's for sure!!!

I think there's so much good information out there, and the most important thing is to actually 'do' the recommended things... and that's often the tricky bit with our busy routines and all that :)) I'm trying to incorporate my eye exercises into my working routine, for example, I set up an alarm clock during the day, when it rings, I stop what I'm doing and do my exercises for a couple of minutes. It works for me :D

Yes, I have a travel blog curioustovisit.com where I write about European destinations. What's your blog called?

The idea with the alarm clock is very good !!!! I will have to try it too :) we also write about European countries where we rested, but most of all we write about Israel where we live now - http://israbel.net my husband sometimes organizes excursions to archaeological parks and Jerusalem, and although this is not his work, he loves it and I often accompany him.

In Israel, you are really lucky with so many places of interest!
I love archaeological sites, I can understand why your husband loves organizing excursions, it's a great way to meet people and show them around your country. :))))

thank! Yes, Israel is very rich in history and historical places. often when the husband leads the group, he chooses the places where we have not been to it before. so this tour is interesting for us too :))) I see that you have been to many places where we have never been. it is very interesting!!! Do you understand Russian? our friends from Ukraine lived in Latvia. they said that there are a lot of people who speak Russian

Sorry for getting back to you only now 21 days later… life got in the way…
It's great to make your job interesting for yourself as well! :-)

I do speak Russian, but I'm actually from Lithuania, not Latvia.
Knowing foreign languages always helps when travelling :)))

Yes you are right!

What a great informative post! You must have been reading my mind about health and needleworking lol! I was thinking about making a post on stretching and posture.

I wear glasses and contacts and it’s funny how they are both supposed to be “corrective”. My eyes are getting worse and worse, no correction just dependence on these lenses. I do look away from the computer screen quite often to stretch my eyes too.

My husband and I love Dr. Mercola’s work! We have learned so many beneficial things from him. I will definitely read that article. I’m not surprised about them rallying together to ban Dr. Bates work. Anything that takes away big companies business gets shut down. If you find a cure for something they will always try to block you from helping others because it would take away business. So sad. I’m interested to read it now.

I agree with @shanibeer! That eye photo is spectacular!!

We must be on the same wavelength @crocheille :DDDD

I also learn a lot from Dr Mercola and people like him :D Unfortunately, it's true, whenever something cheap and simple works, the big pharmacology world doesn't want to hear about it... but we must do our own thing - a quiet resistance :DDDD

That pic was just a quick holiday shot :D thanks!

Thanks for the great tips !!!

you're welcome @elenka !
Thanks for stopping by.

Congratulations @vliet! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Posts! Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

I also happen to me, I think that everyone, if you have problems in the eyesight as in my case is even worse the vision, I will try to do this, very grateful with this valuable information

Good to hear it was helpful @sheilamenher !

Sorry for getting back to you only now 21 days later… life got in the way…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65578.21
ETH 2613.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67