You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Not Saying this to be a dick, but I don't think you're ready to do this" - Am I just a hobbyist filmmaker?

in #health7 years ago

Vincent... if you want my advice... take a little time to ask yourself if doing what you are doing is giving you joy. If you want to succeed in something you're going to have to put in the work and you'll meet and get to work with people who take that joy away, but the journey and result is what is supposed to give you more joy in the end. If that's not case then I would suggest to reflect on your situation. Life is too short to be dealing with situations that take much needed joy away from you for longer periods of time.

I was an athlete, I was 5th of the world, I traveled the world, I went to youth olympics, to the Universiade... I was that good because I truly enjoyed the work, the journey and my results but there came a time were a bunch of reasons all together took the joy away for me and I couldn't do anything about it so after a year of dealing with all that I decided to walk way from the sport.

The outcome for me personally has been for the better. I had a great life as an athlete and I do miss that... but the decision was mine, and mine only.

Make your own decisions, team up with people who enrich your life, enjoy life, enjoy the journeys, enjoy the results, enjoy work. Find your joy.

Sort:  

I appreciate your advice. That is actually what I am planning to do. I tried to do the same, when I quit my (teaching) job a year ago. I thought spending 6.5 months on a small island did the trick. I felt strong and rested when I returned to The Netherlands, but that feeling didn't stuck.

If I think about it, I went to the island with a screenplay of a movie in my luggage. So, even though I thought I was taking time for myself, there was this project that was continually in my mind, from the start.

I am planning a new trip and this time I won't take a screenplay or any project with me. Although I can't promise anything.
I am a creative after all ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44