1 Week Into My Low Carbohydrate, High Protein Vegan Diet.. Lessons Learned & Food Ideas!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Many people associate veganism and vegetarianism with difficulty in getting protein. In truth there are numerous ways to obtain protein on a plant based diet, but it is true that since many plants only contain low amounts of protein we need to be careful about selecting what we eat to ensure we get enough. Here's some of what I have learned this week as I adopt a low carb and high protein diet...

First of all, the reasoning for eating less carbohydrate and high protein diet is that carbs turn to sugar and thus fat, yet they are not necessarily needed by our body - whereas we do truly need and use protein to meet our body's needs. Since protein can be tougher to come by in plant based diets than in other alternative diets, it makes sense to pay attention to the available sources and how much we are getting.

The nutrition tracking tool that I am using (Nutritics) states that for my body size and age I am thought to need the following daily intake (plus additional intake relative to physical activity):

2327 kcal (calories)
291g Carbs
87g Protein
90g Fat

Whereas my target for weight (fat) loss is:

1750 kcal
a ratio of around 30-40% carbs
as little fat as can be achieved

So this means in excess of 100g of protein and maybe under 200g of Carbs.

How is this done?


After analysing many foods it was concluded that berries are the best source of fruit as they are low carb but high in health giving properties - they also add good sweetness to breakfasts. Low carb, no dairy yoghurts and almond milks also work for breakfasts - so a combination of a smaller amount of muesli, yoghurt, fruit and other toppings such as almond flakes and dessicated coconut work well and fill me up in the mornings. This is a big difference to my usual bigger bowl of muesli with much more sweetened almond/coconut milk with cacao.

Any kind of snack bars are replaced with ultra low carb versions - which are tough to find, but they do exist. Any with a lot of pure nut content and low sugar / high protein are worth looking at. Better still is to cut these out completely and maybe replace with berries or other lower carb fruits such as apricots.

Sugary drinks are out.. Water and the occasional small fruit/veg smoothies are in!

We started out using tofu as a high protein source, which I usually avoid - and it worked quite well. This Tofu Miso Japanese soup was really good and had a great balance of carbs to protein:

tofu miso soup

Unfortunately, we then learned that Tofu has some of the oestrogenic issues that Soy beans have and that fermented Soy is the way to go.. So now we have moved on to Tempeh instead as it has the benefits of Tofu but without the downsides. Tempeh also works great in salads, sandwiches and beyond - just like Tofu.

Lentils and beans also have a decent carb/protein ratio - so we are getting into making more recipes that use these - although it's not so great for the wind!!

Here's a lentil bolognese that worked well, this one used edamame fettucini pasta - but we will likely replace this with a black bean version in the next iteration:

lentil bolognese

Deserts are obviously more tricky since most contain a lot of sugar and thus carbs. However, it is possible to use almond milk and yoghurt, plus liquid stevia drops for sweetness... So I look forward to coming up with some creative solutions! Stay tuned for more on that soon... Plus I will share the recipes used in their own posts as we continue.

All tips are welcomed!

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


tribesteemup-orange-banner.png


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

"First of all, the reasoning for eating less carbohydrate and high protein diet is that carbs turn to sugar and thus fat,"

"Since protein can be tougher to come by in plant based diets than in other alternative diets, it makes sense to pay attention to the available sources and how much we are getting."

"Unfortunately, we then learned that Tofu has some of the oestrogenic issues that Soy beans have and that fermented Soy is the way to go.."

Thanks for the links. The study pointed to by Dr. Garth Davis is interesting - I need some more time to look through that.

Regarding the issue of carbs vs. protein - I didn't do a very good job of explaining the logic being used here (partially because this is not my area of expertise).. I was passed this link for you to read that explains why a higher protein mix is beneficial to overall body composition: http://muscleandsportsscience.com/the-high-protein-diet/

I haven't watched the last video as the thought of Paul Joseph Watson and Vegan Gains going head to head is more like some kind of psychotic nightmare than I'd like to get involved in right now.. LOL. But I might come back to it when I have more time. ;)

You could also just check out this meta-analysis instead. Anyway, regarding the article you linked to:

"A high protein diet seems to have a much more satiating effect than a diet rich in fat, and significantly more than one rich in carbohydrates (5,12)."

"That means of every gram protein you eat, 20-30% is immediately metabolized, and doesn’t really count toward the caloric value based on REE."

But as the article points out earlier: "Our sedentary society has lived on a high carb diet for well in excess of 2000 years and never suffered obesity." So why risk getting, for example, cancer, and why miss out on all the benefits of eating a (proper) high-carb diet when it doesn't cause obesity? ;)

That pasta looks great! I just used the red lentil version this weekend, and if you can find the chickpea kind it is great, as well. Some are mixed with other grains though, so the highest protein version is definitely the straight bean or lentil-based ones. Tempeh is awesome. I tend to use it more than tofu anyway just because I like the texture and taste so much. I've got a tempeh stir fry on the menu for tonight in my kitchen. ;)

Excellent! I need to look more into the tofu/tempeh situation as I am reading conflicting information.. Nutritionfacts.org advises tofu and soy as being great - but other sources say it must be fermented.

Greger is my guru, so I tend to go with his stance on most things just because of how thoroughly he researches everything. ;) I think it is like most things, as long as you are not eating it in excess and making sure to choose organic, non-gmo sources it should not have any negative health impacts. The biggest issue with soy is that the processed forms (like soy lecithin or isolated protein) are in all kinds of junk packaged foods.

I would be willing to bet that some of the "research" against it is funded by the beef council because they are scared people are ditching meat for plant-based proteins like soy or beans. Or the other problem with a lot of the nutrition research is that it isolates a specific compound found in a food and doesn't look at the impact of the food as eaten in whole food form. I generally keep my consumption to 3-5 servings of soy a week (sometimes more, sometimes less), but I think my body actually feels really well when I incorporate it regularly. Just my two cents, but everyone has to decide for themselves what works for them as I know there are some people who really are sensitive or allergic to soy consumption. Luckily there are plenty of other delicious plant-based protein options. :)

I like the way your diet works @ura-soul because it is a good option to become vegan. For one thing our bodies will react to it positively because animal based food creates more toxins to the body than consuming plant-based foods.

Oh yes, there are many issues with eating dead animals - I have never felt better than after I switched to plants. :)

These are some great meals, looking delicious!

But 30-40% carb for low carb o.O?

Why not more fat instead :D? The fat from Avocado and beans that you have is not bad :D.

Thanks, I am still personally learning about these issues, but this link goes into more depth as to why higher protein is a good choice..

In terms of fat vs. carbs - one relevant aspect is that fat has twice as much calories per gram as carbs, so you would need to eat significantly less to get the right carbs for you - which may or may not be an issue depending on each individual's needs. I am sure I will be able to give a more detailed response once I have learned more!

Don't know about fat loss but I berries do have a lot of health benefits. Berries are also helpful to recover or improve memory, so that's a plus

Yes, they contain phytonutrients and antioxidants, they have berry many benefits :)

I've been a vegetarian for five years and I didn't find it hard to find rich in protein foods so that's not the problem with becoming a vegetarian. The problem is with making it a habit of not eating meat anymore. We are full of habits and eating meat is one of them. I don't think that the human kind was meant to eat met or not. It's a matter of choice. The lion or the horse don't have such choices. We do.
I'm having a bit of a work to do with quitting on sweets. Another bad habit...

Aloha!
The digestive tract, jaw and other features of humans have much more in common with herbivores than with carnivores - so it is clear to me that it is easier to make the case for us also being primarily herbivores than for anything else.

The issue with protein/carbs is that the 'recommended' amounts for daily intake are not necessarily entirely accurate or appropriate for everyone and so if we want to have significantly lower carbs, we probably need to go much higher with protein - which isn't really an easy thing to do - just going by the numbers - but it can be done.

Great post, I’m always looking for more diet ideas that include protein on a vegan plant based life style. Currently i am intermittent fasting, I find i need the healthy fats when i get off my fast like avocados and olive oil. I only eat once a day so getting in the calories and macro and micronutrients are key.

Thanks - intermittent fasting is very interesting, I have fasted for a couple of weeks before but never tried the intermittent approach. Maybe I'll have a go at that at some point. :)

I'd be super interested in hearing about an all-vegan ketogenic diet.

I haven't come across much about that but my trainee Dietitian friend tells me that ketogenic diets need to be carefully monitored to be safe.. They are being used in hospitals here now but only under very careful supervision.

I'm not convinced that this is true (careful monitoring necessary). As long as you cheat once a week, you should be fine. Especially so if your fats are coming from organic plant sources. What I notice from it is 1) increased mental efficiency/lack of mental fog and 2) decreased pain in my body. When I consume starches and sugars, my joints ache and I have increases in random shooting pains which are almost absent when I'm keto.

There are health risks associated with it that make the monitoring necessary - I am no expert on it though, so am not going to comment further in that direction ;)

Love the plan... however I don't think keeping the fats low is the most optimal way to weight loss... I've had very good results with going mostly ketogenic for 2 weeks now... but, whatever works for you Bro!

Thanks - it's all a work in progress.. I am learning that the equations are considerably more complicated than most seem to realise!

thanks for sharing your great blogbombillo idee.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05