You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1 Week Into My Low Carbohydrate, High Protein Vegan Diet.. Lessons Learned & Food Ideas!

in #health6 years ago

That pasta looks great! I just used the red lentil version this weekend, and if you can find the chickpea kind it is great, as well. Some are mixed with other grains though, so the highest protein version is definitely the straight bean or lentil-based ones. Tempeh is awesome. I tend to use it more than tofu anyway just because I like the texture and taste so much. I've got a tempeh stir fry on the menu for tonight in my kitchen. ;)

Sort:  

Excellent! I need to look more into the tofu/tempeh situation as I am reading conflicting information.. Nutritionfacts.org advises tofu and soy as being great - but other sources say it must be fermented.

Greger is my guru, so I tend to go with his stance on most things just because of how thoroughly he researches everything. ;) I think it is like most things, as long as you are not eating it in excess and making sure to choose organic, non-gmo sources it should not have any negative health impacts. The biggest issue with soy is that the processed forms (like soy lecithin or isolated protein) are in all kinds of junk packaged foods.

I would be willing to bet that some of the "research" against it is funded by the beef council because they are scared people are ditching meat for plant-based proteins like soy or beans. Or the other problem with a lot of the nutrition research is that it isolates a specific compound found in a food and doesn't look at the impact of the food as eaten in whole food form. I generally keep my consumption to 3-5 servings of soy a week (sometimes more, sometimes less), but I think my body actually feels really well when I incorporate it regularly. Just my two cents, but everyone has to decide for themselves what works for them as I know there are some people who really are sensitive or allergic to soy consumption. Luckily there are plenty of other delicious plant-based protein options. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67676.49
ETH 2622.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63