You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Not Saying this to be a dick, but I don't think you're ready to do this" - Am I just a hobbyist filmmaker?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

not saying this to be a dick... but don't worry so much about what other people think you should do.
Always try to see your work as a hobby because it means that you're having fun with it.

Big filmmakers with huge budgets are told that they will make the best movie of all times and fail miserably and small filmmakers who are told they will not ever succeed might make one of the best cult-classics you'll see in your lifetime.

And who knows... you might not make what you've intended to make. You still had fun with the experience and learned probably a lot for the next project.

Never EVER have your ambitions crushed by the opinion of 1 individual.

Sort:  

Hi Tim,

I appreciate your feedback.
I am aware that caring too much about other people's opinions is one of my weaknesses.
I'm working on that.

One of the main reasons why I posted this, is to get it out of my system and to actually talk about feelings.
I 'feel' there is a kind of tabu on sharing your feelings/ emotions - especially as men - and that leads to stress, burnout, etc. My father is a hart patient and has always suppressed his feelings, still does. I try to do the opposite. As long as I'm not able to deal with them myself, I will keep sharing them.

Yeah, all this was a great learning experience. Actually not my first time this happened. A similar thing happened back in 2015. Anyway, I'm definitely not crushed by this experience. Feeling kind of relieved. I definitely won't stop making movies.

Thanks again for the kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44