Body Dysmorphia - My Experience

in #health7 years ago

So here goes...Just wanted to share something quite personal to me

For most of my life, I have hated my appearance...from a young age, I have hated the way Iook... recently I discovered it was a form of body Dysmorphia.

It is a very debilitating thing to have, especially when you're a performer like I am...It really is very limiting as I never like having photos taken or videos filmed of me. It had got to the stage where everytime I saw a picture of myself,for days and months after, I would reel over it, thinking how ugly and hideous I was and as a result became so depressed!

However there is good news.. a couple of days ago, I posted a video on STEEMIT of me performing one of my favourite songs!!! This is a real breakthrough for me as I've never in recent years let anyone film anything of me let alone post something on a public platform... but I am very proud to say I did it!!! AND although it was hard to watch, I watched it back... Something I would never have done a few years ago!

Just wanted to encourage anyone out there who may suffer with this... please remember you're not alone and there is a always a solution and a way out of feeling this way... I am on the slow road to recovery and I am taking little steps but it can be done, I am proof of that... God bless you all.

Please share your own experiences with me if you would like, would love to hear from you xx

Sort:  

I'm all about being real, authentic in the moment, and sharing our stories. Thanks for being you.

Thanks very much :)

This is a really great positive message to spread! Glad you're overcoming such a challenging obstacle. Keep at it lady!! :)

Aah thank you...xx

i know all of your posts are wonderful, and i read them @ronaldmcatee

wow, cool, agree, love it, awesome, funny, scary, welcome, interesting'

Congratulations @tanyasings! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey @tanyasings I hope you can help improve your feelings about your body on steemit!! The most important thing is that you are very beautiful person within your soul! A wise person will always see this!

It would be great to see you at our steemit meet up on 16th September in Birmingham!

If you can make it, there will be a free steemit t-shirt for you, live music from @branhmusic and 150 pounds behind the bar,

Please see link for more details! https://steemit.com/meet-up/@starkerz/promo-uk-steemit-meet-up-everyone-welcome-from-far-and-wide-come-see-the-steemit-laser

Congratulations @tanyasings! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tanyasings! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45