Health Conscious Foodies!! Do you like Aldi?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Are you a foodie? Or a food snob? You probably prefer the term "health conscious." 😊 More specifically do you like to buy organic items? I must admit, I'm far from perfect when it comes to eating healthily, and I'm not a food snob, but when I can afford it, I like to buy organic.

What is organic? Well when you see the label "organic," it means the item must have an ingredients list and the contents should be 95% or more certified organic, meaning free of synthetic additives like pesticides, chemical fertilizers, and dyes, and must not be processed using industrial solvents, irradiation, or genetic engineering, according to the USDA.
At most stores organic food is sooooo expensive!!! Am I right?

The reason Aldi saves you so much money is because they keep their overhead down. No bagger, no cart collector, the customer does that them self. The cashier is also in charge of stocking, inventory, cleaning, ect. They don't pay separately for those jobs. It translates to more money in your pocket! :)

family-2923690_640.jpg
Image source: Pixabay

You may not think of Aldi as a viable option, especially if you haven't been there in a few years. Today, though, I want to tell you about Aldi's organic line!! You probably won't find organic food any cheaper than this!! Since I like lists, I will share a list of organic foods I found at my local Aldi!

Some of the items I bought at my last trip there, and some I already have in stock at home. The things I just purchased I can share the price on because I have the receipt. Prices may vary in different areas though. ;) 🍌🍞🍎🍴🍐

Organic salad ($3.49) and salad dressing. There are a couple varieties of salad and several varieties of dressing. I you're heath conscious, you know how important it is to eat your leafy greens.
C360_2017-11-17-11-43-02-608.jpg

Organic bread ($3.99) As of right now there are 2 varieties of organic bread. This one is called "Oat So Healthy"!
C360_2017-11-17-11-51-20-853.jpg

Organic mac-n-cheese ($1.15) Who doesn't love mac-n-cheese? This is around the same price as Kraft!!
C360_2017-11-17-11-50-19-276.jpg

Organic broth Great for making soups or stuffing around Thanksgiving, these are only $1.49 each!
C360_2017-11-17-11-55-03-478.jpg

Organic tortilla chips and salsa Can't forget a yummy snack! The chips were $1.99 and the Salsa was also $1.99!
C360_2017-11-17-11-42-04-511.jpg

Organic oils Did you know most times you buy canola oil, it's a gmo product? Also I'm sure you've heard of the myriad healthy uses for olive and coconut oil. I already had the canola oil here. It's not always in stock, so when I see it at Aldi, I usually buy several, and I can't remember the price. The olive oil was $3.99 and the coconut oil was only $4.99!!
C360_2017-11-17-11-44-11-196.jpg

Organic condiments The ketchup was $1.69. I believe they carry organic mustard too.
C360_2017-11-17-11-57-05-903.jpg

Organic juices If you have kids, you know how much they love juice. Apple juice was $2.29 and the 7 Super Fruits juice is $3.89. They have a juice similar to the super fruit juice called "Antioxidant Blend" for the same price. I've seen organic orange juice there as well. :)
C360_2017-11-17-11-48-12-452.jpg

Organic oatmeal Definitely a comfort food on cold winter mornings. Here they have organic rolled oats and flavored maple spice ($2.29). Yum!!
C360_2017-11-17-11-47-02-825.jpg

Organic produce pears ($2.89 for a 2 lb. bag), organic baby carrots ($1.39 for a 1 lb. bag), organic bananas at 59¢/lb. And a 3 lb. bag of organic gala apples for $3.99!! There are many other fresh organic fruits and vegetables there as well: organic celery, oranges, whole carrots, broccoli. One thing I've never found are organic potatoes which would be nice because potatoes are usually sprayed with not just pesticides, but also herbicides to kill the top plant upon harvest time. Maybe some day...
C360_2017-11-17-11-40-07-754.jpg

Organic apple cider vinegar I'm sure you've heard of the super tonic including apple cider vinegar, honey, turmeric and cayenne pepper? There are really many helpful used for this, and a 16 oz bottle is only 1.99!
C360_2017-11-17-11-59-13-157.jpg

Organic herbs and spices Hey! Speaking of cayenne pepper... I already had these in my cupboard, but I think they were only a couple of dollars each.
C360_2017-11-17-12-00-04-748.jpg

Organic spaghetti sauce In the mood for Italian tonight? Organic pasta sauce is only $2.19. Aldi carries this and regular marinara for the same price!
C360_2017-11-17-11-56-03-277.jpg

Organic milk I was once told if you buy anything organic make it be organic dairy products. Everything the cow eats gets condensed into the milk, even more so if it's converted into cheese or butter. I have seen organic cheese there, but not this time. This half gallon of organic milk was $2.95.
C360_2017-11-17-11-46-13-055.jpg

Organic frozen blueberries and strawberries These are great for smoothies!! $2.89 for a 12 oz bag.
C360_2017-11-17-11-45-08-347.jpg

Organic grass fed ground beef Kinda pricey at $5.29/lb. but probably more expensive elsewhere if organic meat is important to you.
IMG_20171117_195237.jpg

So there's my list. 😃 I'm sure if you shopped there you won't be disappointed. As I said before some items may be seasonal, and these prices are from my local store. They may be slightly different depending on location.

Oh, and I am in no way affiliated with Aldi haha, although I'm sure they would appreciate the free advertising. 😂 I'm just excited about this and wanted to share it with you!! Hope you found it beneficial!
received_532588460439710
post image link

COMMENTS WELCOME!!!

Do you like Aldi?
What are your favorite products from Aldi?

Love, snowpea ❤😘🙂🌸

Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

I love Aldi! They have so much great stuff, and it saves my family of 5 a lot of money!

Absolutely, some items you can save upwards of 60% compared to name brands. :)

Organic foods are really the best choice we should be picking .. Really good for the health and for the entire family :)

I don't mind shopping at Aldi's I just never like to buy my meats from there.

you are really Quality Content Curator....by the way...very very informative ..post...keep it up...

Aldi is my favourite shop also @dorotea

Yes I love Aldi! They are actually a European company. The EU has much stricter laws about food additives & preservatives so a lot of their foods that aren't labeled as organic are still healthier than most American options. For instance their Mama Cozi's original sausage pizza doesn't have nitrates in it!
You're right their prices do vary by location. I was told once that they actually go to the surrounding grocery stores to research prices before they set theirs. So if you go to a Aldi in a area where there are alot of expensive, gourmet grocers, their prices will be more expensive than the aldi that's near cheaper grocery stores.

I heard they were European too. Germany if I'm not mistaken? That's great to know they have stricter standards with other foods. I noticed a lot of items have no artificial dyes as well. Love that place!!

If I'm buying my food, Aldi is a good choice!

Absolutely!!

All products are safe for health i wish all use for my family

I just came from Aldi. It is my favorite grocery store. Their food is delicious, nutritious, and inexpensive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50