Will Taking Cold Showers Raise Your Testosterone?

in #health6 years ago

Last year, on Steemit, I documented how I lost 10 pounds of body fat in just 2 weeks using diet and cold exposure.

With NO weight training or cardio at all.

After last month's CryoZone adventure in California, and learning how cold exposure reduces inflammation, I've been taking 3 minute cold showers after each workout to speed the muscle recovery process.

15_F7521_B-034_D-4468-_B8_AB-1_E8477_CA5_F17.jpg

Do cold showers help boost testosterone production?

Doesn't look like it.

There haven't been any studies conducted specific to cold showers in males and measuring testosterone that I could find.

I'll keep taking them though, with hope for the anti-inflammatory benefits that ice baths and cryotherapy apparently offer.

The temperature of the cold shower?

4_F023_C8_B-0_A8_B-40_AB-_BFEB-_AB2907_E35782.png

That's in Celsius. To convert to Fahrenheit:

E34_D740_F-6_B5_D-463_D-_A729-_C6_C63_F8814_BC.jpg

I'm in that cold shower (after the shampoo and soap have been washed off), for three minutes:

E339859_B-_F0_FC-4767-_AA43-_C4_B637_B2_F68_B.png

Yup!

A stopwatch, in a waterproof ziploc baggie.

Every time, to keep things consistent.

SO!

Likely no testosterone benefit there, but I feel amazing when I get out. Hyperventilating because of the cold may have something to do with it, and the adrenaline dump from the cold shock seems to make my vision more acute and colors brighter...

Which may also reflect cortisol (stress hormone) release, which isn't good for testosterone...

My muscle recovery has been quite good though, so I'll stick with the cold showers for now.

If I make any changes where the showers are concerned, trust that you'll read about it here!

Have a great week Steemit!

@scan0017 😘

Sort:  

wawoow thats something amazing your really working great on testosterone and thanks for the healthy post resteemed from your friend @akashhassan

I lost like 1.5kg in the past 25 days from cutting snacks completely. But beer is still all in!

Interesting experiment... does it work for men only? Because I'm a woman and I wouldn't mind lowering one pounds without a lot of cardio!!! I will be attentive to your progress!

Since testosterone isn't really helped by the cold showers, gender likely isn't an issue.
If you try this, the cold water on your back, between your shoulder blades, activated the brown adipose tissue there to kick in the burning of calories to stay warm (ie alive).
Apparently.
I learned this from Tim Ferriss's book "The 4-Hour Body," and coupled with no carbs in my diet last year (and setting my home thermostat to 59 degrees F), I burned ten pounds of body fat in 2 weeks.
Warning though: Between being cold and hungry all day, every day, for two weeks - it's literally torture.

Haha! I was just thinking that I would probably be an unbearable jerk to everyone around me while on that regimen.

Interesting! I would like to try it I practice football and would be good to do this to relax my muscles I will try and I will be attentive to your progress

Yeah...
I was doing it anyway so hoping for a bonus kickback but no such luck 🤷‍♂️

When taking the cold shower rub your body very hard with your hands to activate the movement of the blood ... so those final tremors are minimized (russian trick ;) ) More Testosterone at the end for you hehehehehehe

Cool!
I'll try that tomorrow 👋

It's really cool experiment man.😎

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

You may rely on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Transfer 0.001 SBD or 0.001 STEEM to @a-0-0 to have your last blog post resteemed to over 33,700 followers. Leave Memo empty.

Very interesting post, is a very good advice for health, but in which I had not thought, thank you very much for your advice @ scan0017

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81