What is Reiki? 🙌steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

My own experience proves to me that anything is possible; I have witnessed too many miracles to cling to a rigid set of beliefs. 

There was a time in my life when I would have written off the powers of yoga, meditation, plant spirits, and "energetic treatments" as snake-oil quackery, but after feeling the effects of these in my own life and observing drastic changes in others, it made more sense to humble myself and admit that my limited human brains do not comprehend the unbounded potential of this vast universe. 



After a series of fortunate events, I altered my perspective to make way for the unexplainable, and I found that life is waaaaay more enjoyable when I connect to my spirit. It turns out my spirit really loves me; it has guided me on some mind-melting adventures beyond my wildest dreams.

One such adventure was traveling through Peru and India, where I was not only introduced to, but trained in the very modalities the old me would have dismissed as crazy impossibilities. Another is living at the @gardenofeden and learning from the healthiest, most conscious person I've ever met, @quinneaker

Now, witnessing the impossible manifest is one of my favorite things about this seriously epic life. This is why I practice yoga, meditation, and Reiki.  



The Japanese word "Rei" means universal consciousness, and "Ki" means life force energy. 

Reiki is called universal life force, God Power, energetic massage, spirit-guided energy, or the laying on of hands, depending who you ask. It is a high vibrational vector for healing, a therapeutic practice that induces deep relaxation. 

@aggroed laid out some Reiki basics in a nice post a few months ago:

Reiki was channeled from the ether by some Japanese dude (Dr. Mikao Usui) last century.  He learned how to manipulate his chi/universal life force such that he could start healing himself and other people.  He also figured out how to share the practice and it turns out it really isn't that hard to accomplish. -- @aggroed

Check out his article "Being a Reiki Master is About Channeling Love and Setting Loving Intentions" for more.

During a Reiki treatment, the practitioner directs energy to the receiver's body by placing their hand chakras on or over various energetic centers on the receiver. It can feel like a soft and gentle light, sparks of electricity, magnetism, temperature changes, or sensations of sound, color, or words, or something else entirely; different people have different experiences.  

At the very least, this prana transfer reduces stress and promotes powerful rest and relaxation, but its powers are limitless. Reiki always works in one's highest good, and it can do no harm. Because it is an energy transfer, it is unbounded by space or time, and it has infinite potential. It can be given to humans, plants, animals, inanimate objects, or events. 



I love giving Reiki - like, L - O - V - E giving it!! It feels great for me, and it's an honor to have a tool that can make someone else feel great too. Then there's the whole reality of the human energy field to nerd out on, and my fascinators get all a-tingly... 

Modern science is aware that this energy treatment is legit too: in 2007, over 800 US hospitals offered Reiki services to patients - that's 15% of facilities! Reiki has even found its way to the locker rooms of professional sports franchises

Reiki is super cool, and I'm excited to have a focused project to record my observations with it: my friend @fmatinata broke his foot a year ago, and has come to @gardenofeden to heal it. We are doing daily Reiki, massage, yoga, herbal treatments, and more, and he is testifying to the results. 

Principles of Reiki:

Just for today, I will let go of anger.
Just for today, I will let go of worry.
Just for today, I will give thanks for my many blessings.
Just for today, I will do my work honestly.
Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing. 

I hope you're inspired to try Reiki for yourself! 







💛 Sara! 

Sort:  

How wonderful for you to be able to heal others. I've known for a while the importance of human to human contact. This is just another enlightening example. Thank you.

Thank you, @ken-and-jane! It is an absolute blessing to share this; healing is a significant portion of my purpose in this life. After a long period of people being terrified of each other, I think more and more people are waking up to the importance of healthy touch. I'm glad to hear you're already in the know!

Yes! I can feel my Ki flowing throughout my bodyrl right now! Graditude for sharing this valuable knowledge.

Oh yes, that sweet sweet Ki flow! Grateful to share~*~

Been practicing meditation and yoga for a while now, but haven't read about the concepts of Reiki. Thanks for sharing, I'll have to explore more about this!

Awesome, I hope you enjoy every step of the journey @alcibiades!

Did you apply reiki on me back then? I'm still looking for a reiki master experience over this side of the world :)

Yes, a little bit of Reiki is my secret to a great massage :) I can do a distance sesh for you if you don't find a master in your parts!

Interesting post, lots of useful information, with plenty to think about.

Thank you for reminding me of the importance of Reiki. For the benefit of everyone.

I took my Level 1 in Chiang Mai three years ago and have since then been feeling a bit shy about asking to work on anyone other than myself or my family. I am conscious that we learn more about helping others in Level 2, though in my heart I know I have been able to help my partner & children.

Just two days ago my partner gave birth to our 2nd baby... and I do believe Reiki helped her safe passage in a crazy fast time of just 20mins. And for sure it has helped my 20month old son who is just a beaming vision of perfection :)

https://steemit.com/life/@samstonehill/announcing-the-natural-birth-luna-yesterday-in-bali

Do you practice on your friends? An do you charge for the service?

Thanks for your time. Sam

Thank you, Sam! Congratulations on your children!! It makes me smile to know that you are sharing Reiki with them. Children are so open and receptive; it's beautiful and natural to shower them with this divine energy. I wish all children in this world could feel that love and support.

I felt shy when I started practicing many years ago too. I knew that it was real because I felt it and saw the results, but I was very ego-centered and self-conscious and wondered what other people would think of this "magic". I let that go as I found that those who need and want it come to me, and it's not my business to convince anyone that it works. Practice made me more confident.

I practice on friends, family, and clients. I don't necessarily "charge", but I do put a value on my services. Energy exchange is an important aspect of Reiki. I believe the receiver has incentive to genuinely open themselves and get as much out of healing as they can if they are willing to invest in it. That said, I tell people what is worth and let them offer something they think is fair, more as a symbolic gesture for themselves to demonstrate their readiness for Reiki. I have done sessions for money, goods, services, crystals, food, and even hugs!

Thank you Sara for your lovely response to my words. I really appreciate what you have said, all of which rings true for me.

When I ask that only the highest and best energies are coming to me at the start of my sessions with the kids they always look around me like they can see the shift in energy. Luna is especially receptive, her eyes light up and sometimes there is a little grin... like she understands everything already ;) But she is female of course and I do believe you girls have a stronger connection than us men, generally speaking. Though I guess that's mostly ego related stuff and perhaps not relevant to children?

People have come to me in the last few months and asked for Reiki but I have been too caught up in my own emotional drama to say yes to them, feeling like I wouldn't be able to give them my best. Though I see now this is really just me hiding from my fears. Too many 'what if?' scenarios going on in my head. When of course I should be thinking Just for Today...

Thank you helping me see clearer that which will be done :)

I cannot even express how I love your writing and comments and how you phrase things. I have tried before, I fail again LOL.

You are a beaut @saramiller

Thank you, Barry! I appreciate the compliment~*~

I'll never forget the miraculous healing of Eden do to your reiki. That day made me a believer forever. You are one of the most inspiring healers I know! 🙌🏻

😍🙌 I love it! And love you!

I love you too!! I am so so so so so so grateful that you chose to share this experience with us 💛

Everything just keeps getting better every day! You guys are awesome, the @gardenofeden is awesome, definitely the best choice and best healing! 💓

interesting ... my girl practice reiki but i cant undestand much about this

I hope she practices on you from time to time!

I am personally glad you are doing updates on this whole "series" with your friend. It is nice to see the updates, things that are working, things may not or need a tweak, etc. The links and info you embedded here today along those lines are great.

Have a nice wkend Miss Sara 6 Footer.

lol

I'm grateful that you are enjoying them! I hope it inspires you to achieve full thrival again, Barry. ANYTHING is possible~*~

I love love love Reiki and have called upon it every single day for more than 10 years....so benevolent, so powerful, so beautiful!! Thanks for writing about it.

Thank you for reading this, @natureofbeing! Grateful to share the beautiful, benevolent power!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56420.74
ETH 2938.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22