How to Yoga - Wide Angle Seated Forward Fold

in #health8 years ago

Good day, Steemians!

“When you are inspired by some great purpose, some extraordinary project, all your thoughts break their bonds: Your mind transcends limitations, your consciousness expands in every direction, and you find yourself in a new, great and wonderful world. Dormant forces, faculties and talents become alive, and you discover yourself to be a greater person by far than you ever dreamed yourself to be.”  --Patanjali

Giving thanks for another day to get up and get it right.
I love watching this economy grow each and every day
(have you scoped the Peerhub marketplace yet??
You can exchange your precious SBD for real goods
in direct transactions with no fees! It's MAGIC!! )
while Babylon is burning.
I mean, I didn't know even about cryptocurrencies until 6 weeks ago,
and now I'm straight up bout. it.
I'm doing what I love to do,
which is to get bendy and heal people,
and by contributing worth
I'm rewarded in crypto wizardry
that bypasses central bank tomfoolery
and corporate fuckeration while serving my community.
And now I can alchemize it into actual, tangible, material stuff.
Take THAT, global military industrial complex!!
This is win, on top of win, on top of win, on top of win,
which is the game I like to play!
~ Oh man, I got myself all excited!!! ~

...well, with that, I gift you today's yoga in deep thanks for 

all these wonderful, ALIVE emotions the revolution stirs up.


This is Wide Angle Seated Forward Fold

AKA Straddle Fold

AKA Upavistha Konasana in Sanskrit

(upavistha = seated, kona = angle, asana = pose/posture)


What you resist, persists. 

This pose is a doozy,

or it's a super relaxation--

it's all in your perspective.

With tight hamstrings, the body wants to 

curl in on itself, tilting the pelvis

and arching the spine,

crowding the lungs in the process.

That doesn't feel awesome,

but forcing the process won't work either.

It can seem natural to tense up against discomfort

in an attempt to protect oneself,

but the thing about yoga is that there is no threat.

You're fully supported by the Earth,

and releasing into that support is where the magic happens.

The hips open, the belly relaxes, the spine decompresses,

the kidneys detox. Ahhhhhh, what a relief!--

if you can get out of your own way.

Forward folds are a great time to look within.


Resistance is futile.


How to WIDE ANGLE SEATED FORWARD FOLD:

  • From seated, extend the legs out to the side. 
  • Root down through the sit bones.
  • Externally rotate the thighs so the knee caps point up to the sky.
  • Flex the feet.
  • Inhale, and walk the hands forward as you fold from the hip creases.
  • Hands can come straight out in front or reach for the toes. 
  • Come down as far as it feels comfortable while you maintain the integrity of the upper body and activation in the legs. There's no competition or rush. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.




💛 Sara!
infinite thanks to the ever lovely @everlove for the photo
We can make fully custom Steemit Ts fit for a king!


Sort:  

I really enjoyed your intro, quote, and all of your words. Good vibes! And damn you have that pose down nice!

Thanks, I appreciate that feedback! I'm really honored to share yoga because it has blessed me in so many ways. The value for me is in the doing. Some days I can get to the floor, and some days I'm content with a milder stretch.

Yes I agree, yoga and meditation have deeply affected me. I really enjoy your posts because you do simple poses that I often forget so it's fun to just throw your latest one into my practice for the day :)

Oh great, so glad these are going to good use! I love practicing yoga with others to riff off each other's moves. It's really inspiring to see how others are naturally inclined to move their bodies and express themselves.

@saramiller you are an inspiration! I love your energy that comes through your passion for yoga and life. Keep the light shining. Many will benefit from your presence. Thank god for Sara!!!!

Thank you so much for your encouragement! Thank god for @everlove!!!

Its difficult i tried it can u do ahsans for weight loss plz?

Sun salutations are great, so are twists. I'll demonstrate more yoga!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37