How to Yoga - Ujjayi (Victorious or Darth Vader Breathing)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians!

Stars cannot shine without darkness. -- unknown


When I did ayahuasca, I became acutely aware
of the shit I still held tightly in my being
from unpleasant life experiences.
She quite clearly told me to turn that shit over and plant some flowers in it!

I am most certainly creating super fertile soil these days,
and I am so looking forward to the new life that will spring from it.
In the meantime,
I will enjoy the breakdown of old shit.

Breathing--seriously, deeply, consciously breathing--
changes everything, and will immediately improve even the shittiest shit.

I will share a breathing technique with you today that can conquer all.


Ujjayi means "victorious breathing".

It's also called Darth Vader breathing because it sounds like said Sith lord.

Pranayama ( = breath control) is an entire limb of ashtanga yoga.
Controlling the breath makes an enormous difference on and off the mat,
and there are volumes upon volumes upon volumes of breathing techniques.
Yoga is said to give rise to superpowers (legit--they're called siddhis),
and breathing is a key element for tapping into those incredible abilities.

Ujjayi is the breathing technique to activate and maintain
during a proper ashtanga yoga session.
Engaging the breath gives rhythm to a practice,
and you will find yourself stronger and more capable
of holding poses when you move fluidly with the breath. 

This is a powerful, audible breath sometimes called oceanic breathing
because it sounds like waves crashing.
You can come into ujjayi any time you need to overcome
the dark side, emotions, temperature extremes,
disease, unclarity, poor company--you name it!
It is called "victorious breathing"
for its ability to conquer those things
that make us feel out of control or powerless.

Engaging ujjayi hones concentration.
It relieves stress, regulates blood pressure,
and is said to alleviate insomnia.
It builds internal heat and energy,
and supercharges the body with both oxygen and prana. 

You're already breathing every moment of every day,
so it's always accessible to give it a go and see for yourself. 



How to UJJAYI:

  • Consider the "ha" sound you would make if you were breathing on a mirror to fog it up.
  • With your mouth closed and throat open, exhale and make this "ha" sound through the nose.
  • Inhale deeply through the nose with mouth closed.
  • Repeat as many times as you need.
  • Try inhaling and exhaling to a count of 8, being mindful of the pauses between inhales and exhales. 





💛 Sara!

>:<>:< Giving thanks for every bit and being in this life today >:<>:<

Sort:  

I've been praticing a kind of pranayama at least 10 minutes daily for a couple of months now. Awesome post!

Isn't it great?!

It's life changing. I'm only thinking about doing it more.

Great write up, compelling topic, I could go on and on but I won't! lol!

Great to read just before I do my accountability session and post for the night.

BTW, I've been featuring you over in Steam Trail's fitness-trail, mostly for my own benefit/storage, but you might get some upvotes from it.

Thank you so much @baerdric! One of the Steem Trails chose my chart of asanas post from a few days ago as one of their posts of the day, so your support is certainly helpful. I'm very grateful for you!

Yay! That was me. I think... someone else might have done it too, but I certainly sent it up for voting. I mostly just posted it for my reference, but it was the post of the day for my little area.

OK, I'm surprise @lordvader has not paid a visit and leave a comment. ;-)

LOL maybe he's not a yoga fan...

In the last couple of months I have several times been in quite intense physical distress often caused by bronchitis or asthma. When it was really bad, I was breathing exactly this way. So after reading this, I am going to try practising it when I am not in quite such bad stress. Thankyou 😎

You're welcome @l0k1! I'm interested to hear how your breathing practice goes for improving your conditions.

Great info! Also, the Vader pic is very cool as well!

Thank you @splits! I love this pic too; I don't remember the source because I've had it in my files for a really long time.

It would make a really cool desktop wallpaper!

It is my really cool desktop wallpaper :)

Yoga is always healthy, thanks for share :)

You're welcome @innafanz! I ❤ yoga!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10