How to Yoga: Butterfly

in #health8 years ago

Good day, Steemians!

I enjoy Steemit more and more each day,

there are new opportunities around every digital corner!

My evolution has been greatly accelerated

because this revolutionary platform

brings so many loose ends together for me.

It's a delight to be part of this emerging community!

In thanks, I want to bring my most prized treasure:

I gift you yoga in sincere thanks for all you have given me,

and I wish that you are healthy and happy!



This is Butterfly

AKA Cobbler Pose

AKA Bound Angle Pose

AKA Baddha Konasana in Sanskrit

(badha = bound, kona = angle, asana = pose/posture)


There is always potential for reformatting.


Butterfly is transformation.

Butterfly is metamorphosis.

Butterfly is a reason I practice yoga.


I shied away from yoga for a very long time,

because my hips hurt too bad

and I thought I'd look goofy

and blah blah blah.

But I tried anyway.


I couldn't do impressive pretzel moves,

but I could sit in butterfly

for hours on end,

and it felt incredible 

so I did.


and lo! Slowly slowly 

my hip pain melted away 

until--miracle of miracles--it was gone completely!

My reality was completely redefined.

I was not broken, unable, or doomed--

little by little, I released what held me back.


Butterfly is unfurling glory of the impossible manifest.

I testify to the power of this simple pose.


How to BUTTERFLY:

  • From seated with legs extended in front, draw heels towards sit bones. 
  • Bring feet as close to the body as feels comfortable, grasping the toes.
  • Press the knees towards the floor, as close as feels comfortable. 
  • Inhale length into the spine and extend through the crown of the head.
  • Exhale and fold forward if it feels good, drawing the chest towards the feet.
  • Transform that which no longer serves you.

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.

Repeat as needed. 


💛 Sara!


P.S. Check out that sweet custom Steemit shirt! 😍

Sort:  

A beautiful post~
Your best yet besides maybe that awesome introudceyourself post!

Thank you so much!

Of course! It's SARA!!!! Thank god for Sara and all you bring to the table. We are blessed! <3

I suffer greatly from sciatic nerve pain in my left side, from mid-back all the way down to my heel. Can you recommend any yoga for me?

Absolutely @the-stoned-ape! Butterfly shown here is a great pose for sciatica.

You can also try:

  1. Knees to Chest pose (apanasana)--Lay on the back and draw the knees into the chest. Breathe and hold here, or you can rock back and forth or side to side. Variations: With one leg extended along the floor, draw the other knee into the chest. Breathe and hold as long as you like, then switch sides.

  2. Reclining twist (supta matsyendrasana): From laying on the back with the knees pulled up to the chest, drop the knees over to the right. Extend the left arm along the floor at shoulder height and look out towards hand. Breathe and hold, then drop knees to other side. Variations: As in #1, extend one leg along floor and draw other knee to chest. Drop the knee to the right, looking out over extended left arm. Breathe and hold as long as you like, then switch sides.

  3. Seated twist (ardha matsyendrasana): From seated, draw right foot towards left sit bone. Cross left foot over right knee, with sole of foot on the ground. Twist the body to the left, crossing the right elbow to the outside of the left knee. Use the elbow against knee for leverage to deepen the twist. Sit up tall, maintaining extension in the upper body. Breathe and hold as long as you like before switching sides.

This is a gentle starting point, and there are deeper poses too (twisted lunges, lizard, and pigeon pose are great). Repetition is key to relieving chronic conditions. It can heal! Come into these stretches as many times a day as like. May you feel better and better every time!

You had me at 'butterfly'! Namaste!

Namaste! ૐ

love it! [a fellow fan of cobbler]

Awesome, this might be my favorite!

I do this post every night before I go to bed. It helps me to relax and calm my mind before sleeping. I love your words: Transform that which no longer serve you. Will incorporate that thought into my yoga meditative practice!

Before bed is a great time for yoga! I also like it in the morning. I'm grateful to inspire your practice!

Love it and these great posts you are putting out :) i especially like the poem/ free writing parts :)

Thank you hermana, I am all about that FLOW!

You are beautiful, a great blouse!

Very clean and beautifully put. I learned a lot from taking note of the way you used font sizing and spacing. Really makes for great flow which I hope to capture for myself in future articles. Always learning, always upgrading, always grateful ~ Bless

Awesome, I'm grateful to inspire in any way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12