I Was Shocked!

in #health6 years ago

Tulsa Tap Water

My Water Filter After 1 Year Of Use

I used part of my SBD earnings last year to invest in a water filter for our family that removes 99% of water contaminants. I was concerned about fluoride, plastics, herbicides, pesticides, bacteria, viruses, and metals. I bought Propur because it is priced within my range and has great test results.

I was shocked to see how dirty the filter had become! We drink and use for cooking around 8 gallons of water a day for a family five. I've been aware that most of our cities drinking water have become polluted with industrial chemicals. However, I had no idea that many pharmaceuticals are also in our drinking water like antidepressants.

Drugs in the water

Spavinaw Water Project

Tulsa's water is taken from two lakes surrounded by Chicken farms. The runoff is full of chemicals Tulsa's water plant has to clean up. The process and chemicals used to purify the water are linked below. Tulsa has clean water compared to other cities water, but they still put fluoride in their water and don't filter for or treat other chemical contaminants. Plus I don't trust people, we aren't perfect, data is omitted to save one's job, and accidents can happen!

I grew up in rural Oregon drinking well water. We always filtered our water in the country because of farming chemicals polluting our groundwater. Many people think living in the country well water must be pure. Sadly, farming Christmas trees and berries requires heavy use of herbicides and pesticides.

McKenzie Tree Farm

Drinking out of wilderness streams has always been risky because our modernized gut which has little defense against naturally occurring bacteria that were harmless to us in the past can sicken us now. I never caught beaver fever as a kid, but many of my friends did. Even when I was six years old and playing out in the woods, I was always careful not to drink from our streams. The Cascade mountain streams look clean and beautiful, cool, clear water from snow-pack runoff but you never know what is hiding in the water that can make you sick.

Clackamas Rivers and Streams

Giardiasis-beaver fever

Porpur Water Filter

The ProOne®G2.0 filter has been tested in accordance with NSF- 42 and 53 standards, and the only “ALL-IN-ONE” CONTAMINANTS & FLUORIDE GRAVITY WATER FILTER that qualifies as a microbiological water purifier by NSF Protocol P231.Test results by Envirotek Labratories, Inc., certified by the state of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection show the ProOne®G2.0 filter removes and/or reduces contaminants including heavy metals, VOC’s, monochloramines, pesticides, herbicides, pharmaceutical drugs, fluoride, bacteria, viruses, Giardia and more without the need of any add-on filters. Even the contaminants that were found in the Toledo and West Virginia water supplies are covered by the ProOne®G2.0 filter. For complete lab report details, please click on the tabs below. Click here for most current Envirotek Lab Report Certification.

Tulsa Oklahoma Treatment Process

The water then travels into a "Rapid Mix" where Aluminum Chlorohydrate and cationic polymer are added as coagulants. The coagulated particles in the water cling together and form larger particles, called floc, in a process called flocculation. After mixing, the water and the floc flow into a sedimentation basin. Here the floc settles to the bottom and is pumped from the water to sludge thickening basins for disposal. The clarified water flows over weirs at the end of the clarifiers (or basins). At this point, roughly 95- 97% of all suspended particles present in the water have been removed.


some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

@reddust,
Yeah I could remember last year you brought that filter by selling a good amount of SBD! At that time I thought it was not a very worthy investment!
By watching this I also shocked! And I will try to buy one as well! They say clean water, but like you said they can't filter everything! So, thank you very much for highlighting this! Really appreciate it my dear friend!

Cheers~

You remember @theguruasia, I was so proud, I worked my fingers to the bone drawing and typing for Steemit rewards. I was so scared to go on the crypto exchanges and learn how to trade sbd for btc and then figure out how to buy goods with cryptocurrency. I had a blast and now it's all old...hehehe

I would of created art and blogged on my WordPress site but not as much. The competition and reward incentives really lite a fire in me...lolol

@reddust,
I also brought a mobile phone by Steemit! This is life changing platform! No doubts! But you bought the right one! When I saw that I was shocked! Looking for a filter now!

Cheers~

The water may look transparent, but it is made up of thousands of tiny particles that only the micro-pores of the filters are able to filter.

We use activated carbon with micro-perforated stone filters; we regularly maintain it for a maximum of three months.

When we do maintenance, the stone is filled with a slimy surface of the same color as yours. Lately, the water has been coming in much dirtier and with smells that are farther away from properly treated water. The same linen, when washed, is tanned by the sediment that the water brings.

At my brother's house in the country, Valencia-Carabobo in Venezuela, they use a couple of concentric tubes. The outermost tube acts as a first filter with 2 mm perforations, the second tube (internal), the perforations are 1 mm. Sand washed with activated carbon is placed between the two tubes. When I have visited him, the water always tastes fresh, my brother draws the water with a suction pump into a tank about 4 meters high.

Your brother is very inventive, I have a survival book kept in my emergency bag that is full of techniques like this just in case our infrastructure is destroyed by natural disaster that takes our electrical grid down. I expected the filter to be dirty but seeing what we might be drinking kinda grossed me out....

I read that most of our minerals used to come from water and clean dirt which isn't bad but now our sediment is full of farm runoff. Big factory farms use huge amounts of chemicals which are silent killers because they take a long time to build up in the bodies systems and eventually cause dysfunction and disease. Antibiotics cause disease resistant bacteria. That is what I am worried about, not dirt but industrial chemicals and fluoride dumped in our water which is from the manufacturing of aluminum. It is not naturally occurring fluoride, both are deadly if taken in large amounts, one is beneficial in small amounts the other from aluminum manufacturing accumulates in the body, ruining our very fragile hormonal system and causes brittle bones and bad teeth.

The practice of adding fluoride compounds (mostly FSA and occasionally sodium fluoride) to drinking water is known as community water fluoridation. It has been a mainstay of American public health policy since 1950 and continues to enjoy the support of government health agencies, dentists, and numerous others in the medical and scientific community.

As with many chemical additives in the modern world, however, few people know much about it.

Many are surprised to learn that unlike the pharmaceutical grade fluoride in their toothpaste, the fluoride in their water is an untreated industrial waste product, one that contains trace elements of arsenic and lead. Without the phosphate industry’s effluent, water fluoridation would be prohibitively expensive. And without fluoridation, the phosphate industry would be stuck with an expensive waste disposal problem

I understand you perfectly. The chemicals are not good and are difficult to dissolve from water. Over there is some material that I'm going to summarize and pass on to you and see what we get out of it.

We, the human being, are the main problem of all ecological evils. We produce mountains of garbage and chemical waste; and even though we know that this is wrong, we do not do what is necessary to shovel that situation.

My question is, how long will nature hold out? What will become of the future of our descendants...?

I am very pleased that you have responded to my comment. One hopes to be read... Thank you and happy weekend. Blessings and prosperity

Yup yup yup.

I have well water but habent tested it yet or done the filtration i want. Reverse osmosis im looking into. Resteemed

If you do reverse osmosis look into supplementing your essential minerals. Thank you @weirdheadaches and give a big hug from me to your son and wife, love them to bits <3

That is one nasty looking water filter. Although it gives my shivers to see what that kind of grime could do to a person but I have seen worst here in Warsaw.

Chicken farms you say........... I was actually reading on chickens and how it is unprofitable for farm owners to keep them after a certain amount of time. Thus comes the feed that is genetically modified and on top of that infused with steroids for faster growth of the chicks. The possibility of this affecting the nearby water sources after a substantial amount of time is quite real.

Also - as you mention the problem of fluorides in water is even more severe and ever present.

I raised 6 of the infamous factory hybrid Cornish Cross chicken , which are the birds that have huge breast and are butcher weight within 6 to 8 weeks. The birds grew so fast they couldn't walk easily by the time they were 5 weeks old, they were prone to heat exhaustion, infection, heart disease, and deformed bones...

This is why Chicken factory farms need to feed the birds antibiotics and can't let them free range. The birds can't live past a year old and cannot mate because of their large breast and deformed legs caused by fast growth and unnatural weight.

The runoff from the farms is polluting our dirt as well. The manure from the chickens is full of chemicals is used as fertilizer by surrounding produce and agricultural farms..

I sometimes have to stop and think............ I know people don't really care much for spirituality and religion but one has to ask the hard question.

  • If one can look beyond the proteins and the calorific value of the food then how good is consumption of food that has been created by hurting the natural order is to a human body?

Let alone the fact that the animal has to suffer from the birth and to a degree that it cannot even complete it's life span. A few days ago I was arguing my case with another gentlemen, here on steemit. The point he put forward was that requirements of humanity are so great that not all standards can be maintained.

Forget the discussion at of food and talk about the most basic item of consumption, i.e. water. The fact that it is not even drinkable anymore should give a pause. Sure requirements of humanities are great - but are the great enough to raise an entire generation of sickly people because science has conclusively shown that long enough exposure will make are bodies adapt and sometimes not in a favorable fashion. I think to be lazy about where the food is coming from has more to do with laziness then anything else. Our diets are at mercy of corporate entities rather than the supposed environmental shortcomings of the planet.

(I would also like to state here that my belief is that humanity overestimates itself. We are but a speck in a scheme of bigger things. To think that a whole planet would fall short in providing for a species whose whole population(past and present) can be fitted inside one big city is a little egotistical.)

The idea of taking care of nature is not just of what we give back would be returned to us. It seems more of what we pass on would reach into the evolution thus changing the future.

Sorry! Went a little off tangent. Can't get the picture of those chicks not even able to walk properly off my mind.

Man that is some crazy detail around drinking water. I often think about the folks in Michigan and other regions not publicized any where as much and the problems they have. You can choose to believe your water is safe I suppose but there is always something in it you don't want in you.

One of the simplest and most sobering things anyone has ever said to me is: You either have a water filter, or you are one.

I don't trust the government because I have seen how they have screwed over Veterans, my Dad was in the Air Force and came down with cancer, he was only 29 years old. They government tried to avoid paying out benefits to his young family after he died. I learned at a very young age not to trust authority, it has its own agenda.

I like that You either have a water filter, or you are one. In the days before mega cities and industries when we lived in small villages, decentralized communities we had no problems with infectious diseases, drinking water wasn't too dangerous because we had a healthy gut biome, with pharmaceuticals and sterile dead food we are a sitting duck for all sorts of diseases and mental dysfunctions. ... Which makes a huge profit for those who manage government health care and make chemical medications...sigh

Oh man I hate to hear that. I too lost my father at a young age but that was because food was loaded with saturated fats and smoking was not found to be unhealthy yet (srsly?!?!)

Health care is an industry for sure and I am trying to live a lifestyle that limits my exposure to that industry.

Water is life and that sounds like a fantastic investment. Makes me so happy to hear that block chain profit resulted in something that helps reduce chemical intake and limiting free radicals.

Awesome.

I did a post 3 months ago as a newbie that got 3 votes and earned me $0.00.

  • I make water. Abracadabra
    • I'm a water plant operator, so feel free to ask me any questions.
      • I believe EPA has lost all credibility by allowing water plants to add fluoride to the water. Terrible decision. It is especially toxic to children <2 years old.

Nitrates (from farming) cause blue baby syndrome.

The floc never leaves the plant. It settles out mainly. What doesn't settle out is removed by the sand filters which most plants have before water leaves the plant.

Yeah I read several articles that the Aluminum is filtered out but there were other articles that suggested the small amounts of free unbound aluminum remain in our water and can be absorbed on an empty stomach. A stomach full of food the aluminum binds to the food. Nitrates from farming are nasty, I read many articles about toxic algae blooming in coastal rivers and beaches caused by the runoff from huge pig farms which kills fish and sicken people who breath the fumes.

Why is aluminum in drinking water considered a hazard when most of our daily intake comes from food?

Although most of our daily aluminum intake comes from food, aluminum in food appears to be bound to other food substances and thus is in a form that cannot be absorbed into the bloodstream. In fact, it seems that the body's main defense against aluminum in food is that it does not allow aluminum to pass through the intestinal wall.

In contrast, recent research has shown that aluminum from drinking water can be absorbed to some extent in both animals and humans. This is because the aluminum in water following water treatment processes seems to be in a largely "free" (i.e. unbound) form. However, the amount of aluminum absorbed from drinking water is usually very small. One reason for this is that the presence of food in the stomach reduces the absorption. Absorption then is greatest when water is drunk on an empty stomach.

The guideline that Health Canada will be recommending for aluminum will be based on the amount of "free" aluminum present in drinking water, not the "total" aluminum that is currently measured and quoted in Canada and other countries.

Why is aluminum added to drinking water during water treatment?

Waterborne micro-organisms (bacteria, viruses, protozoa) are a very serious health risk. Aluminum compounds are used in drinking water treatment to remove these harmful micro-organisms and particles that can protect them from disinfection, by coagulating them, or causing them to clump together into larger particles.

These large particles are then removed by sedimentation and filtration. Aluminum-based compounds also remove naturally occurring organic matter present in water, thus reducing the formation of disinfection by-products. These are the products of the reaction between chemicals used for disinfection and naturally occurring organic matter, some of which may cause cancer (e.g. trihalomethanes).

Alum (aluminum sulphate) and polyaluminum chloride are the most widely used coagulants, because they are effective, readily available, and relatively inexpensive. However, under some circumstances, or if not used properly, their use can result in elevated levels of residual aluminum in finished drinking water.

I was visiting my brother in Stillwater and at OSU I took a drink out of the water fountain. WHOA that was a mistake!! I have no idea how people drink that.
I’ve heard and seen good things about Porpur filter, looks like it is doin it’s job.
About 6 years ago we were financially able to get a Big Berkey. It was speedy but totally worth it. I like you use the filtered water for everything.
Well water living in a big farming community should be marked with a poisen sticker.
Spray for this spray for that, spray just to spray because their might be some big that might eat the leaves of you plant.
No fluoride in my water and no fluoride in my toothpaste for the last 6 years and my kids have never had a cavity. Hmmm weird.
I have a relative that gives their kids fluoride tablets?!?!? She asked if I wanted one for my kids I politely said “no.” Then she responded saying, “oh that’s right they fluoridate your water.”
I said, “ya they do, but I filter it out.”
😉😉

I can't believe people trust governments. I think this has to do with our educational system because our constitution says over and over again... DON'T TRUST THE GOVERNMENT!

As soon as I can afford it I am putting a filter on all the water that comes into our house. Until then we will use our porpur.

I picked berries for my school clothes back in the 1960s and remember the horrible smell when the field was sprayed. I suprised I haven't come down with cancer and I am approaching 60 years old in a couple years. I know many of my age group and their parents that grew Christmas trees and berries have come down with cancer. NO ONE TALKS ABOUT IT! Which freaks me out...sigh

They dorce feed what they want you to know and what they want you to believe. Remember they are here for your and my best interests
😜😜
Chemicals in the food
Chemicals in the water
Chemicals everywhere!!
Cancer rates running ramped!!
Hello people
Like my blog page states
“Put 2 and 2 together”
It’s so sad to hear about and see people’s lives being shorten and taken away cancer or like I call it chemical poisoning.
I would love to have a whole house system one day too. Get all that junk out of every drop of water that touches my body.

Who ever thought a talk about water filters could be so interesting! I actually read the whole thing. This was pretty cool.

We used to be able to drink out of Lake Tahoe when I was a kid. Not anymore. Bever fever for sure!

Here in Tulsa the runoff from farm lands causes huge algae growths and water that has very little oxygen, which causes nasty bacterial growth in our lakes, river, and streams...It is no longer safe to go swimming, let alone drink wild water...

I don't think people used to get sick drinking running water back in the day because they had a healthy gut and immune system. Now our gut biome is all out of wack because of the chemicals in our food, water, medicine and environment. We have no protection.

I started reading about what has been found in our water and people need to go to prison for poisoning not just humans but our planet! I really think this world is run by insane people.

Thank you for the share. I have a Big Berkey and do not know how many gallons I have poured through it. Time for a new filters I'm sure. Appreciate the reminder. Peace and goodwill.

I like Big Berkey as well, I decided to go with Propur because I found a better deal...I always keep 3 years of filters just in case...;-)

In my house the same thing happens with water filters, we believe that when buying drinking water, it is totally clean. But no..! We have even consumed one that gave us stomach pain. At present the human being has contaminated this vital liquid and this is reflected more in my country Venezuela. I have seen how, due to the lack of urban sanitation, people throw waste into lakes. And more because there are no laws that encourage the care of this.

I don't trust bottled water and it is stored in plastic which leaches endocrine disrupters, the chemicals mimic or hormones which run our body and bottles are bad for the environment. In poor countries the cost of filters like mine are usually beyond the reach of the poor people. Also in poor countries industries can move in and take advantage poisoning the environment with their industry. America suffered from this as well at the turn of the century, a growing middle class fought the powers that be and built excellent sanitation systems. Unfortunately industry is winning here in the States our infra structure is decaying and our ground water is contaminated from bad farming practices paid for by corporate interest that pay for government officials bid for office....

Right now pollution of our dirt, water, and oceans is the biggest threat to life on earth, not climate change from co2, which to government focuses on because corporations and the government can control business and make tons of money exchanging carbon credits for money so business can pollute...it's an insane world we live in and we as individuals must survive the best we can because the government does not care about most of the worlds population.

Very true, friend @reddust, the government is looking for small solutions for big problems. We must be aware of the damage we cause to the planet and not only to this one but also to ourselves. I would like to have drinking water that is not bottled, but this is very difficult here in my country. I would like some day to have a filter that eliminates all the toxins and bacteria that are in the water. regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48