Homegrown Herbal Tea for Easing Menopause SymptomssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

DSCN3294.JPG

I have been finding my homemade herbal blends (made from all or mostly home grown herbs) to be quite helpful in easing those uncomfortable hot flashes and that odd achy skin that nobody warned me I would have to deal with when I hit this point in my life.

Tonight's blend is raspberry leaf, pineapple weed, red clover, and pansy (all from the garden), with the addition of cloves, a cinnamon stick, and a red pepper for added flavor with a bit of a kick.

DSCN3295.JPG

Of course I brewed it on the rocket stove! ;)

DSCN3296.JPG

As it often does, it turned out quite tasty. I have posts about the benefits of red clover, pansies, and raspberry leaves (see links below) and will be doing one soon about pineapple weed so if you are interested in such things, keep watching for that down the road.

Now I am off to chill and enjoy my lovely tea. Hope you all have a relaxing evening! ~Heidi

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Nice post Heidi, I thought I was going to get a recipe for when a woman (my girlfriend) has her period, but realise now that menopause isn't quite menstruation... However, perhaps you'll have a post for that at a later time (or pehaps I've already missed it?) ;-)

BTW: I was going to tip you about formatting your post with Markdown, but see that you have so many posts that you must be familiar with it already. Could you enlighten me as to why you don't format your lists and links, but center your images?

These same herbs are good for all women's health, not just old ladies like me! haha! So you were right in checking that out :D

As far as your question, I have not yet figured out how to format the links, I keep meaning to but when I am in the middle of a post, I realize that yet again, I did not go figure it out and do not feel like taking the time to do it, I know it will be easy, I just need to remember to learn it. I will do that now that you reminded me! haha

You know what, I'm glad you haven't figured out about formatting yet, because originally I wrote a longer comment on how to do it, but considering that you had so many posts, I thought it could be a bit condecending, so here goes:

I'll show you how I'd like parts of your post to look like, and then below that I will show what it looks like in markdown:

Here's the markdown:


* [Red Clover](https://steemit.com/herbs/@raincountry/red-clover-benefits)
* [Pansies](https://steemit.com/garden/@raincountry/harvesting-and-drying-pansies-and-what-i-use-them-for)
* [Raspberry Leaves](https://steemit.com/garden/@raincountry/red-raspberry-leaf-health-benefits-not-just-for-the-ladies)

markdowntutorial.com seems to be an easy way to learn markdown, but I suspect that perhaps the special characters used could be a problem? Let me know if that is the case.

Oh, and I got a nifty tip the other day. If you want to make image captions, you can do it by adding a line with the caption under the image line and wrapping it in <sub> </sub>. That way it is clearly distinguishable from the rest of the text.

O wow! Thank you SO much, I was trying to find how to do the links like that after reading your first comment and could not find it. I did realize though that I could center my wording the same way one centers photos. Truly appreciate the help!

Amazing! BTW Heidi, we are not old, we are aged to perfection..like fine wine lol! Will this help with headaches and night sweats too? Love and prayers❤

It does help with the nightsweats but not so sure on the headaches. I have found catnip tea to be enjoyable and works quite well for headaches

Thank you, I will try that. Are you coming to Oregon to see Doug and Stacy? I cannot go, but I would love to see the 4 of you meeting each other❤

We had seriously considered it and want to, but certain situations are making it very difficult for us to be there, so we will have to pass this time and pray it is not the only chance we will have to get to meet them in person.

First of all I love your kettle! I had to look up pineapple weed and I am pleasantly surprised it grows here quite abundantly! Geez I'm so serious when I tell you that I have learned TONS through your blog! Thank you!

I tried all kinds of things for my hot flashes, some things helped a bit, such as black cohosh, but nothing worked all that well. I'm on the patch now. I think it can be a bit risky depending on your health history and your genetic history, but I had to do it to get any relief.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43