Red Clover BenefitssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #herbs7 years ago

DSCN2604.JPG

I was so thrilled when I finally found red clover growing happily in my west side herb garden. I had hoped it would eventually show its lovely head. I had been reading off and on for a couple of years about the benefits of red clover but instead of hunting it down, I just waited, for I knew it would appear someday.

Though both the flowers and the leaves can be used, most of the benefits can be found in its sweet flowers.

Red clover is rich in nutrients such as calcium, chromium, magnesium, niacin, phosphorus, potassium, vitamin C and thiamine.

It is beneficial to cardiovascular and bone health and in the prevention and treatments of cancers. It can be used in treating eczema, coughs, and respiratory infections. It is also well known for its benefits in easing pre-menopausal and menopausal symptoms, especially hot flashes and night sweats. Meaning that this wonderful plant could not have shown up at a better time in my garden!

Below is a brief video from my west side herb garden where I am talking about the benefits and uses of red clover for those who prefer a little audio and visual learning:

I did make myself a tea that night after making the video of red clover flowers, sage, and lemon balm. It was quite good, though I cannot say how well it worked in treating hot flashes and night sweats as lately, I have only had to deal with them once, maybe twice a week, I do know I had none that night.

One of my favorite herb books that I have and I recommend for everyone, especially those just getting into medicinal herbs is Rosemary Gladstar's Medicinal Herbs: http://amzn.to/2obUtKN

Thanks for taking the time and hope you all have an amazing day! ~Heidi

NOTE: I am NOT a doctor nor pretend to be one. Nothing I say should be used to replace professional medical counseling! Also, PLEASE do your OWN research!

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Can't wait to make some tea! We found LOADS of this stuff everywhere, and I've been drying as much as I can in preparation for when it disappears in the fall.

I sure hope we get lots more next year, right now, it is just as small patch here, but I am certain it will spread :D

Beautiful! There isn't much clover growing on my farm even though I have tossed out pounds and pounds of clover seed LOL! I need lots of clover for my bees. Yumm, clover honey...

Thank you for sharing those additional benefits of clover. Today I learned something :)

Funny how many take for granted such things where it grows prolifically, I could not imagine needing to plant clover, but I am grateful it grows so well here. Many around here see it as a weed, which is sad.

I love eating these in salads or tea! Didn't know they had such awesome properties! Always something to learn on your blog hence why I always come over haha :)

Thank you so much! Yes, I am always thrilled when I learn more about the things that grow around here. I get so excited! If we stay here, I am planning on turning my whole front yard into a garden as well :D

That would be so lovely!

Cool, now i know good way how to use them :)
You have nice herbs garden here :)

Upvoting your post, looks interesting .

I used to chew on this stuff before I knew it was good for me. : ) Nice informative video...glad to know all of the benefits. There are so many!

The gifts of health that the herbs gives us far out weighs the space they take over! Resteemit!

Absolutely! I would rather have clover than grass any day!

Most all the land that we do not use for gardening and growing fruit and nut trees is left to grow wild flowers for the bees and butterflies and even wild turkeys. We do have a lot of clover that grows in patches as well as flowers that I recognize from my childhood that grew in the meadow next door.
Fortunately we do not have neighbors so no one can complain about our unsightly yard. We serve the whole creation.

There was a time I used to try to rid all such things from my yard, now I encourage it. I no longer care what the neighbors think. No one complains but most around me are pretty picky about having a "weed" free yard so I am sure they would appreciate it if I kept the dandelions in check. NOPE! Not gonna' do it! haha

Love this! I grew up plucking these "honey suckles" all through my childhood!

Wonderful benefits! I have a question for you: It looks like a few my peaches (which are nowhere ready to pick) are getting worms or something in them. I don't want to lose them but I don't want to use toxic chemicals. Any suggestions?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59248.66
ETH 2601.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43