5 Foods You May Not Know Are Healthy For You! Are You Eating Them?

in #health7 years ago

When choosing to eat healthy food, we want foods that are loaded with lots of essential nutrients, minerals, and vitamins. While most of us know about healthy foods such as bananas, spinach, kale, broccoli, and blueberries, there are some healthy foods that are often overlooked. Here is a list of 5 such foods.

5 Overlooked Healthy Foods

1 - Goji Berries

enter image description here

Exotic fruits have grown in popularity over the last few years, and goji berries is one of the most popular. These delicious berries are from Asia are loaded with nutrients that can really be a benefit to your health. This delicious berry contains iron, amino acids, vitamin A, and the much needed fiber. A great thing about the goji berry is that it can be eaten with the skin on and you don't have to remove a pit or seed. This makes it extremely easy to include in your diet by adding them to your yogurt, cereal, or even oatmeal. They are also sold in dry form which means you can also add them to granola.

2 -Pumpkin

enter image description here

You may not realize it but pumpkin also has some health benefits. There is a good reason why so many healthy baking and dessert recipes have pumpkin included in it. It is delicious, low in fat, and very good for you! Pumpkin that is in a can contains unsaturated fats, fiber, antioxidants, and a good amount of protein. If you rather have pumpkin seed, there are even more nutrients in them. Pumpkin seeds are loaded with zinc, vitamin K, magnesium, potassium, and also protein.

3 - Beets

enter image description here

Beets may not look like the most appealing food because of their purple color, but they are actually very delicious. Add in the fact that they are healthy, gives you a good reason to add them into your diet. Including some beets into your salad will give you iron, calcium, fiber, vitamin C, and vitamin K. This is a lot of healthiness for such a small vegetable. You may also find recipes that may sound a bit more appealing that will have you roasting or steaming the beets. An example would be adding cooked beets to a Risotto dish.

4 - Olives

enter image description here

As a kid, I can remember placing olives on all my fingers and enjoying them. It is a given that they would be served at every Thanksgiving meal. Olives make for a great snack and are often added to salads for flavor. Thankfully, olives are also good for you. Olives contain copper, calcium, iron, and vitamin E. They are a bit high in sodium, so it is important to keep your serving to a minimum to get all the health benefits they can give you.

5 - Artichokes

enter image description here

Another overlooked vegetable that is healthy is the artichoke. This unique veggie is delicious and eating differently from most vegetables. The inner part of each leaf contains the meat of artichokes, that is the part that is eaten. This soft meat is enjoyed on its own after steaming or eaten as a dip. To add to the flavor, you can dip them in a little bit of melted butter. Artichokes contain antioxidants, vitamin K, vitamin C, and fiber.

Summary

Consider adding these often overlooked healthy foods to your diet to increase your vitamins, minerals, and nutrients. What do you think? Do you enjoy any of these foods? Leave a comment below.

Image sources

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

That was very informative. You know that beetroot work as a great pre workout. Instead on relying on heavy doses of caffeine you should switch to beetroot. Also I do vary my seeds, like sometimes pumpkin, chia, flax. Seeds are great source of omega 3.
kindly check this post. I hope you'll like it.

Thanks for reading, I see so many relying on over hyped pre-workout drinks that are loaded with stuff that just isn't good for you over time.

I never thought of that, but I do drink beet juice I buy off the street here in Bangkok. I definitely feel energy after every time I drink it. They only sell it in the mornings so maybe that's why :)

I love beetroot (aka beets). I'm planning on posting a beetroot and carrot soup recipe later today, but if people are not used to using them, maybe I could share some more recipes for them.

I'm a bit wary of goji, because they're in the night shade family, but they're probably fine for people who aren't nightshade sensitive.

Looking forward to your recipe, following you!

Thanks. I had a snafu where I failed to save my Word document today :-( so no post. Hopefully tomorrow...

These look so cute and delicious!!
@ptmikesteem

They are definitely delicious!

Honestly, nature already provides us with all the supplements we need. Those vitamins that are sold in supermarkets actually don't work. It's just for pharmaceutical companies who want to make money tricking people into buying them.
great post, thanks for sharing it :) I love all health-related stuff

please follow me @raisinbran ! :)

It is true that eating healthy, unprocessed foods can deliver so many health benefits. Many people would get off their medications for certain issues if they just ate better and did some sort of exercise. Following you.

Exactly! Also, if you're interested, look into ginger, it's super in all sorts of ways!

Thank you! I am following you now too :)

This post has received a 1.33 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @ptmikesteem.

You were doing do good. And then olives and artichokes. UGHHHH!!

I'll give you a grade of 60%

STEEM On!!

If you are so inclined, I have a way you can help with health in the US.

Thanks in advance if you support, no harm if you decide not to

Dave B

https://steemit.com/steemit/@davebrewer/opioid-crisis-in-america-is-growing-exponentially-here-s-one-way-our-steemit-community-can-take-action

Come on, olives are great lol. I have upvoted and resteemed your article because it is a topic that is out of control. It has hit my city pretty hard and I have personally lost a couple people I know from this crisis. Thanks for sharing and commenting.

I might prefer sardines to olives, and I hate sardines, LOL

Coming to you from the steemit addiction group. Upvoted and already following. You and I are the same page regarding food and health axcept I can't eat gogi berries. They are nightshades which I avoid :)

Thanks for following. I am following you now also, looking forward to reading your posts.

Thank you - I'm a bit stuck on yunk posts now, but my health stuff is slowly coming out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97