My 5 Keys to Achieving and Maintaining Optimal Health Through Eating, Part 3 (3/17 Health)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)


Thank you Mike Arnstein (The Fruitarian) who produced, published and starred in the video included in this post.

(1) Eat daily during an 8 hour window. [see The 5 Keys to Achieving and Maintaining Optimal Health Through Eating, Part 1 (1/17 Health) https://steemit.com/health/@prima-nia/the-5-keys-to-achieving-and-maintaining-optimal-health-through-eating-part-1-1-17-health]
(2) Stop eating animal flesh--cooked or raw. [see The 5 Keys to Achieving and Maintaining Optimal Health Through Eating, Part 2 (2/17 Health) https://steemit.com/health/@prima-nia/the-5-keys-to-achieving-and-maintaining-optimal-health-through-eating-part-2-2-17-health ].
(3) Eat more fresh raw fruit.

Buy the best quality that tastes good and plant the seeds randomly. Ultimately the best food--and health security is to consume fruit and to produce--personally or collectively--the fruit you consume. He’s right about the bananas. In fact, banana smoothies (bananas, water, cinnamon, turmeric, black pepper) are often my first meal of the day for weeks on end. My current diet is 80% or more raw fruit and leafy greens and water and spices. From time to time I still eat cooked vegetables (potatoes and cruciferi)

(4) Eat more fresh raw or cooked vegetables.
(5) Drop the dairy...and the grains while you’re at it!

Sort:  

Eating during an 8-hour window (aka. intermittent fasting) is NOT more healthy than not doing so. You are likely to get hungry and have major cravings outside of those 8 hours if you're used to eating sporadically throughout the day. Additionally, for a lot of people, this will cause energy issues

I do agree to some extent on the rest of the advice, although for anyone reading this without knowing this beforehand, every point should have been more thoroughly explained.

Hi @aesthetics,

I agree with you. Everyone is at a different place in their journey. For those looking to improve or optimize their physiological well being, making an abrupt change and plunging into "one ideal" is not the answer for at least two reasons I can think of: (1) there may not be öne ideal", and (2) their current state/position may be so far from their optimal that the sudden change might be unneccessarily jarring/disruptive.

Mike Arnstein himself was (and maybe still is) a grazer, i.e. he used to eat when he felt hungry throughout the 24 hour day. In my personal experience of eating during an 8 hour window and fasting for 16 hours I begin calorie intake between 10 and noon. I am b my sy in the morning and it is easy, now, fo e to grab water instead of an apple. My abdomen is flatter, my muscle defnition has improved appetite is not ravenous. I often prepare more than I actally eat at one sitting and I will come back and nibble. About an hour before my window closes I have to remember to consciouly pause and ask myself if I want to eat more. So most days I am having one drawn out meal or I I am eating two meals in that 8 hour window.

Of course there are other forms of intermittan fasting, too.

Thank you so much for your constuctive comments. I appreciate it. I will edit this post thrughout the day so that it is more helpful to more people.

​Sincerely,
​Niamaat​ aka Teacher Nia aka Prima Nia
English Language Coach and
Translator (Spanish to English)

P.S. “Be great because nothing else pays.” -– Grant Cardone

Here are 6 videos, harvested from YouTube this morning. (I did not create these videos. I do not own these videos. You can watch the videos on YouTube if you like by clicking the YouTube icon in the lower right corner of each video.) These videos can bring someone who is not familiar with this concept of intermittant fasting up to speed.


How to do Intermittent Fasting for Serious Weight Loss


I Tried Intermittent Fasting For 1 Week


Intermittent Fasting: How I Lost 30 Pounds In 2 Months (Before & After Photos) | La Perle Beaute
(The presenter equates 0-35 calories with no calories. That's not actually true.)


A Beginner's Guide To Intermittent Fasting


How To Do Intermittent Fasting And Never Get Hungry


Intermittent Fasting: The Simple Facts

Here is another post that summarizes 3 of the 6 videos linked below. https://steemit.com/health/@prima-nia/5h6rjf-intermittent-fasting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50