So, you're getting your wisdom teeth out

in #health6 years ago

As an adult the process of getting your wisdom teeth extracted can feel a bit unnerving. Pun intended. It is also a fairly expensive procedure. I had to have mine pulled/extracted recently and I was surprised at how much it can cost overall.
There are a variety of different options with different prices overall when it comes to planning your loss of wisdom.

You can either

  1. Choose to remain awake and conscious while the physician yanks your teeth out and/or cracks them in half and pulls them out in tiny little pieces but have a localized anesthesia that hopefully numbs the area.

  2. Chose to be "put to sleep" by means of medications that induce a conscious sedated state during which you will respond to the pain but likely not remember it. In this scenario you also and have a localized anesthesia around the tooth area.

  3. A very rare scenario and entirely not optional in the US is to go under general anesthesia for the procedure. This is only performed for patients that are too "high risk" to have the sedation medications.

The cost difference between options 1 and 2 is a whopping $500 USD difference.


That amount of money was enough to tempt me to undergo the procedure without any sedation. You can imagine how apprehensive I felt with option 1. I was scared about how much it might hurt. I was scared that I hear my teeth cracking apart. I was scared that the sensations and pain would be traumatizing.

So, If you need to get your wisdom teeth out and are a brave person that will do anything to save a dollar, then hear my story; Its really not that bad. I'll start by saying that I did only do the left side upper and lower, and that if I have to go back for the right I would do it again with out sedation.


The worst part is when the MD injects the lidocaine into the oral nerve. However, this process is exactly the same as a normal dental procedure. The needle is a bit intimidating and large and it hurts terribly during the injection. The rest is pretty straight forward. The nurse will poke in your mouth periodically to test to see if the area is numb. Then the MD will reach into your mouth with an instrument and pry the tooth out. The only sensation I felt was a pressure, but it honestly never hurt at all. I brought my mp3 player to distract me from the sounds and listened to a Woods Brother song during the process. To give you an idea of how long it took... the song was not even half way through and we were done.

I did have what is termed a simple extraction. The tooth was not impacted and the MD expected the procedure to go smoothly. One of the teeth came out whole, and the other had to be cracked apart and dug out.


I was amazed at how straight forward the process was, and even more thrilled at how quickly the body heals. The procedure was in the morning. I picked up the pain medications from the pharmacy directly afterward and when the numbing medications had worn off. I realized it didn’t really hurt at all and never even used the pain meds. I also noticed that it was windy and all of my friends were planning on going kite surfing later that afternoon. So, I called the office and asked the MD if he would approve of me going out kiting in the ocean. He reassured me that if I felt great, then go.

So, there you have it. It ain't no thang. Save that $500 and get a new board.

Sort:  

I had my lower wisdom teeth pulled out when I was 14 and the two upper ones out when I was 22. Not the most pleasant experience, but it had to be done. As I've gotten older, I've realized the importance of oral hygiene and the importance of taking care of your teeth. Been dealing with a lot of tooth sensitivity lately. Not fun...will need to visit the dentist soon.

yes!! I actually floss now! I have a customer that is a dentist and he doesn't even floss.

I floss too but I’m not sure where my tooth sensitivity is coming from. I feel it on the upper edge of my teeth before it hits the gum. A dentist said once it was the enamel coming off? I don’t know but I know it’s not good.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Please think carefully before engaging in this surgery! I had three "wisdom" teeth come in and was told as a teen they 'should be' removed....whelp - I never had any teeth trouble so I was the wiser never to touch them! Today I still have tha smile and teeth of tha cen'tury! WAHOOOO!

I absolutely love your enthusiasm!! haha

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Thanks for the information sir. My experience was indeed painful, i was sedated but i just didn't sleep so I felt the pain first hand.

Interesting. Thanks for sharing your experience. But what the wisdom behind pulling it out, when it doesn't hurt or something?

This was super helpful to me! I need to have at least one of my wisdom teeth taken out shortly, and all I've heard is stories about the procedure hurting and being an awful experience. I hope my experience will be more like yours, and I'll definitely listen to music during the procedure. :)

Very interesting this subject, I learned new and curious things. Congratulations on the article!

To remove the wisdom teeth or teeth is very painful, even after so much time I feel that it still hurts ... Good post.
I invite you to visit my profile, I would love to have your support ... Thank you.

I'm a new user of steemit. I posted a health. You would like to see this post a little better if you like it and you will be benefited after you post my vote and upvote
https://steemit.com/life/@alemrantorun/human-body-part3-kidney-location-and-procedure-about-if-you-read-this-post-you-can-get-some-ideas-about-kidney

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43