Education Or Indoctrination?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

image.jpeg

THIS is one of many vending machines at my local community college here in San Diego. All filled with the exact same garbage. THIS is my inspiration to keep trying to make a difference in my community. We can do better. Our lives depend on it.

"In the United States, each new generation is less well than the previous one, and each 18-year-old tends to eat a less balanced diet then he or she did at age 10. Most adolescents consume enough calories, but in 2009 only 14% of high school seniors ate the recommended three or more servings of vegetables a day."

14%? And only 3 servings a day? That serving probably includes tomato sauce on pizza too. Pitiful. Believe it or not, that excerpt comes from my college child development textbook. The very college allowing these vending machines. Something has to change here.

There was a big sign above this vending machine about counting calories. But this is not about counting calories. This is about fake food... genetically modified ingredients, food dyes, preservatives, refined sugar, and chemicals made in a laboratory designed specifically to make us want/crave/need more. And designed to make us sick. Sure enough, right next to this vending machine was another selling pepsi, gatorade, mountain dew, crush. The bookstore was even worse. I shudder to think about what is offered at elementary and high schools. How can we empower our youth to stand up to these food giants that care more about profits than they do their customers? How can we encourage them to value their bodies more and the power that they have when voting with their wallets for every meal? That is the question. I would love to hear your thoughts!

Sort:  

To resist the vending machines, keep something that is healthy and you like in your pocket or purse -- a protein bar, dried fruit, small bag of chopped up veggies, etc. If one is in the habit of keeping healthy food nearby, less chance to succumb to temptation.

To get into a healthier diet, replace things one at a time that are healthier but similar to what you are eliminating. Example: replace candy with dried cherries or prunes (not too many!)

Of course the best thing is start the children off with good habits at home. Don't reward good behavior with junk food or use it to pacify. Have the child involved in food prep and choices as early as possible.

I don't really know what I'm talking about because this isn't my specialty, I'm a tech guy with no kids, but still, you asked for thoughts and those are mine! :-)

haha... coming from this parent, all great advice! Thank you @kenny-crane!

It's probably impossible, and it's been a problem for a long time. One has no way of knowing how feeling healthy feels. Vaccines, fluoride, propaganda, "indoctrination", pollution, bad diet, wrong food combining! On, and on. Back in the early 70's I tried to drop out and find another culture. Ha! Every corner was a 7/11, a bank and a pharmacy. It was lonely so I didn't stay long. The question was always what do you replace it with. There were always enough zombies to keep the ranks full, just smart enough to read the road signs. Some like me escaped within myself. Although I was damaged goods like the rest , I resisted the urge to stay/play dumb. I figured out the scams one by one. Learned quickly to keep them to myself, or I was labeled as not one of them, with all the programing they spewed. But it wasn't enough, I underestimated the depth of the rabbit hole. Oh, what was the question again?

Woah.... i think i forgot the question too! :-p

i should add that we all underestimate the depth of the rabbit hole. so many layers to all this that it is overwhelming often times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71