You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does shopping as a therapy help with depression? Studies say Yes!

in #health7 years ago

Thought provoking post @hearyourmind. I would only say that someone in the grip of severe depression would be unable to even face the prospect of shopping. I can see however the benefits for people in the early stages of depression who need a distraction to break out of the downward spiral. I won't let my wife see this though as she doesn't need any more excuses to go shopping :-)

Sort:  

Except that it would have a negative effect on someone with depression. You have to remember that lows follow highs, so whilst there would be a noticeable positive effect whilst shopping, there would also be a noticeable negative effect afterwords. This is why so many people suffer with things like shopping addictions, they're searching for the high that they can only achieve by buying something.

I quite agree @truethoughts about the problems with shopping addictions. However I was thinking more along the lines of someone who needs that distraction to break them out of the negative thoughts that occur before the onset of major depression. My wife knows when I'm on a downer and she will drag me out of the house - quick shopping trip or walk - which is often enough to lift my mood and set me on the path to a better frame of mind.

Appreciate the comments. It is definitely a controversial topic. I agree that for some people, it so hard to even get out of the bed. I have been there. I did also mention in the end, that the euphoric feeling doesn't stay long. But rather it is to be used to build self-esteem and confidence in being around a social atmosphere. It is to be taken with a pinch of salt. That being said, my husband is not happy with these research articles ;)

Thanks for the post @hearyourmind. It's good to get a conversation going. More of it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33