Does shopping as a therapy help with depression? Studies say Yes!

in #health7 years ago

Whilst I was shopping in the mall this weekend, I heard two women conversing in the trial room about how one of them was feeling so much better emotionally, just by being around clothes and bags. She went on to joke about how it’s cheaper than visiting her psychologist. Guilty for eavesdropping, but I couldn’t help but wonder if shopping for therapy actually exist! Does retail therapy really work?

A research study conducted by Journal of Epidemiology and community health concluded that regular shopping is connected to longer life spans. Elders who shopped regularly had 27% less risk of death than less frequent shoppers. In another study conducted by University of Michigan, it was inferred that shopping restored a sense of control in people to counter feelings of sadness. In fact, shopping was up to 40 times more effective at empowering people with decision making and taking control.

The science behind this is that, shopping mirrors the state of vacation in our minds. It’s a relatively mindless, relaxing activity just like a holiday. It is a mini vacation for some people, without the hustle of packing and travelling. It gives them a much need break out of the situation. The colors, creativity of the designers and aesthetics of the place is known to increase dopamine hormone or commonly known as the happy hormone.

So enjoy those shopping moments to decrease depression and stress levels (whilst being in control of your credit cards and budgets of course). However, it is worthy to note that this is not a permanent solution. Although most studies stated that shopping does make one feel better, they also concluded that the happy feeling doesn’t last very long. The therapeutic effects of visiting a counselor and accomplishing your personal goals fares far better than retail therapy

This article was first written by me for Counsellors Cafe. [thecounsellorscafe.co.uk] is an online magazine based in United Kingdom that imparts Mental Health education through story contributions from counselors, mental health professionals and mental illness survivors.
freestocks-org-182582.jpg

Sort:  

This is really interesting to me because since I was young I've felt that shopping is very stressful! While most girls enjoyed the trip to the mall, I dreaded the experience. I was unaware at the time that this was because of my social anxiety but it's interesting to see the world of "retail therapy" from another's perspective! Good article :)

I quite agree. It is an unconventional choice for therapy. I loved going to the mall during my struggles. I was curious to see what the research studies say and their conclusions took me by surprise.

Thought provoking post @hearyourmind. I would only say that someone in the grip of severe depression would be unable to even face the prospect of shopping. I can see however the benefits for people in the early stages of depression who need a distraction to break out of the downward spiral. I won't let my wife see this though as she doesn't need any more excuses to go shopping :-)

Except that it would have a negative effect on someone with depression. You have to remember that lows follow highs, so whilst there would be a noticeable positive effect whilst shopping, there would also be a noticeable negative effect afterwords. This is why so many people suffer with things like shopping addictions, they're searching for the high that they can only achieve by buying something.

I quite agree @truethoughts about the problems with shopping addictions. However I was thinking more along the lines of someone who needs that distraction to break them out of the negative thoughts that occur before the onset of major depression. My wife knows when I'm on a downer and she will drag me out of the house - quick shopping trip or walk - which is often enough to lift my mood and set me on the path to a better frame of mind.

Appreciate the comments. It is definitely a controversial topic. I agree that for some people, it so hard to even get out of the bed. I have been there. I did also mention in the end, that the euphoric feeling doesn't stay long. But rather it is to be used to build self-esteem and confidence in being around a social atmosphere. It is to be taken with a pinch of salt. That being said, my husband is not happy with these research articles ;)

Thanks for the post @hearyourmind. It's good to get a conversation going. More of it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.97
ETH 3059.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29