New Diet Says Limit Hours Spent Eating Instead of Calories

in #health6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5960.PNG

I've written about this principle before. You can read my two previous posts here and here.

But last night it actually showed up on the evening news here in the U.S. There's a screenshot below, but you can see the video here.

Screen Shot 2018-01-18 at 7.45.39 AM.png

The story details how she was quite overweight. She changed her diet and lost 40 pounds (18.1 kg), but then hit a plateau. Upon changing the times in which she ate, she says the weight "melted off" while she lost an additional 50 pounds (22.6).

This principle was confirmed with a recent study from University of Alabama. You can see it here, though scientists have been talking about for a while. Check out my other posts for all the links.

In my last point, I detailed how I currently weigh 163 pounds (73.9 kg). This morning I weighed myself and I'm at 161.4 (73.2 kg). Not drastic by any means. But it's steady. And this is the kind of lifestyle change that makes it possible for people to lose weight in the long term. My goal is to get to 155 (70.3) and stay there.

I don't feel hungry.

I sleep better.

I eat whatever I want, actually.

I love that I don't have to worry about certain kinds of foods. Simply put, I just don't eat after a certain time.

I'll add one last thing. I often hear from people: Oh, I could never do that. I get too hungry in the evenings. There are variations in people's physiologies, and hypoglycemia is a real thing, but I think for a lot of people, it's simply become a habit to eat in the evenings. Your body doesn't actually need the food.

And that's what I've realized for myself. My body has gotten used to this schedule. It's not a problem. I do give myself grace to grab some fruit or something light at 4pm if I feel like I need it, but 90% of the time, I don't.

That's it.

So what about you? Are you happy with your current weight? What have you tried? Let me know in the comments below.

Also, did you find this post helpful? If so, please Upvote, Resteem, and follow me @leaderinsights to receive every future post.

[image by Lukas]

Sort:  

Thanks so much for sharing,

I have heard that eating in between set times (intermitted fasting) has been a great way for people to keep their weight down.

To be honest, I believe eating late is just not good for the human body, so I definitely want to give this a try. I am eating late currently because my partner likes to do so. I will have to change that ;)

My weight is normal (Im 67.5kgs and just over 6ft) but I would like to drop about 2kgs so I feel more comfortable. Its summer where I am, so being comfy in a costume would be ideal. Im realsitic about weightless, losing weight slowly and steadily is the way to keep it off.

Thanks for sharing.
Will follow you and have upvoted :)

My pleasure. Thanks for the follow and upvote :)

You're right, I think there is something to it. In one of my other posts which I linked, I reference an article that talks about how, if anything, we should eat our very lightest meal of the day at the end. The saying goes, eat like a King for breakfast, like a Prince for lunch, and like a pauper for dinner. But better yet, just skip the last meal entirely.

Yeah, your weight sounds great for your height. For perspective, I'm 5 foot 8 inches, so I could still use to lose a few more.

Have a great rest of your Thursday!

Yes im going to give this a try... I will eat up until four, starting from Monday.

Have to give the ice breaker to my partner over the weekend. haha,
Thanks again, look forward to seeing more of your posts.

Enjoy the rest of your Thursday too.

There we go! Good for you. Yeah, do it and make sure to track your progress.

What time frame do you eat in?

I generally have breakfast around 7:30 am-8:00 am. I then have lunch at 1:30 pm or so. But if I feel hungry before then I'll go ahead and eat. The main thing is, I put a hard hard stop at 4pm. Nothing solid or sugary in my stomach after that. Only water or tea or something like that. But if I wanted to lose the weight quicker, I would put a harder stop at 2pm. What about you?

Very interesting your topic

Hm, interesting. That might be something I'd look into. I don't have a timeframe really, but I know I should be eating less carbs at night so I'm trying to start with that. I have such a struggle with willpower, especially when I'm with people who aren't on the same track.

I feel you. That's why I have to make sure to eat a really solid and big lunch. Otherwise I'd be tempted to also eat at 6pm when my wife and boys have dinner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45