Workout of the Day - Legs!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Monday, April 9, 2018

I’m still toying with the idea of how I want to format my daily workouts, so if you have any input please let me know in the comments! My goal is to start a daily blog of my workouts so that anyone that is new to the gym or just wanting a new plan to follow can follow along.

With that said, I’ll jump right into the plan for the week (which I’ll probably update on Sunday next time around) followed up with today’s workout.

Weekly Workouts:
This week I’ll be focusing my attention on reps in the range of 10-12
Monday: Legs
Tuesday: Shoulders
Wednesday: Back
Thursday: Chest
Friday: Arms
Saturday: Active Rest Day
Sunday: Active Rest Day

While the above days very well may change, the order will not. Maybe my alarm goes off at 5:25AM on Thursday and I have a splitting headache. I’ll skip the workout, run with my pup later in the day if I’m feeling better, and push everything back a day. Nothing is set in stone here. The goal is to be active and improve day over day, week over week.

As mentioned before, I’ll rest in the 10-12 rep range for many of the exercises, with some tweaks here and there for my own specific goals.

Today’s workout – Legs!

I’m a HUGE fan of working out legs. I honestly don’t feel like I’ve pushed myself in the gym unless I’ve done some squats or deadlifts. This is partially driven by the fact that I have incredibly skinny/weak legs with a weak posterior chain. So whenever I work these, I reeaaally work them.

Warm up: Bodyweight Squats – 4x15
Warm up: Bodyweight Walking Lunges – 4x10
Breathing Squats – 4x20
Leg Press – 3x10-12
Weighted Walking Lunges – 3x10-12
Seated Hamstring Curls – 3x10-12
Leg Extensions – 3x10-12
Romanian Deadlift – 3x10-12
Sorenson Holds – 3x10 seconds
Mobility/Stetching

Make sure you’re picking and choosing your exercises based on your goals. Do your research and improve your weaknesses!

Other Leg Exercises to Consider:
Front Squat
Hack Squat
Back Squat
Squat with Pause at the bottom
Sissy Squat
Goblet Squat
Standing Hamstring Curls
Laying Hamstring Curls
Step forward lunges
Step back lunges (better if you have weak/painful knees)
Deadlift
Stiff Leg Deadlift
Good Mornings

Remember, your form should come first in everything you do in the gym. Don’t use momentum to get the weight up, don’t cheat your full range of motion (unless it’s on purpose), and don’t lift with your ego. Flaring your elbows so you can curl 40s (you know who you are) when you can barely curl 30s with proper form is only hurting your potential.

Head over to @Steemmatt's blog to join myself and others for a 100 rep daily challenge!

Love the process.



Fitness | Nutrition | Pro 2A | Dog Lover | Motorcycles | Crypto

Sort:  

You really should have at least two leg days, frankly depending on what training level you are at you can do squats up to three times a week. With this set-up your posterior chain and legs are probably going to continue to lag.

I absolutely agree. I finished up a "Squat Everyday" program about 6 months ago that absolutely wrecked my knees, so I've backed down to once per week for the time being. Eventually I'm going to write up a program for myself that includes all the exercises I'd like to hit throughout the week, which will definitely include squatting more than once per week.

Nice look forward to it! Squat everyday seems crazy to me too, probably because I live on a 4th floor walk up and would like to be able to make it into my apartment.

I agree, I try to squat twice a week just because it's easier on mechanics. Stretching and getting depth after taking too many days off can suck.

Try Our Service Befre Buy🎁

  • Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post.
  • Limited Time Offer
  • No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service.
    we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : JOIN NOW CLICK HERE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49