Why Medical Doctors FAIL at helping people become Healthy

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Doctors and scientists do not seem to be helping humanity when it comes to helping people gain health. The best they can offer, it seems, is to suppress the symptoms of ill health. Part of the reason they have failed in their endless pursuits to find a “cure” has to do with the fact that they have not been taught how the human body really works. They think they know, and have manufactured complex explanations describing how they “think” the human body functions, but they have missed a vital piece of the puzzle. I hope to unveil in this article some insight that, once understood, will help those suffering understand why pills, surgeries, and protein – rich diets rarely ever allow someone to embrace vibrant health and energy.

I am a college professor, primarily teaching Human Anatomy and Physiology and Biochemistry. From a very young age, I was incredibly interested in how the human body works. My interest led me to medical school, taking advanced courses in Gross Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Embryology, and even pathology. After leaving medical school, I decided to further my understanding of the human body by getting a Master’s degree in Biochemistry so that I could appreciate the workings of the human body even at the molecular level.

While doing my clinical rotations in medical school, I became a bit disillusioned with the efficacy modern medicine. It seemed to be enabling people to drudge along without suggesting that they change any of the behaviors that were contributing to their ill health. Pills and surgeries were the golden tickets, allowing people to forget about their annoying symptoms long enough to get back to the lifestyle which was the cause of their problem in the first place. These pills and surgeries were bypassing the alert system in the body that is in place so that we actually CHANGE the behaviors that are triggering the symptoms of feeling ill. Often, these people would be back again to get their fix, with their overall health declining as time goes by.

I knew there must be a better way to really help people re-gain lost health, so I began researching in libraries (this was before the internet). I came across a book by Dr. Joel Fuhrman MD called Fasting and eating for health. The concept of water fasting was new to me, but Dr. Fuhrman was actually HEALING people!! I wanted to learn more, so I called his office to let him know that I was a medical student interested in his method of helping his patients with water fasting and a healthy plant based diet. Soon, I was off to New Jersey to witness the power of water fasting first hand; and, decided to try it out for myself (I completed a 26-day water fast). What I saw was NOTHING like the disease-maintenance protocols I had become familiar with in the hospitals. One man was working with Dr. Fuhrman because his insurance company rejected to cover his fourth cardiac bypass surgery. He was desperate, and Dr. Fuhrman was able to help him dissolve the plaque in his coronary artery naturally, without surgery!!

How was this possible? And, more importantly, why wasn’t this information being taught in medical school?
To answer this question, it’s important to understand what “Medicine” is. Medicine is defined as “the science and practice of the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of disease” (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Medicine). Ok, so what is “disease”? Well, disease is “a particular abnormal condition, a disorder of a structure or function, that affects part or all of an organism” (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Disease). So, to break it down, in medical school, future medical doctors are focused on diseases. Yes, they throw in “prevention of disease” for good measure; but, if you notice, the focus is NOT on “health”. So, the medical system that predominates on most of this planet, and the system that the majority of Americans are dependent on (since it is typically the ONLY system covered by insurance companies), primarily focuses on DISEASE.

No wonder ill patients treated by medical doctors never seemed to attain high levels of health. Medical doctors live in the world of “diseases”. They have invented many names for diseases; and, by law, they have been granted by the government to be the only entity that can treat these diseases with chemical drugs and surgical knifes. Any individual NOT licensed to practice medicine can go to jail if they claim that can heal someone with a specific kind of disease.

To me, why would anyone want to go to a person who specializes in diseases if they wish to attain HEALTH? This question began to weigh heavy on my mind while in medical school.

While interning with Dr. Fuhrman, I learned a lot about human nutrition and health (again, not even remotely close to the few clock hours I had taken during my medical education). Particularly, I became familiar with a healing system known as Natural Hygiene.

“The underlying basis of Natural Hygiene is that the body is self-cleansing, self-healing and self-maintaining. Natural Hygiene is based on the idea that all the healing power of the universe is within the human body; that nature is always correct and cannot be improved upon. We experience problems of health (i.e. excess weight, pain, stress, disease) only when we break the natural laws of life.”

  • Harvey Diamond, Fit for Life, 1985

What I was witnessing in medical school was just the opposite. The body was NOT seen as self-healing. Medical doctors have only ONE focus: to suppress the symptoms that are associated with a disease. And, being the disease experts, every single symptom is covered (just check Web MD and enter any old symptom to see all of the fun diseases you may have!!).

So, in medical school, I was really being trained to memorize all of the symptoms associated with a wide array of diseases, and then which drugs to prescribe in order to suppress these symptoms. A disease is simply a collective of symptoms, and new drugs are added to the PDR (Physicians' Desk Reference) every year to subdue the body’s natural alert system.

With this in mind, and with some sage advice from Dr. Fuhrman letting me know that physicians that try to help patients REALLY heal without drugs and surgery are barely able to financially support themselves (his earnings mostly came from the books he wrote), I decided to leave medicine altogether. I did not lose my passion of helping the sick and injured, I just knew the disease-based medicine was NOT the answer.

So, what is the REAL cause of ill health? Why is it people become inflamed, feel pain, or lose the function of a bodily organ?? This will be the focus on my next article.

Sort:  

How do i vote?
Thank you for sharing this. I lost my 1st husband 29 yrs ago after he was mis diagnosed with sciatica and had cancer. I;ve never trusted doctors since. I've cured myself from ulcerative colitis and i believe that food is medicine. I agree with everything you say! We must take responsibilty for our health!
Have not taken any medication ever in 15 yrs! I don't want to 'mask' my symptoms- i want to heal! And on top of that, at 55 i look great too :)

I am so sorry that you lost your husband. A "diagnosis" is simply a way for the medical doctors to pretend they know what the hell is going on, and feel good about "treating" the signals of the body with symptom suppressing pharmaceuticals. Good for you to trust your body..this is truth. Medical doctors and scientists like to make everything so confusing so that most human relinquish the control of how their bodies will be "treated".

My next blog post will cover how illness develops in the body, and how SIMPLE it is to reverse any negative symptom naturally...it's something the body inherently does as long as we do not interfere.

To vote, you will see an upward facing arrow next to a dollar amount. I appreciate your vote :)

You have learned early what many never learn, that our health care "system" is really disease management. Looking forward to your articles.

Thank you for your comment! Exactly, it is "disease management". It's a system to get people dependent on pharmaceuticals. Healing has no place in this system.

Exaggeration.

Some people die quickly without that medicine and surgeries. Yes, surgeries. Let's see any non-surgeon perform a surgery without the patient taking drugs and not later dying of an infection. Or even knowing how to perform the surgery for that matter.

Healing has no place in this system? You said that you had your rotations in a hospital, are you going to tell me that you never saw patients come in deathly ill that didn't have complete recoveries? What sort of hospital did you work in? Never mind, just saw that you had clinical rotations, not that you graduated and were an intern or resident. Makes sense now...

Never mind. Just re-read you believe in Natural Hygiene.

Please, just don't convince someone that has prostate cancer that they shouldn't go to the hospital and that some other modality will fix it. Please, please don't be that cruel to someone.

Good luck and take care.

Prostate cancer, and all cancer, are easily reversed. You are the one that lacks curiosity, and have been indoctrinated by the religion of scientism. Some of the biggest egos in amerikka are in science.

and all cancer, are easily reversed.

WOW!

As a doctor, I have to disagree with your starting statement that: Doctors and scientists do not seem to be helping humanity when it comes to helping people gain health.

Down vote me if you like: as a hospitalist, I help people daily. You sound like someone couldn't hack it in medical school and now it's trying to "blame the establishment" for it.

Nope, I aced medical school :)

I was the only student who had score 100% in first year biochemistry . It's funny how people uncomfortable with the truth attack the messenger.

Textbooks and theories are easy to memorize, the truth (despite its simplicity) is incredibly hard for people addicted to their indoctrinated beliefs to swallow.

So, how do you help people in hospitals?

I can think of many cases where I was vital n making the diagnosis thus, saving someone's life. But, I don't need to defend myself from someone who thinks that doing well in the first year of medical school is the equivalent to "acing it."

Please explain how your diagnosis brought someone to a high level of health? I am really curious about this (and, c'mon...personal attacks..is this kindergarten? in reality, the truth i share has NOTHING to do with what kind of student i was or how well i memorized shit in med school ) .

I am talking about vibrant health and vitality, not just keeping people functional. So, again, how did YOUR DIAGNOSIS result in vibrant health?

Saving someone's life by making the right diagnosis isn't helping them have vibrant health? Let me guess: red lipstick, puckers lips and perfect hair is how you define "vibrant health."

I've come to the conclusion that you and I should not engage her. We're only going to bring more attention to this. This post didn't make any traction and for good reason. Most people don't fall for this nonsense, so it won't get to the front page of trending and make money. We need to let this garbage die on the vine.

Cheers

I really enjoyed your staunch stance here, and your expertise to back it is impressive, I look forward to more posts. @jr5star

Thank You Elissa!!

Thank you for sharing. Also looking forward to more of your posts. Health is a hot topic these days. I have been following a lot of Dr Mecola and Ayurveda info via John Douillard. Haven't been to a doctor in years.

it's wise to stay away from those practicing medicine ;)

I can't speak to the individuals you mention, but I will say this. You don't have to go to the Dr and follow everything they say, that's your choice and you should educate yourself as much as you find reasonable. Just be skeptical of everything you hear. And just do things in moderation. Get a check-up on a reasonable schedule, get your prostate checked when reasonable, etc. If something is clearly wrong with you and is lingering, go get a Dr to give you an opinion. It's an educated opinion so better to get that than to trust an astrologer or someone reading the lumps on your head or tarot, etc.

Just don't fall for the snake oil, my friend.

Good luck to you.

there is no moderation in health. You either have it, or you are ill. Your advice is typical of those who use fear to keep the status quo, thus keeping humans trapped in a barely functional body. You sound like someone who has forgotten what it feels like to feel vibrantly healthy.

I'm 49 and play basketball for hours at a time with 20 year olds. You could only dream to do the same.

You sound like someone trying to make money off of other people's sorrow.

As a scientist I love reading how little I know or care. Thanks for that. Obviously I chose this career for the money.

I am just sharing what I have witnessed in science and medicine. What I hope to convey is that there are "powers that should not be" that are manipulating humans, suppressing our potential in health and consciousness. I have worked in scientific research for many years. The focus is on the minutia, and scientists lose focus easily on the big picture. How is it that , based on a 2014 statistic, more than $261 million has been pledged to support cancer research, yet cancer is claiming the lives of more and more humans every year? It's time to wake up to the TRUTH. Leave your ego behind for the sake of love and life :)

Because there are more and more humans every year. The world population is increasing.

Not a good enough answer. Admit it, mainstream science and licensed medicine is failing humanity. More people find remedy by staying AWAY from the doctor and NOT taking drugs. I have witnessed too much evidence of this.

I dunno, we got rid of Polio. Heart transplants are pretty neat too.

There's a lot of good scientists though, and cancer is very difficult to treat.

I do understand and share many of your reservations about western medicine, the pharmaceutical industry has plenty to answer for, a lack of public funding doesn't help. We'd be a lot further along if we spent more on science and less on war.

Somehow I don't think I have any answer that you'd say was good enough.

That's fine, I knew this would be a thankless job.

If you don't want western medicine, that's okay by me; it's your choice.

Enjoy your computer, designed and invented using mainstream science.

I really hate to say this, but I think your mind has become so open to alternative ideas that some of it is falling out.

More people find remedy by staying AWAY from the doctor and NOT taking drugs.

That is purely made up by you.

I have witnessed too much evidence of this.

You have anecdotal experiences of this.

The truth, again, is that traditional medicine practiced at your typical hospital is obviously imperfect. It has lots of issues, but to suggest that traditional medicine either doesn't work well when performed properly, or that alternative modalities can do everything modern medicine can do or more is... facepalm The words fail me.

What you and I should be doing is finding the happy medium between modern medicine and a better holistic approach. Yes, doctors over-prescribe at times, (not all do), and yes there are many times where a patient would have had a better outcome if they never went in to the hospital. And there are many times a person falls for the (trying to contain my anger) BS quackery that has zero chance to cure an easy to fix problem for modern medicine, and the person dies.

Steve Jobs comes to mind. Fell for some quackery and paid the ultimate price.

I'm sorry if I'm coming across harshly. Just seen so many people profiting from pseudoscience at the expense of those desperate sick people that are scared and vulnerable, promising to cure them while fleecing them of their life's earnings.

Forgive me again for venting my frustrations at your expense.

Cheers

Loading...

I think your point that doctors are too focused on treatment of disease, rather than prevention is a valid one. However, I think exercise/sports scientists, and evidence based nutritionists pick up a lot of this slack.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55851.69
ETH 2536.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23