Operation: Bring Healthy Back (Fitness Challenge) Week 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Last week, I decided to start this series to share here on Steemit my current journey back to health. Here's the link to the first post, in case you missed it. The main idea basically is to help me stay focused and on-track. I find that keeping a fitness log (in this case, blog :P) helps me to stay motivated and at the same time, it keeps me accountable.

But, before I share my progress for this past week, I want to first talk a little bit about what I learned so far regarding health in general. Along with that, I also want to share my short and long term goals in this area.

BMI or Body Mass Index

Finding out my BMI was an important step for me to determine where I should be ideally, in terms of weight. According to popular definition, BMI is a measure of an adult person's (aged 20 or over) body fat based on their weight in relation to their height. Based on this calculation, a 5'3" woman like myself needs to be between 48-62 kgs (or 105.8 - 136.7 lbs) to not be considered "overweight". Furthermore, I am considered "obese" with 30.6 BMI. Now, that was a sobering realization. Yikes!


data and image source



Below are my BMI and weight goals. The numbers may seem daunting but if broken down weekly, they don't seem so bad.

BMI 2 weeks ago         31.54
BMI Today             30.6
Goal in 6 mos         26.5
Goal in 1 yr         24

Weight 2 weeks ago         178 lbs
Weight Today             173.5
Goal in 6 mos         150 lbs
Goal in 1 yr         135 lbs



Also, in my previous post for this series, I listed 4 healthy habits that I would like to include in my daily routine. Today, I've added a couple more to that list.

  1. Always eat breakfast
  2. Get enough good night sleep (6.5-8 is recommended)
  3. Eat at least 1 healthy meal a day (all meals would be ideal, but let's be realistic :P )
  4. Carry a water bottle with you all the time (it will remind you you take a sip or 2 everytime you see it)
  5. Take your daily multivitamin supplements.
  6. Add fiber-rich foods to your diet or take fiber supplements.

Regular Exercise and/or Activity

This past 2 weeks I've been using the eliptical machine for my workout (5 days a week) and some light dumbbell exercises for arms, back and shoulders. I haven't been keeping track of my weight exercises since they were super light to count for much but I will be adding them on the workout list on next week's post .

Here's my progress so far on the eliptical machine:

1 wk ago         18 mins.
Today           28 mins.
Goal in 6 mos.         45 mins.
Goal in 1 year         1 hr.

That's about it for this week's health post. Thanks for taking the time to check it out and if you enjoyed reading or learned something from this post, feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem!

More later,
@JazzyBells

Sort:  

Parang need ko na din magbawas ng unting baby fats...

Tara.. tara!! Para sa ekonomiya :D

You go girl..you can do this!! Upvoted and resteemed to see if we can get you a bigger support system!!

You are most welcome. Hop it helps.

Here are my daughter's before and after photos. Now she is an elite fitness trainer in Washington State.

15965731_1330097413677991_7962648310886894812_n.jpg

Wow! That's awesome! Thanks for sharing this. So inspiring!! Is she on steemit as well? <3 <3

No but she is on facebook under Cindy Hagness. Her story is so amazing and she has been an inspiration to many. Send her a friend request and tell her her mom sent her. I will also post this article on her wall.

Cool! I will definitely look her up on fb! Thanks so much! <3

You will love her and she you!!

You're rocking it!

Twinkle, Twinkle little Stars, How I wonder what you are.

Congratulations! You got a one (★) Star/s Rating from Steem-stars and your post has been upvoted by @steem-stars, This was base on the content you have been shared to me and to all the people in this Universe.

If you want to know more about me feel free to ask and explore in Universe.

Wow great progress ma'am. We should all take care of ourselves the way you are exerting effort now :-)

Thanks for reading and for the support :) I'm trying.. LOL, one day at a time :)

Awesome, keep it up for a new, sexier you! :)

Uy grabe sha.. hehe. Kahit healthy na lang :P Thanks for reading and for the comment :)

great content! and thanks again for following!

Makukuha yang target na yan. :)

Thank you, Zara! Kakayanin! hehe :)

you are doing good. consistency is the ultimate thing that'll get u to your goal. think 1 lb per week for a year.. and you'r there. :) its also very brave of u to share your 'business' like this.. :P

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JazzyBells from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42