Operation: Bring Healthy Back (Fitness Challenge) Week 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Not 25 Anymore


My weight had slowly crept up over the last 6 or 7 years. My doctor warned me back in 2011 that it would be harder to lose the extra weight as I get older. Our metabolism apparently slows down by 5% each decade. So at 36 years old, I am burning 100 less calories a day compared to when I was 26. That means I'd have to either consume less calories a day or burn more calories than I'm consuming every single day, otherwise I'd be gaining at least 6 lbs or more each year! Like I had been.. Yikes!

Developing and Keeping Healthy Habits


The thing about exercising is that, it needs to a be part of your daily routine for you to be able to effectively keep the weight off. In the past, I would start off excited, all gung-ho and motivated and lose 20-30 lbs in 6 months, but then would lose focus and motivation midway through. So this time, my plan is to slowly build a healthy habit (set a reminder if needed), get used to doing that for a week or so until it becomes a routine and then introduce and add another healthy habit into that routine.



Easy Does It


Since I now have recovered enough from kidney surgery a little over 5 weeks ago, [click the link to read about it: *https://steemit.com/life/@jazzybells/it-s-been-5-weeks-today-since-i-gave-my-sister-one-my-kidneys * I have slowly started working out again beginning of this month. So far, so good. When I got on the eliptical machine 2 weeks ago, I could barely stay on it for 5 minutes straight without huffing and puffing. But yesterday, I was able to stay on without a break for 10 minutes and managed to do another 8 minutes after the break. Yay, me! :D


Examples of healthy habits I'd like to incorporate into my daily lifestyle.


*Always eat breakfast

*Get enough good night sleep (6.5-8 is recommended)

*Eat at least 1 healthy meal a day (all meals would be ideal, but let's be 
              realistic :P )

*Carry a water bottle with you all the time (it will remind you you take a sip or 
               2 everytime you see it)

I have started doing some of these already and will add more to the list as the weeks progress.

If any of you are interested in joining me on this journey/ challenge, feel free to comment and I will make sure to follow you and cheer you on in your journey to health as well! Let's motiavate each other into achieving great results!



PIC CREDITS:

HTTP://HEARTSHAPEDSWEAT.COM
HTTP://FITSPO.COM.AU

Sort:  

great post! I know u can do it.. I've seen u do it. we'll get there together. :) let's do it to it!!

yep! One day at a time :) <3

Wow. Im proud that you are trying to work on it. I know you can achieve it. Keep it up. 😊
Steem on! upvoted 100%

This post has been upvoted by the @teamphilippines curation trail. Thank you for supporting our TeamPhilippines Movement by upvoting, resteeming, delegating, or donating to this account to allow us to support our growing team more and more each day!

Hi Jazzy, you did a lot of self-sacrifice by the kidney donation. But it will pay off and is worth it. Always pray to Jehovah about stuff. Thanks for effort in your post and being yourself. There is no loss. Its personal growth and sharing. For some of the photos, if they are from the internet, you can get free photos free for reuse on pexels, pixabay or from google but for google you will need to use the settings and filter search to only produce free for reuse and modification pictures. In this case though, if some of the photos are not free to use, try to leave links to them and offer credit as well, so that cheetah bot doesn't come around!

Thank you always for your kind and inspiring words @surpassinggoogle!

Keep up the good work! I'm all for healthy living!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42