ADHD, depression, and anxiety: A coming out story

in #health5 years ago (edited)

For a long time since being diagnosed with depression and anxiety a few years ago (as part of a deluxe package deal with ADHD Inattentive Type), I had made sure to keep all of the above under my hat when engaging in any sort of public communication, or whenever I was in any workplace conversation.

Especially in this day and age, when people are expected to scrub their social media profiles of anything indicating a life outside the cubicle— which is to say any hint of a pulse — there can be a tendency for people with any of the above conditions to keep their mouths shut. Stigma is real, and I have discovered firsthand how quickly and thoroughly it can make a person self-censor. This was reinforced shortly after my ADHD diagnosis — which came before I discovered depression and anxiety riding comorbid shotgun —when I consulted with someone who counsels people who are similarly attention-challenged, and asked her how someone with that condition should go about keeping their employer in the loop. “You don’t,” she answered, quickly and unequivocally. (Instead, she recommended requesting reasonable accommodations that would not necessarily tip off the employer, such as asking to have one’s desk moved to a quieter area.)

Further complicating matters is the fact that a lot of people either misunderstand these conditions, or simply doubt the validity of them altogether, as if they believe that people who have ADHD, depression or anxiety must be trying to “medicalize” their shortcomings.

But even though I now primarily work and create from home, I had been resisting “going public” with my conditions for fear of being pigeon-holed by them. I simply had no desire to suddenly become “That ADHD Guy”, or “That Depression Guy”. Even now, as I am writing this piece, I still feel that same fear, and do not wish to use my conditions as an all-consuming “shtick”. After all, while I had unknowingly lived most of my life in the imprint of (and had been repeatedly robbed blind by) what had been these undiagnosed conditions until my mid-40s, they are nevertheless not the sum total of who I am as a person. While I’m starting to appreciate the ways in which these conditions have affected my life (and believe me, the list gets longer the more I think about it), ultimately, I am who I am despite these conditions.

So why write about them?

Because I’m exhausted at the prospect of continuing to keep certain realities about myself hermetically sealed in a box and hidden away, as if they were something to be ashamed of. I no longer have the spiritual energy to pretend for the world that there’s nothing wrong with me when I momentarily go alpha wave during a conversation, and either start drawing a blank while trying to put a simple sentence together, or have to ask the person to repeat themselves all over again. Or when I have those days where it is a monumental struggle to focus on even the simplest of tasks. Or when I feel the weight of life closing in on me, and can only respond by shutting down for hours at a time. Or when I turn out the lights and find myself suddenly gripped with a terrifying and inexplicable sense of despair, and can only respond by gritting my teeth and balling my fists until it passes. (Luckily, it usually lasts only a few minutes, like a weather system that simply needs to pass through.)

I don’t choose to live this way — it’s simply the hand I’ve been dealt, and I’m working with my doctor and my therapist towards finding a better way to live, be it through effective medical treatment for the above, or strategies in the meantime for working with or around my conditions. No less important is the moral and emotional support of my family, friends, and spiritual community — without them, this plane would never leave the runway.

And so while my conditions indeed aren’t the sum total of who I am, they nonetheless pervade and impact my life on a daily basis in ways I can’t ignore, and sometimes in ways that cause other people to scratch their heads, or draw uninformed and unkind conclusions about me.

Because of that, I am writing this not because I want your sympathy, but because I really need to give you my honesty, both for my own sake, and for the sake of those who are so pressured by the very idea of stigma that they feel the need to lead a stifling sort of double life that keeps them from expressing the full reality of who they are, or even keeps them from seeking diagnosis and treatment altogether.

And finally, for those who would hold the specter of stigma over me, I am writing this especially for you, because I’m no longer giving you my fear.

Sort:  

Where to even start...?

I guess, just that I hear ya!

I haven’t been online much, or even social much, mainly because I feel overwhelmed with doing anything other than what I need to do. It’s not that I don’t enjoy what I do, but beyond work and being a dad and partner, that’s about it.

I hold back from bringing any of this into my own writing, because I figure it’s simply self-indulgent. But then I read something like what you’ve written, and I realise, “hey there is a value with telling your story and letting people know how shit I feel sometimes.”

Because when I read stuff like this, a little voice within says, “see?!? It’s ok, you’re not a freak, this is commonplace, you’re not alone, even if you feel so darn crappy!”

So thanks for sharing. It’s helped me confront honestly what I’m experiencing in myself today, and not shrug it off as “laziness” or “sabotage” or some other spiritual bypass bullshit.

😊🙏🏽☯️

Thank you! Please know that with your words, the validation is a two-way exchange. When it came time for me to click on "Post", I was very nervous, and wondering how the piece would come across outside of my own head. With your comment and others, I'm feeling more and more emboldened, and perhaps that much more comfortable in my own skin vis-a-vis my conditions.

Because I’m exhausted at the prospect of continuing to keep certain realities about myself hermetically sealed in a box and hidden away, as if they were something to be ashamed of

I hear that. There's many of us that suffer similiar things - anxiety, depression - that struggle to explain to people this part of our identity, whilst still asserting ourselves as not only that part. The more people who speak out, the better - it helps us be understood. I appreciate your honesty, and I believe people stigmatise less than you think, especially when they know the fuller picture. You are embraced. @riverflows

curation.png
If you like what we do, consider delegation or following our curation trail on Steemauto. All are welcome to join us on Discord.
weelotus.png

Thank you so very much for your encouraging and validating words! :)

I was out earlier this evening and, thinking about this post, had a sudden case of, "Oh, crap! Maybe I shouldn't have written that!", or, "I revealed too much!". But then I checked in on my Steemit account and say your reply, and am now feeling much more centered once again...lol.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I feel there are probably more people than we realise hiding issues which mean they struggle with what we consider "normal" day to day life and they are likely all different in how this affects things. It's like we have a benchmark of what is "normal" and are too quick to judge abnormal behaviour. Let's fit all those round pegs into square holes.

There's also the feeling that if we do speak out about it we could be seen as becoming one of those who use their diagnosis as an excuse to get out of everything.

You nailed it right on the head. Dr. Edward Hallowell, in "Driven to Distraction: Recognizing and Coping with Attention Deficit Disorder", said (and I'm paraphrasing at best) that many non-ADHD simply need to 'snap out of it' and pay attention, which he likened to telling a visually-impaired person they simply need to squint harder.

Likewise, that would also be like saying people with depression simply need to put on a happy face, and those with anxiety should just take a deep breath and chill.

Nobody wants or chooses to live with such conditions - if it truly were as easy as some people think, then these conditions wouldn't exist in the first place.

Loading...

We can understand the frutsrations when you suffer from anxiety disorders, ADHD, depression and many others .Most importantly you have to take your medications we are here for that you can get your meds for anxiety , adhd etc now at www.medicine-purchase.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33