There is only one word for this -Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

in #health6 years ago

I'm talking about the BBC Strictly Come Dancing Show last night.

Strictly dance couple.jpg

I think Strictly Come Dancing is always high-quality entertainment. Last evening the BBC programme particularly excelled. The show was breath-taking in the staging and the performances. None of the dancers left in the competition deserve to leave, but someone will have cause to feel hard done by this Sunday evening in the results programme..

Here is a link to a taster clip. Available to view for 29 days.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09j35pl

The Mary Poppins supercalifragilisticexpialidocious song and routine was particularly brilliant, well up to the Disney Hollywood film standard. And Julie Andrews didn’t do cartwheels and show her knickers like the celebrity dancer does.

It was a show where everything clicked,everyone inspired one another and created an electric atmosphere in the studio theatre.This was evident to those watching at home by the judges exuberance.Their comments were inspired and bubbling with the excitement of it all. Marvelous stuff.

I wonder how supercalifragilisticexpialidocious translates in foreign languages?

That got me thinking about gobbledegook and the laughs I’ve had from the different slang versions of the language. Cockney rhyming slang – “He’s on the dog and bone” (Phone)
Malapropisms – “I’m glad to get back down on terracotta”.

It led me to think of Professor Stanley Unwin. The inventor and fluent speaker of the Unwinese language.

I came across this excerpt from someone who interviewed him –

“If you're here reading this then you're probably here for the same reasons as me. I don't know what it is but every time I hear Stanley Unwin speak the speak I just collapse”

I managed to wangle a few interviews with him a couple of years ago. I got a friendly welcome and spent a few hours listening to his story

And then he'd start doing the Unwinese.

In case you ever thought it was scripted, I can honestly tell you: no. It wasn't. He spoke it like a second language. On tap.

The thing is, Stanley was a genuine one off. Not a product of the 'Variety' days but quite unique - and I use that word reservedly. He was. No argument. It's as simple as that.

Now sadly gone, you must wonder whether this peculiar talent, this left turn of the language as we know it will survive. Of course, there's his films, his telly, his books and loads of stuff around that he did which is just plain funny. And there's always the few who put up a darned good impersonation every now and then as well.

And here is a familiar Christmas story in Unwinese – My grammar and spell checker is going to go bananas with this,so bear with me please.

Professor Unwin's Worms of Wisdy.

Bloggage from the grale beyonders, sprinkly wise worms all tricklyhow in the eardrobes of the human specie.
Sunday, 9 December 2012

Once upolly-tito, in a land far awale, a young matrimole travellit for the count’n’census all checkly-box present’n’correckers there.

seph trickly-how along the roam with Mary all two-square on the botty astrile a donkey, seekit accomodakers. Weary weary all eye-rubbit and achey in the legbole, theyr turned the corm and spied a taverl all glittery in the dark there.

Jospeh rattatat on the doorclabber, and out stepped the innkeep, who doffly cap and questit “Pintly bitter and a dry-white?”

“Oh no” said Joseph. “All knackerit from the travelode, and despery need of a bed for falollop’n’snoozit there”

“Folly” said the innkeep. “All the accomodakers fully occupile, but if you trickly-how to the stablode, feel free to prostrale among the animolds in the straw there.”

So off they trickly-how round the sigold, nudgit the cows and sheeplodes out the way, and pretty soon theye were out like a light.

Now Mary was in the familode way, and dury the nightlopper she brought forth a new-borl infold all squawk’n’screamit like fingerdrobes down a blackboard there.

Early the next mordy, arrivit severold shepherds.

“Goodly morlode! We bring giftloppers for the ankley-biteloder, but we are simple agricold labourits, so don’t expect Nintendole or X-bokker. Just a bottley gold-top and a wedgeley cheeseopper.”

“Deep joy” said Mary. “Joseph. Putly kettle-on for a cuffalo tea-dee. These chaploders deservit a tilty-elbow. Oh yes.”

Just then, throo wisely men strollit through the door and bow’n’scrapeit before the infant there.

“All hail the Holymost child! We have falollowed a starloder all glimmerit in the skybole, and now pay hommy to the king!”

“Folly folly” said Joseph. “King? He is the humbold offrspriggit of a carpentale from Nazareth.”

“Oh no” said the wisely men. “He is born to be kingly, as scribelode in the divine textbookers, and son of God.”

Then arrivit a celestibold host of Angelodes, all warbly in the throakus and twangit on the harp there. “Hosanna and deep deep joy!” they sang.

“Deep joy indeel!” exclaimit Joseph and Mary. “It’s all kicking off here!”

So there, at the very first Chrimbole, they all sat down to roast turkey with all the trimmage, and watchit the Queenly Speechlode before noddly-off with a dry sherry.

Oh yes.

Seasolly Greetage to everybole from @professorunwin and his earthly scrile!

stanley unwin picasa.jpg

Promotion-

coloring header 4 1100x300 (1)_opt.jpg

http://onlycoloringbooks.com

Image credit www.corporatedance.co.uk

Sort:  

I would have enjoyed watching the dancing but the page tells me I can only watch if I'm in the UK. I'll drop a link to the original supercali... at the end of my reply, just for the fun of it. The video has millions of views!

I had not heard of Stanley Unwin. I imagine watching a clip of him would be cool too. The entertainment is probably due to his delivery as well as the words. I'll search for something by him. Thanks for sharing your thoughts today. Seasolly Greetage!

Thank you Kenny. I agree it's much funnier hearing him,but I couldn't find a clip with good sound on YouTube but that maybe my age impaired hearing.I didn't know about the country restriction by the Beeb.I was surprised there were clips anyway so soon after the show. Seasolly Greetage to you as well.

Ahh.... the gift of language. (and the ability to totally mangle it) I used to also love two Two Ronnies when they's do a sketch with no 'e's in it and stuff like that.

It's funny though how you can read the above story and still understand it. It just goes to show how flexible the English language is :-)

Thank you Trevor.It is amazing how the story can still be clearly followed through the garble.The original intention was to post a Youtube video,but I couldn't find a good enough clear example.Then I realized the written version could easily be understood. I liked the 2 Ronnies cleverness with words too. One of my favourites was L.O.L.O.A.Q.I.C.I.8.2.Q.B.4.I.P. Answers on a £10 note !

I liked the run post that you published recently.Been meaning to comment, and compare the loneliness of running to the social atmosphere I enjoyed in a rambling group.But I've got so lazy, and keep putting things off - I say, 'I'll get around to it tomorrow', so much now I'm a candidate for a joke 'A Round Tuit'plate sold in novelty shops.

Thanks for that. Other runners do ultra marathons talk a lot about the community aspect of it and how social it is.

But I've always been a loner, so i actually prefer running alone.

Hows the healing from your blisters going?

Saw the doctor last week. Doesn't want to see me again unless there is an outbreak of blisters.The condition could be with me apparently lying dormant fora number of years.The NHS document said similar.Just got to make sure I maintain good general health.Thank you for inquiring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59