OUTSTANDING BENEFITS OF RICE YOU NEED TO KNOW

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Rice is one of my favourite dishes! 

Yes, I enjoy eating rice and I can confidently vouch that almost 85 percent of the world’s population is also on my bandwagon. I don’t know about you though, but if rice is part of your bread and butter, then you can equally support me on this note that rice dishes are so delectable and ever tempting to eat. 

Being one of the most consumed grains in the world, the burning question is what benefits can we derive from this nature's gift to us?

Another concern is that several studies are clamouring for the consumption of mainly brown rice but most people seems so reluctant to adhere to this clarion call. Despite the increasing awareness to consume more brown rice than its white counterpart, I still cannot get around with eating brown rice. I attribute this to the tastelessness of brown rice after being cooked and the longer duration it takes to be cooked. Well, I hope to improve one day but for now, let me just continue enjoying my assorted tasty rice dishes while they last.

Nevertheless, always bear it in mind that brown rice is more nutritious and highly medicinal than its white counterpart. So the decision is in your hands to choose the specific type of rice to include in your diet. With the aforementioned, let us now go through what this grain is all about as well as what our bodies stand to gain or lose from its consumption. 

Rice is an annual or perennial monocotyledonous plant that is botanically known as Oryza. It is the most popular cereal that is originally from Africa and Asia before spreading to other parts of the world. The main species are Oryza glaberrima (African species), Oryza sativa (Asian species) and wild rice (Australia species). 

 Nutritional Values of Rice
Rice is an excellent source of essential nutrients and vitamins such as carbohydrates, protein, iron, dietary fibre, potassium, zinc, manganese, calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, thiamine (B1), riboflavin (B2), niacin (B3), pantothenic acid (B5) and vitamin B6.

Rice bran is a rich constituent of linolenic acid, palmitic acid, stearic acid, tocotrienol, oleic acid, phytosterols, tocopherol and gamma oryzanol. It also contains anti-nutrients such as phytate, lipase and trypsin inhibitors.
Furthermore, Bhat and Riar (2015) reported that traditional cultivars of rice exhibit higher nutritive value than the hybrid rice cultivars. This is attributed to the fact that traditional cultivars contain a higher amount of oryzanol, which prevents the body from building up the cholesterol levels, unlike the hybrids. Rice is an essential source of energy and fuel for facilitating the body’s vital functionings. Interestingly, rice is gluten-free thus an excellent alternative for individuals suffering from celiac diseases.

14 Outstanding Benefits of Rice (Oryza)

Culinary Purposes
Rice is a popular staple food thus can be used for producing rice starch, rice flour, rice husks, rice vinegar, rice straw, rice bran, rice milk, rice paper, red yeast rice, rice soy milk, rice cakes (mochi), rice pudding and rice glue. Rice can be cooked plain and eaten together with stew, vegetables or sauces or it can be cooked as fried rice

 Rice can also be served as dessert when paired with sugar/milk or can be eaten together with dishes such as fish, soups, chicken, eggs and desserts. It can be stuffed or wrapped in grape leaves (dolma) and can also be used for preparing congee (rice porridge), beetroot fried rice, Italian risotto, shrimp rice, Spanish arròs negre or zongzi or zong (rice dumpling). Rice flour can be used for baking bread, noodles, cookies, cakes, snacks and croquant rice. 

 Medicinal Uses of Traditional Rice
According to Bhat and Riar (2015), traditional rice cultivars are used in Ayurveda for treating several types of diseases such as; skin blemishes, body inflammation, swellings, boils, wounds, voice hoarseness and hot body temperature.
Sticky glutinous rice is effective for treating indigestion, stomach upsets, heartburn and nausea. Brown rice extracts can be used for treating jaundice, warts, chronic gastritis, dysentery, malnutrition, stomach cancer and poor lactation. The extract can also be consumed as an energy drink.

Reduction of Cardiovascular Risk Factors
Kazemzadeh et al., (2014) compared the effects of white rice (WR) and brown rice (BR) on inflammatory marker high-sensitivity C-reactive protein (hs-CRP) and cardiovascular risk factors among non-menopausal overweight or obese female. In this randomized cross-over clinical trial, they randomly allocated 40 overweight or obese (body mass index (BMI) >25) women to group 1 (made up of 20 women). These women were treated with brown rice diet. Group 2 also consisted of 20 women that were treated with white rice diet for a period of 6 weeks (first intervention period).

At the end of the trial, the cardiovascular risk factors including body mass index (BMI), blood pressure, fasting blood glucose (FBG), waist and hip circumference, hs-CRP and serum lipid profiles were measured four times. The results showed that brown rice diet in comparison with white rice diet can significantly reduce weight, BMI, diastolic blood pressure, hs-CRP and waist and hip circumference. However, there were no significant differences recorded between the two diets as per the fasting blood glucose and lipid profiles. Therefore brown rice diet is recommended for reduction of inflammatory marker level and several cardiovascular risk factors especially among non-menopausal overweight or obese women. 

 Treatment of Skin Inflammation
According to Umadevi et al., (2012), rice can be blended into a poultice for external application on the skin. Rice flour can be dusted on the skin surface to initiate a cooling and soothing effect in cases of skin inflammation, rashes, smallpox, burns, measles, scalds and prickly heat. Rice powder reduces skin irritation, inflammation and heat thus should be thickly applied on any affected part of the skin for optimum results.

Reduces the Cholesterol Level
Most et al., (2005) examined the effects of defatted rice bran and rice bran oil in an average American diet on blood lipids in moderately hypercholesterolemic persons.
The results of the experiment showed that rice bran oil and not the fibre, reduces cholesterol level in healthy, moderately hypercholesterolemic adults.

Anti-diarrheal Properties
Messaï et al., (2014) evaluated the anti-diarrheal properties of rice water as an adjuvant treatment in experimental infection with Eimeria tenella. The results from the experiment showed that within the infected groups, only the experimental animals treated with rice water showed a better weight gain and quick recovery. These researchers recommended that if affected animals are treated with rice water and anticoccidial drugs, then the coccidial infestation can be stopped with further animal losses stopped. 

Sun Protection
Rice contains oryzanol that can act as a protective agent against ultraviolet light caused by lipid peroxidation. Rice is a powerful ingredient for producing sunscreen agent and it can offer protection against skin aging.

Beer Production
Brewer’s rice, which is made up of rice germ, rice bran and broken rice are mostly brewed for beer production.

Hair Treatment
The ferulic acid and its esters found in gamma oryzanol of rice are essential for stimulating hair growth. 

 If you enjoy this post, please RESTEEM, UPVOTE and FOLLOW  @GLOBALFOODBOOK for more health-related articles.  

Find out more remarkable benefits of rice and the references of this article here.

If you are a RICE LOVER, use the tag #RICEPEOPLE to identify yourself. We want to identify with fellow steemit rice lovers. The fun is happening via https://steemit.com/food/@globalfoodbook/please-identify-yourself-if-you-are-a-rice-lover

Sort:  

i have never know that rice could have that much benefit, but it is also said that it has a bad effect on diabetic person. most of indonesian will said that they have not had meal until they eat rice. even they alreadu eat bread or something else.😃

Rice is a super meal and I can't thrive without it. Yes, white rice is not recommended for diabetic patients due to its high glycemic index (G.I). However, brown rice can be consumed by diabetic patients but most people don't like it because it is tasteless.

Honestly, I don't think too much about rice though. It's my staple food. I don't love rice, nor do I dislike it. I just eat it everyday. But one thing is for sure, I can't survive without it. :D

Steem rice!!!!!!

Hey, Steem rice!!!! I like this new term 👍

Since you can't survive without rice, I put it to you that you are a rice lover 😁

Many thanks @dali.soh for joining our little community of #Ricepeople

Also lately (past 10-15 years) Asian cultures, mostly China noticed the increase in the occurrence of diabetes type 2 (DM II), so scientists inaccurately connected it to the rice. The thing is, Chinese people and Asian cultures in general, have been thriving on rice and carbohydrates with very little fat and animal products for centuries and with no diabetes on sight! The main reason of this change is westernization of the food, fast food and increased consumption of meat and other not-so-healthy foods with the rice.

I read in Uni that the population ow worms in rice paddies play a crucial role in a healthy crop. Another interesting fact is that rice has more genes than humans and is also more evolved (especially when it comes to higher cognitive functions lol) as in more apt for survival in a plethora of different environments.

Thank you for this article :) Lots of good info ;)

It is my pleasure to share and grow knowledge with others. Many thanks

I am flagging your posts, because you are spamming the network with harassments about following you:

Selection_999(209).png

Can you unflag my posts @noisy
Why would you mention that I am spamming others? Can you explain how welcoming new members and sharing my blog posts constitute a SPAM. I've spent my time to write articles and here you are saying that I am a spammer. Besides, there are several steemit members that are also welcoming new members.
Whatever you have done to flag all my posts, undo it.

Glad to have you on this amazing platform. I look forward to your posts.
I share yummy recipes and health-related articles, so feel free to follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for instant updates. Best regards.

you are pasting this over and over again. This is just a definition of spamming. Now you have to deal with consequences.

I don't believe my comments and posts are SPAM. How does the comments connect with flagging my blog posts. Are my blog posts SPAMS? I am a newbie on this platform and if you think that what I have done is a SPAM, I expected you to notify me first instead of blocking the articles that I have written at my time. I find this totally unfair and discouraging to continue contributing to the growth of steem.
Now that you have called my attention to this, I'll appreciate if you unblock my posts.

if you delete all your comments where you have SPAMed people, then I will remove flags.

I find this totally unfair and discouraging to continue contributing to the growth of steem.

people which spam others like you, do not help steem grow.

As far I am concerned, I am here for the growth of steemit. Besides, I have seen many old members welcoming new followers and soliciting for follow so I don't see what I have done wrong.
If it is now a crime to welcome new members, then I'll stop henceforth.

you should always be able to edit them at least.

I can equally invest my time wisely in publishing new articles on steemit thereby contributing to its growth.
Unflag my posts.

.nice post from you informative post ,i really like it .this is such a detailed post. If I can offer some advice? Its really great how much attention to detail is in here, but maybe trying to add some pictures or word emphasis sometimes. Other wise it can get boring and tiring to read such a long post. Good post anyways though!

Many thanks @rashidmaher for your kind words. I understand your point, but most people also expect detailed posts. I hope to emphasize more on pictures to make it less boring.

Rice converts to sugar. Keep that in mind.

Every cell in the body runs on sugar ;)

Great post! Thank you for sharing it! :) Literally made my day, since I looove love rice :D I could eat it every day ;)

Same here! I can eat rice everyday without getting fed up. Thanks again for your kind words.

Hahahah ricepeople we are! :D You`re most welcome ;)

#Ricepeople indeed! We can even initiate this tag for other rice lovers in the house.

Good idea! I am in! ;)

Awesome! I'll notify you once the post is up so we can see other members. Btw, I am following you now to keep connected. cheers

Tnx! I have already pressed that button "follow" next to your name ;) xo

Great round up of the benefits of rice. Rice water (water in which rice has been soaked in) is also great for the skin.

When I lived with my parents, the bathroom was in the kitchen, so I stored a jar of rice in the refrigerator and cleansed my face using just a cotton pad soaked in water a year or so, I used to clean my face with a cotton pad soaked in refrigerated rice water every morning and night instead of washing my face using a commercial facial wash.

Housing is much larger in Germany. I now live on the second floor and the refrigerator is in the kitchen in Level 1, so I haven't done it here due to laziness (oops)...

Many many thanks @foodie.warrior for your kind words!
I always enjoy the flavour you add in your comments/posts and you just got me on this interesting use of rice. I'm just happy to learn that rice water is a brilliant skin exfoliator.
Even now you are Germany, I urge you to get back on your feet and start using it as you used to. Do take care and don't allow laziness to interfere with your face cleansing 😄

aww @globalfoodbook, you sure know how to make a girl feel special :))

Yeah, I am thinking of doing that again! May write a post on it for the #ricepeople if I do. ;)

I gotcha! You are SPECIAL indeed my dear!

Wow, that is just so thoughtful of you to write a post on #ricepeople.
Please do my dear friend and we look forward to it.
Wishing you a blissful weekend ahead!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69