Future Food Episode 04 - The Importance Of a Diverse Diet. Implementing Multiple Brands Into The Future Foods 100% One Year Diet.

in #health8 years ago (edited)

It's my 7th week on 100% future foods. I started off with Joylent. They have a variety of products in different flavours. I changed to vegan version due to flatulence issues.
I was under the impression that I had to start using probiotics as well but after I switched to the vegan version the flatulence pretty much disappeared. I'm still
figuring out whether I should start using probiotics just to stimulate the gut becoming more healthy and strong. This article (shared in the comments of this post ) shows that there is a two-way connection between the gut and the brain.


Image credit

"There are studies showing that what we eat can alter the composition and
products of the gut flora — in particular, that people with high-vegetable, fiber-based diets have a different composition of their microbiota, or gut
environment, than people who eat the more typical Western diet that is high
in fat and carbohydrates," Mayer said. "Now we know that this has an effect
not only on the metabolism but also affects brain function."

Multiple Brand Implementation

I briefly mentioned it before but during the coming year I will try out different brands of meal replacement shakes such as Joylent, Huel and Jake Food. Since my main focus is on the social aspects of our current food culture I have no interest in figuring out the long-term effects of consuming one brand solely for the period of one year.
Quite the contrary. There are so many different brands at the moment that I'm really
curious about the differences between these brands. If we take packaging,
for example, there is a lot to say about the psychological effect packaging has on the choices we make on a daily base when it comes to our diet. And off course taste wise there is so much to discover. Besides these aspects, there is also a documentary dilemma that I'd like to tackle by using multiple brands during this project. I want to avoid the critique that my research into this type of food is labelled as a marketing stunt for one specific brand. With the current shifting borders between "real life
vlogging", "reportage" and "documentary" I want to be crystal clear about this. The brands that sponsor me their product are fully aware that I'm using the product of their competitors as well. I also explained that I will be honest with any review or comment that I make about their product.

Jake Food does not provide a detailed list of what their shake consists of. Surprising you might say because their competitors do provide this type of information. For those interested in the ingredients have a look. (Sort of)

Vanilla

At the time of writing this article, I'm one week into the Jake Food diet and I have to say that I was a bit sceptical about the fact that they only have a vanilla flavour. Yet somehow I don't seem to care that much. When I'm hungry I just think about the fuel my body needs. (Yes, I think of these shakes as fuel now, without it this car won't drive!) My stamina booster that I created with Joylent is now made by adding a double espresso into my breakfast or lunch shake. The coffee flavour works surprisingly well with the vanilla taste!

Oh Snap...

Today I had my first encounter with bad breath... My girlfriend mentioned it, at first I thought she was teasing me. But she was dead serious! She said that it's not that bad, but this is one of my biggest fears towards this project. I never had bad breath. If this will get worse I might have to consider chewing gum although that does not tackle the issue, it only hides it.


Keeping this blog up to date takes quite some time. It is my intention to keep up the weekly posts and also provide a little more in-depth
information about the project. So far this whole experience is new to me. I never made vlogs nor blog posts about my own life.
I'm very curious what you guys want to know about my project.
Questions, suggestions or feedback are more than welcome!

Follow @futurefood

Sort:  

Your welcome! good to hear from you again :D

Pretty cool! Keep us updated as the weeks progress!

Most definitely! 45 weeks to go :)

Looks really thick...

Yes, it's much more thick and also smooth then Joylent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50