Is SALT healthy? Episode #2 [DTube]

in #health6 years ago (edited)


It's generally recommended to minimize the intake of salt. A high intake of salt is shown to cause a higher risk of health problems. Is salt healthy? What is the optimal dosage of salt? None?

“Salt is not a food, even in small amounts. …Stop putting acidic dirt into your body
The more salt we consume, the more we destroy and deteriorate our cells.”
— Dr. Timothy Trader, NMD, PhD

In this video, I'd like to share some information that I've found, I'm not claiming this is all true. However, some of it is confirming my own personal experiences while experimenting with salt. I would like to share more of my own experience on a no-salt diet in one of my next videos.

I'm not an expert and is only sharing information that I've found. I think as a conclusion it's safe to say that too much salt is unhealthy for human beings. What are your opinions on salt? Have you ever tried quitting salt completely? What do you think about the video and the claims in it?

Would love to hear your thoughts, see you next time!

References:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/3370141.stm
http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/42716/1/9241546123.pdf
https://www.realrawnutrition.com/2014/01/are-you-a-salt-aholic/

Royalty free pictures from www.pxhere.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Try watering a plant with salty water and see what happens, that's what you're basically doing to the body by eating salt.

I love my plants, so I don't really know what happens - but I assume they quickly die?

Yeah, it's poison for plants. The Romans famously sowed salt into the fields around Carthage when the destroyed the city so that nothing could ever grow there again.

Salt water takes fresh water away from living cells through osmosis. It's like drinking sea water, it will only make you die faster, because it dehydrates you and takes fresh water away from your cells and vital organs.

Many kinds of cook vegetable would taste bad without salt!? How to solve this problem?

Stop eating them ;) I mean it takes some time to get used to it and everything, but I usually enjoy pumpkin a lot, and sweet potatoes and maybe also regular potato without salt. Some people like to add some lime or lemon to make it taste "edgy" - you could also try with different spices. I prefer eating them as they are, the more simple the vegetables are being eaten the less I feel a need for adding salt. I really recommend you to try and just steam or cook a whole pumpkin and eat it as it is. Taste great without salt, and is also a fruit ;)

Good point. Asian eating a salt diet. Indian eating a dairy diet. American eating a meat diet. Fruitarian diet is the healthiest.

Nice post, everything I cook myself is without salt, I try avoiding it as much as possible, but sometimes... hehe ^^

its logical;

Stop the fear mongering. Salt is necessary for the body and is healthy. Overconsumption is bad but that goes for any food.

Why are you so certain that it is healthy? Have you tried living without it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52