I'm having surgery tomorrow morning

in #health8 years ago

Three weeks ago, I woke up to my left side hurting. I took a hot shower to try to make myself feel better, but the pain starting getting worse. My mom drove me to the local hospital and by then the pain was unbearable.

I was hoping it was a kidney stone and not something more serious. I had them twice before, once when I was starting college and once about eight years ago. After spending a long day in the hospital, they would give you pain killers and then I would be sent home to pass it on my own.

It turned out to be a kidney stone, but it wasn't exactly the news I was hoping for.

I didn't have one kidney stone-I had six, two big ones and four small ones in my left kidney.

The urologist said the urine was being blocked and I was at risk of infection. I had to have a stent put in that night.

The surgery to put in the stent went well. But I still got an infection with a fever, so instead of going home the next day, I spent a few more days in the hospital. At one point due to a high fever, I had to have icepacks placed on me and oxygen through the nose.

When I was released they told me to call the urologist the next day to schedule the rest of the treatment and that it should probably be done within a week. While the hospital accepts United Healthcare, the urologist who did my surgery does not, so I had to find a new one. I went to my regular doctor and she gave me a referral to one located in Baltimore City who takes my insurance. Since I was a new patient of his, I had to wait another two weeks.

Finally the day of my appointment came. I brought my medical records, but he wanted a new scan. Downstairs they didn't take my insurance, so I had to go to another place 15 min away. Luckily, the results came fast, one of the assistants left a voice mail Monday and I was able to get in touch with her Tuesday (she wasn't picking up the phone Monday) to schedule an appointment for 10 am Thursday. He's removing the kidney stones and I have to ask tomorrow, but I believe he's removing the stent also.

So now I wait. Feeling pretty anxious. After midnight tonight, no more food or drink. I've been carrying these kidney stones for three weeks, can't wait to get rid of them. While I don't have severe pain anymore, it is sometimes painful when I move.

Hoping all goes well tomorrow.

Sort:  

good luck. i wish you well. if you know what kind they are there are dietary changes that can limit or eliminate these in the future.

Thanks, the surgery went well. Yeah, they're going to look into what kind of stones they were, so hopefully this does not happen again.

excellent! please heal quickly.

Congratulations @freestategirl! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @freestategirl! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @freestategirl! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44