WHAT WE SHOULD BE TELLING OUR (GRAND)/PARENTS AND GOVERNMENT DOES NOT WANT YOU TO KNOWsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

#FACT: Pharmacy is one of the biggest markets in the world and as far as I can tell you, usually owned by people who probably have their own agenda, turning a lot of money, but still a lot of people out there don't know the real why they should be living and improving their healthy lifestyle...

As a physiotherapist student, I was able to see on my own, how does life in a retirement home look like. Believe me, it's totally different point of view as an insider than a visitor. It is fascinating how fast a person with a status, home and family can become just a number, waiting in a chair or bed for a meal, a shower or somebody come to visit him. They actually made a study on what people usually do in a retirement home? Horrifying answer is: WAITING

I made myself a promise to do everything in my power to educate and encourage my grandparents and parents to start doing something about it because I do not want to see them there, or at least I will do my best to move away that day as far as possible. Are you asking if it is hard? Well, with all of my daily activities and troubles, yes it is hard to keep up with this too, not to mention, that they already hate me, because I am like "Grandma, I know you are not hungry and too lazy to workout, but some stretching and a few squats, turkey and vegetables, will really help your body to fight against your muscle mass daying and improve your bone density to fight osteoporosis. And it will be much more efficient that those 10000 colourfull pills on your table. So, let's do it". And after some time and arguing over and over again she admits I had right and started incorporating new habits into her daily routine. But hey, that's just me, maybe you will figure out better system, so finger cross ;)

So here is what I wanted to talk about...
When it comes to getting older and whenever I try to explain to people where actually the problem is, I like to use healthy human logic. It goes like this. Our body is being renewed all the time. Every 2 years all your cells, tissues and elements in your bones are changed. But in order to do so, our body needs an appropriate thing(s) to do all of these high-volume body changes ( what are the things that our body needs is a complex answer, so let's leave this one for another time). Fact is that with aging our body slows down in terms of regeneration, reconstruction and healing and that's the reason why we need to pay more attention to these things. But a lot of people don't. Our body is incredible magic machine and it takes a lot. But if we are not doing something for it, like eating the right food, exercise, sleep and rest (yes, it's that simple!) how can we expect to work on 100% through our whole life? How can we expect to have a nice old life?

That is why a lot of problems and pain come after our 35s, 40s and 50s, beacuse our body was not build to live so long and it simply can't take it anymore. Now you start to seing your doctor, who sends you to different tests and hey, you have been diagnosed with diabetes, high blood pressure, osteoporosis... I am sure you've heard of all this troubles and procedure that follow goes like this: they give you a bunch of pills, briefly mention to improve your lifestyle and tell you that it's happening a lot, it's normal for this age and that it's not a big deal. From now on you are going to see your doctor from time to time and if it gets worst they will just increase the amount of medications and welcome to their game.

MY DEAR STEEMIANS LET'S CLEAR SOMETHING. With all of knowledge that we have, it should not be normal, it should not happen every day and it is a big deal. Now, I am not saying to stop consuming prescribed medications and stop visiting doctors. Of course not!!! God bless all the medical staff that are helping us and saving our lives. I am just saying that we can do a lot with the right nutrition and healthy lifestyle to prevent or to help ourselves to get well.

And now, let us get back to my fact that sadly true is, that somebody is making a big money from our »not knowing position«. Just imagine how many disease or pain that bothered you, you could avoid because of the right information. Nobody is teaching us what to eat, how to handle anxiety and stressful everyday... nobody really educate us about importance of 8hours sleep. It's scientifically proven that our body needs this amount of sleep to reset all of thoughts from the day before and to get ready for a new day and another bunch of things. And if we just stick with this example, if you do not sleep 8h per day, your body is not recovering and it is in deficit of energy for both, mental and physical processes. Suddenly you start to be sleepy through the day, you have a low level of energy, suddenly your immune system which is taking care of your health, broke down and here we are, where we are today. And this came just from living day-to-day in sleep deficit. Now add daily consumption of bad food, no exercise, no fresh air ...

So I turn to you, to encourage you, to take a lead in your family, social circle and for beginning just try to see the patterns, try to see where you can improve your or your grand/parents lifestyle, because us people, we are usually lazy as hell, to do something about it, but just as my grandma, she saw that I care, and that made her thinking about her problem and ignorance attitude and I can proudly say, that she made some steps forward, sometimes she even send me a picture working out with a band that I bought her for Christmas.

The fact is that elderly people need and in my opinion deserve better help and more attention when it comes down to their quality of life. There's been an article with results that 80%, of elderly population are malnourished. Of course they will not have the energy to go out for a walk, of course they will not want to go to take a cup of coffe in the bar, because they have no source of energy. Of course, they will get osteoporosis and fall and break their bones, because their body does not have enough nutrients to build bone mass and muscles to prevent the loss of stability...

I know that we cannot save everybody, or swing with a magical stick and expect that suddenly everybody will live a healthy lifestyle. But I really wanted to share these thoughts with you guys and encourage us all to give back to those people. We are not helpless. In fact, with today's knowledge and technology, you are holding some big game-changing cards in your hands! So use them, to help people around you.

It's the will, not (so much) the skill.

Stay Fit :)

Sort:  

Very insightful. And it really puts a spotlight on just what we are all avoiding when we don't want to go to the nursing home to visit our family there. Nor when we don't help them stay out.

Thank you @draz. I just think it's still some kind of tabu, but it should not be because it's normal to get old. But it is sad, that we only start to care when it's too late... So many situations and peoples lives could be saved by healthy lifestyle that we have to stop just overlooking it. It's just too important.

Hi. I am @greetbot - a bot that uses AI to look for newbies who write good content!
Your post was approved by me. As reward it will be resteemed by a resteeming service.
greetbot's stamp of approval

@greetbot evaluated your post's quality score as [54.74] points!
Good Job!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @greetbot
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

My parents spent their last few years together in a nursing home. We were fortunate that they had a semi decent staff. Many turned out for my parents memorial services because they were so popular. . However, my dad passed before my mom, and i feel she was marginalized as they squooshed her into a corner of a room basically. My mom was so passive that she never said anything. I was trying to arrange it for her to come live with me but she passed, almost a year to the day from when my dad passed, before i could make arrangements. I do believe she died heartbroken do to my dad's passing. They were married 62 years. It breaks my heart those last few years of my parents. They had each other but they just wanted to go home too. Loss of independence is hard. I know they are happy and at peace now tho

Dear @luanne, it's a touching story... I cannot imagine myself in the situation like yours. Those times are sure the hardest times in our lives but losing somebody after 62 years it's horrible.As we are a social species, the connection between partners, family or community can be tuff when it comes down to loss. But time is not gracious to anybody, that is why we need to educate and don't be afraid or ashamed to talk about these things because it is happening all the time. Maybe not right now, but eventually, we will all be in the same situation.

Exactly!! That is what so many, me included, in the disabilities movement keep telling ppl! Ppl with disabilities is the largest growing population in the states! We all get old! We all wind up becoming a part of that population. Unfortunately, it's hard to many to listen. They don't until they become a part of that population which in many ways is too late

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55