26 Day Detox: remind me why I do this?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago

I have done a lot of things to my body.  bad, bad things.

Over the years, I've gotten very convicted of the various, delicious poisons to which I've willingly succumbed. In the past, I would repeatedly decide to turn over a new leaf and live the whole foods way and never look back.

Regrettably, one month later, I was back to serving myself the breakfast of champions:  a bowl of chester's hot fries and diet dr. pepper.

I have trouble with balance.

As many bad, bad things that I've done to my body... I've also had my share of good, bad things. Meaning: things that were intended to be good, but because I abused the practice so badly, it wasn't doing me any favors.

 

                                        

Source

(ummmm, never take 20 vitamins a day.)

It's been a long journey, and I'd like to think that I've made some progress.  For various reasons, it's been necessary for me to do research for 10+ years on nutrition, functional medicine, gluten and gut permeability, GMOs, probiotics, prebiotics, the microbiome, lacto-fermentation, inflammation, the gut-brain connection, oh – I'm sure I could go on, but you get the picture.

For a good portion of this process, I was a reluctant participant. (For alternate meanings to reluctant see: angry, judgmental, sarcastic, skeptical, bitter, and all-around wench)

But the hubby was patient – and continued to share the newest info with me.  Though I had difficulty embracing the lifestyle in the beginning, I had to admit that everything we were implementing was working.  Really working.  It wasn't overly challenging to adopt when I was cooking at home, but walking through the supermarket wasn't super pleasant.  I was surrounded by a plethora of poisonous pleasures, and it made me angry again.  Angry that I couldn't eat it, angry that I still craved it, angry that foods were intentionally designed with the purpose of addicting me.... just angry.

                                                        

Source

A recovering alcoholic shouldn't ever step foot into a bar – but how was I supposed to avoid the supermarket?  I felt like the system was set up for the consumer to fail.  (Of course it was – and still is.)  But instead of feeling like I had the power to choose wisely, I always felt a guilty longing to pick my poison.

I still have so much to learn.  However, the reason for this post is that I'd like to share one of the most recent experiences on my journey:  

THE DETOX

I received an invitation for attending a free master class about the importance of detoxing.  I fully realized that nothing in this world is free, and knew that after listening to the series, I would most likely be offered a special “one-time deal” to purchase whatever it was they were selling.  I had no problem listening to the info, and then turning up my nose at the deal.  I really only wanted the info.  I didn't want another practice that I was going to need to implement.

The only problem was – every thing she explained about the detox made sense.  Gahhhhhhhhh. 

For those that don't know – a detox is basically a designated time to shield your body from the onslaught of environmental, nutritional, and even psychological attacks that are our everyday norm.  During that time, you will most likely be eating specific foods and eliminating specific categories of foods in order to give your body the best chance to flush itself of any build-up of toxins.

Most critics of this practice will say “But the body doesn't need any help.  It's designed to have many systems in place that already handle all these toxins!”  They are correct.  The body is designed to do this!  However, we live in a time where we are being exposed to an alarmingly increasing amount of toxins.  Not just in the water, or the air, or the ground – but in every thing we eat.  Add in the amount of stress, the lack of sleep, and the level of “go-go-go!” we expose ourselves to willingly.  We were not designed to handle all of that, and frankly- we can't keep up with the necessary rest and repair that we need. 

The particular detox that we use is a 26 day detox.  (I'm sure you can google 26 day detox and it will probably only bring up one.  That's the one. Hahaha)  It's designed to “change the oil every 3,000 miles” in your body as it assists your own natural ability to flush toxins.  In this way, you're hoping to be in a better position to withstand the onslaught of attacks in between detoxes. 

                                                           

(Source - my house!)

We signed up for the lifetime membership which comes with a bunch of goodies. In my opinion, the most valuable part of the program (outside of the manual itself!) was access to the online support group for every recurring 26-day detox we choose to join in the future.  I cannot even express the amount of laughter that I enjoyed in that group forum – not to mention support, mutual grumbling, tweaks and tips, and flat-out warnings from the "veterans" of what was to come.   

We just completed our second detox with this particular program, and plan on doing it all over again in 6 more months.  As good and as necessary as it all was, to be blunt:  BLAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.  yes it feels good. but i want chester's hot fries!!!!

I decided to compile a bunch of funny text conversations between me and the hubs, or between me and various members of the group.  I deal with difficult situations by confronting them with as much laughter as I can. As a gift for my detox tribe, I turned these snippets of texts (either real – or inspired by real situations) into a funny/encouraging journal for them to use for our next detox in 6 months.

If you've ever thought about doing a detox, feel free to use this 26 day journal to peek into some of the daily struggles of a detoxer.  It's not comprehensive, but it will give you some of the highlights! (Disclaimer: This is NOT the detox program, and in no way, is this meant to replace the actual detox program! It is also not medical advice!!  Please do not treat it as such.  Only do a detox after researching which one is best for you and consult your physician before proceeding with any detox program!!!)  It's only meant to be funny and hopefully entertaining observations about my OWN experience on the 26 day detox program.   I tried my best to balance humor (and whining) with encouragement (and cracking the whip).  If you don't get some of the jokes … or if you just have questions... I love comments!  Ask away!  

(you might want to private message me any of the more personal questions. hahaha  If so – feel free to DM me on discord.  I use the same name as my steemit account!) 

Also.... if you REALLY want a print version of this journal and you're REALLY gonna do a detox.... I have a few I can give out for free.  Send me your address in discord and I'll ship one to you!  Shipping in the US is less than $5, so I'll cover it for you.  If you're outside of the US and shipping is more than $5 – then maybe you can kick in some steem to offset it?  ;)  

I'll post Day 1's comic tomorrow and submit a new one each day until the 26 days are over!  :)  

Sort:  

what the heck?

detox your mind women! don't spongebob it!

nice humor-ques/health-experimentation/alcohol-diffusion write up

how else am i supposed to soak up all the excess toxins????? with a sponnnnnnge(bob)

and i'm glad that you're acknowledging my femininininity now. hehehee

more like a stern slap on your mental derriere than an acknowledgement but hey po-tay-toe po-taa-toe right?

Heyyyyy "potayto potahto" is coming up in one of the comics!!!!!

Did you peek? Did you buy my book??? Have you been in my house????????? Is this real life??????????????????????

No more ?
Ever.

ok following you now....and yeah, i promise not to take 20 omega oil....i'll probably defecate sardines if i did anyways

well.... mine had some kind of citrus oil in them.... so my poops was lemon fresh.

TMI???? if THAT was TMI.... don't bother reading the comics for 26 days. LOLOLOLOL

err....whats TMI? i also don't know the limits of my mental consumption.....then again any excess Steemit reading often just pours out of the left ear so no permanent harm done...except when my curry in the kitchen is getting cold because of too many replies to answer back too

Cold curry is just as delicious.

I await more comments. I crave. I need.

LOLOL i just found this old post... and i died laughing at "defecating sardines" hahahahahaha

i hope you're doing well @dj123 :)

greetings @dreemsteem, you're a rare kind who enjoying old post and shit (literally in print i mean)

i'm ok, my old pup died, loss in the family.....life smacks pretty hard these days, how are you doing?

Oh I'm sorry to hear that!

Yeah I was posting this for the challenge recently... Lol so I came back here..

Life can smack pretty hard... Really sorry about your pup

Posted using Partiko Android

I did a 30-day detox several years ago and I would recommend one for most people. I felt like a million dollars after about day three and beyond awesome for a very long time.

I would say it is almost time for another! Bottoms up! Tip!

Oh i totally agree! Most of my whining is true... because there were difficult parts hahaha but what was also true is that detoxing is amazing for the body! it just spins like a top afterwards! :)
we are due for our next one in the summer :) Just trying to line up when most of my detox tribe will be there (cuz that's when its the MOST fun) hehehe (bottoms up is hilarious! and what is this tip thing?? LOL)

My voting power is lower than normal so I send SBD to @tipu and they will tip someone when I say the word on a comment. Many times I give both, but, it is a handy little tool as I run the #MarketFriday challenge and run out of voting power eventually. :)

that's so cool!!! i always run out of voting power cuz i LOVE upvoting and encouraging people (i'm currently at 13.29% wahhhhhhhh) it takes so long to get my voting power back up and i keep saying that i'm not going to vote (but you see i just upvoted your comment hahahaha so.... i'm very unsuccessful at refraining from upvoting LOL) is there a link where i can see how to use @tipu?
i went to their steemit page but i was still confused. LOL i'm a step 1 - 10 kind of girl ;)

Hi @dreemsteem! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tonight. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

I am at 27% and I have the challenge tomorrow. I upvote their link on my page and their page and tip them on both. Not only do I love upvoting, but, I have become a tipoholic. Is there help for us?

Okay. Here it is:

  1. Open your wallet
  2. Carrot down on SD - hit Transfer
  3. Write tipu
    4 Write amount you want to send I usually send them a couple dollars or a bit more so I can keep tipping for a while
  4. Hit enter
    6.That is it.
  5. The transfer will show up in your history
  6. When you want to tip, anywhere in the body of your comment write tip! and it will send you one. You will now get another. :)

awesome! I will try this hehehe

Hi @dreemsteem! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.03 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tonight. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

OKAY, need to do this...

😄😇😄

@creatr

I shall support you in every way, my good man! except by letting you use my name in nefarious posting conversations where I embarrass myself. i am the only one allowed to embarrass myself! hahahahahah

Congratulations @dreemsteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I have never tried detox. I have fasted from time to time. I probably should at least try fasting again. I did feel like I got some benefit from it.

Fasting and detoxing are similar in that they both give a well-needed rest to certain functions of the body so that it can turn more of its attention to healing and repair! I do think there is a place for both! :) Detoxing just takes it to the next step :)
It's difficult, but what I've consistently heard from so many people is that it was worth it. (again - please don't do any detox program without carefully researching it and/or talking about it with your doctor. each person may have some significant health concerns where detoxing may bring about too much stress on the body if it's in a fragile state.) Every BODY is different :) Just because one person can stretch their body into a Russian split, doesn't mean we all can (or should) right? In time, we can train ourselves to do many things.... but TIME is key. Patience is key. and listening to what our body is telling us - how far we can push it, stretch it, etc... is very key :)

Thanks for the interaction @coldsteem. Still craving a sip of that brew hahahahahaha :)

Yup, I've been learning all those same things you mentioned. As for detoxes, my detox of choice is a water fast. I can do about 3.5 days of just water, followed by one day of just broth. I did one at the start of the year, and then added foods back in one at a time, to see what I reacted to. Maybe that's too short to be a detox, more of a digestive system rest, maybe.

I've also done water fasts... and they are wonderful for a quick rest! But to really get into the liver/ gallbladder/ kidney/ flush the dirty "water" out of the cells... and more! (hehehe but you can check out the comics to get a better idea of all that if you want LOL) you really should do a longer detox :) I do make my own bone broth too (holy deliciousness) get my bones from Australia where they are grass fed! (I'm sure you know to NEVER use anything but bones from grass fed cows or else you're concentrating all the toxins!!!)
side note... I went to the butcher to pick up the bones that I ordered. He was SHOCKED. He said he never knew there was such a difference! When they were packaging my bones into bags for me - he said they smelled clean. He was used to smelling the rancidness of the bones of cows in CAFOs . He said they normally smell disgusting. (ughhhhhhh. and this is much of the meat that is sold!!!)
Imagine that!!! a BUTCHER didn't know that before my bones arrived. LOL

and last thing - i also did a 20 day juice fast. it was good... but i still prefer the detox :) if you do have any questions - please feel free to comment or we can even chat in discord and swap stories!!! :)

and if you DO stick around for the comics... hehehe i hope you LAUGH :)

Oh I definitely want to check out the comics!

No CAFOs in NZ ... yet... so we eat all grass fed meat, dairy, eggs and as much organic as we can. And hardly ever eat sugar or processed foods.

But even then, our envorinments are so toxic these days, that there will be stuff going in that we don't want!

As soon as I hit "post" on this reply... I'm packing my bags and moving to New Zealand hehehehe

This is awesome. Wow! I love this. Bring it on .

DAY ONE... tomorrow ;)
well - i just finished the detox. hahaha but my observations of it will begin tomorrow LOL

I am trying to eat a more balanced and healthy diet but a detox is most likely something I should research and do

well that's a great start!!! and depending on how hard core you are - you might want to start with a mini detox and see how bad your Herxheimer reactions are! (that's basically how bad your withdrawal is)

the problem with detoxing is.... the first three days (maybe up to 5 for some people - depending on how toxic you are) are AWFULLLLLLLL. some people get sick. some people have headaches. some people lose all their energy. but once you push past that.... you FEEL incredible. (you probably will still have cravings - but it's mostly psychological)

all detoxes are different... but if you stick around... you'll see mine was kinda hardcore. LOLOL tomorrow's comic is kinda... WELL I GUESS YOU'RE GONNA COME OUT WITH BOTH GUNS BLAZING. lol i'm almost second guessing my decision to share these things hahahahahahaha
ALMOST.

LOL I can say I wont come out with guns blazing each to their own

I will have a tough time with a detox as since my last couple of procedures I hae slacked off on my diet but your post yesterday motivated me to get back into it so let’s hope today goes well, I am going to go slowly slowly better eating first for a week or two and then consider a detox

and that's all that's important! :) that you're moving a little bit closer to your goal each day -right? :) I'm SURE today will go well for you. You'll have disappointments and setbacks - but also victories! Don't let the small failures stop you. Just realize that they're just opportunities to learn something new and apply it the next day. more easily said than done... i realize this. hahahaha i struggle with my failures desperately! but i eventually do start to come around and find that i'm stronger, despite my consistent ability to trip and eat dirt - 3 yards away from the finish line. hahahahaha I'm following you now - because I need to keep track of your journey. maybe we will end up encouraging one another :)

Well I will see what I can do, I am getting on a bit in age so I need to start being more sensible :)

now's the time! :) and you have no idea how ahead of the curve you are with an attitude like that!!!! so many people have the OPPOSITE attitude. "oh... well i've lived this long doing these things - i might as well just keep doing it." aghhhhh. noooooo! LOL it's never too late to start making wise choices!!! :) i applaud your determination! (and your profile pic still looks pretty young to me hahaha)

LOL the profile photo is from a few years back I so seldom ever let myself be seen in front of the camera that I do not have more recent ones LOL

well... you are in good company :) I like being anonymous here. so no recent pics (or any at all??) of me either! hhahah i prefer to let people be influenced by my words! :) or not. hahaha

I understand your anger towards foods you cant eat but it seems you are doing ok, positive and with the sense of humor :)
Good luck with the detox, I hope it helps :)

thanks @zen-art!!!! I already finished the 26 day detox a few days ago... but what I'll be posting are the observations (and pieces of funny discussions) that I had throughout it. so I've already had victory!!! hehehehe i really do try to stay positive!!! :) and encouraging! (but then there are days when i'm whiningggggg. so i have to find something funny to get me out of my funky mood) hehehe

I was thinking "good luck with the results" when I wrote good luck with the detox but I see you do not need luck and are doing amazingly well :) Keep up the good job.

thank you so much!!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97