Reduce MUSCLE SORENESS after a work out

in #health7 years ago

Happy Wednesday!

You know you've felt it before, let's talk about how to reduce muscle soreness

Remember!

Just because you're more sore doesn't mean you had the best workout. This can be confusing, but it is true. Sometimes too much soreness can be a negative thing.

Here are four well-studied ways to help control soreness and ensure you can continue making positive progress!

COFFEE

Research has shown caffeine to reduce muscle soreness. Some studies look at the effect of delayed soreness when caffeine is taken before a workout, whereas others have looked at how caffeine can help sore muscles feel better. Either way, coffee.

PLAN

Plan! A well planned, progressive, and consistent workout program is important. This means making incremental changes week to week. If you’re jumping from one workout to the next every week, you will constantly be sore. Trust the process, stick to the plan, and you'll see your body truly adapt and change.

EAT

Ingesting sufficient protein and carbohydrates in a 2-3 hour time window either before, during, or after our workout can help to improve recovery and control soreness. Your body needs fuel, and who doesn’t love eating?

MOVE

Move! Staying active can help reduce soreness and discomfort. Go for walk, get in a recovery workout, or work on a little mobility. Don’t be afraid to get back in the gym and break a sweat. You’ll feel better leaving than you did walking in.

This is just the beginning, we'll dive into more detailed topics soon!

Happy DOMS and keep moving!

Dr.Ann

Sort:  

If caffeine works then pre-workout should be effective as well because that stuff gets you wired. But as far as pathophys works; I believe it constricts blood cells and accelerates your heart rate in the same way by triggering your adrenal glands. I am not recommending this... just saying.

The problem with pre-workout is that they contain much more than caffeine. Each pre-workout has a different chemical profile and often times they're "proprietary" blends. Coffee/tea, more straight forward.

But, I know companies are starting to produce completely open ingredient list pre-workouts so, we'll have to review and see their makeup.

As I read this I was feeling the soreness in my shoulders from doing this trampoline work out class, everything was great until we did some crunches and I noticed I got me technique wrong and was pulling my head down and straining my shoulders . Otherwise work out was all good im in pretty good shape as I skateboard,cycle and play drums in my spare time. Thanks for the tips Doc.

Good job to notice your form flaw so you didn't cause any lasting straining! Definitely, focus on using your core to pull you up. Keep up all the activity, that's wonderful.

Oh and remember to EAT(healthy)! :D

My technique for any work out is to try feel the muscles working , seems rudimentary but alot of people just going into it blind. If I am doing an excercise I want to know what muscles it works and feel them working. My only problem is sometimes I do total body workout class once a week but after a few weeks doing this consecutively I dont feel sore or that I have worked out. My main goal her is to be fit and lean not bulk up . Also I like a few beers so balancing it with some excercise helps , I'm not excercise saint just do my bit to not get fat hehe

No, that's good. Often I'll see people are doing an exercise they think is targeting certain muscles, but they aren't doing it correctly and getting what they truly want from it.

Overall what matters most is that what you're doing is making you feel good, mentally and physically.

Like anything, our bodies are fantastic at adapting to stress. You won't feel sore after a few weeks because you've adapted to the stress of the type of work out you're doing. If you modify it, or do a different class, that soreness will come back :)

Fit and lean is good, you just adjust your diet to that type of body type, and continue doing what you're doing!

Thank you Doctor

Congratulations @dpt-darkfox12! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Can coffee be optional? I'm acidic that's why I don't take coffee anymore.

Absolutely, these are only options, they don't all have to be used for it to be effective. You could replace it with black tea to get some benefits.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90