Science on Food

in #health6 years ago

science on food.jpg


To start my 100 Days Off Challege, I will break down my diet plan during this period which I aim to make into an habbit for the rest of my life.

Science and facts are what I am looking at when seaching for the best possible action I can take when it comes down to what I put into my body. I put all my personal preferences aside and try to submit myself almost completely to what is known about food up to this point in time. One of the difficulties in this regard is that it's not all 100% black and white as everybody person is different and there is a lot of confusion mostly spread by the food industry. This tend to give people an easy way out to choose closer to what they emotionally desire instead of what they actually should be eating more.

What Does Science Say ?

One of the few thing everyone agrees upon is that Fruits and Vegetables are good for you ! Studies have shown the Whole Food Plant-based Diet to be one of the most healthy options you can choose from and I have experiened this myself. This is very similar to a vegan diet but also cuts all the processed food and refined sugars not allowing any unhealthy "vegan junk food".

My 100 Day Diet Plan...


This is roughly the plan I intend to follow. It's really hard to cut out everything that is slightly processed and has a tiny bit of refined sugar into it in modern day society, but I will do what I can and will be taking some supplements aswel.

Yes

  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Nuts
  • Seeds
  • Oat
  • Buckwheat
  • Water
  • Tea
  • Oat Milk
  • Supplements
    B12
    D3
    Omega 3

No

  • Meat & Fish
    (No Anmimal Products)
  • Dairy Products
    (Milk, Eggs, Yoghurt, ...)
  • Refined Grains / Gluten
    (Bread, Pasta, ...)
  • Fried Food
    (French Fries, Patato Chips...)
  • Refined Sugars
    (Soda, candy, cookies, ...)
  • Alchohol
    (beer, wine, ...)
  • Processed Food
  • ...

3 Years back this way of eating for 100 days would seem impossible and pure torture. Only after understanding how it all works I actually managed to more and more switch over and make it into a lifestyle which does not feel like having to give up on anyting anymore. The next 100 days, I hope to grow my love for the whole food plant-based diet and completely say goodbye to my old way of eating.


One of the websites that really helped me a lot to learn more about scientific research on food is Nutritionfacts.org. I got convinced to try out the Plant-based Diet after watching a yearly senimar on the subject on their Youtube channel which I included below.



I will be making more posts on the psychology behind how to adopt a more healthy diet and will be sharing some of the food I regulary make for myself during the next 100 Days.

Sort:  

Good luck man, that will probably not be easy ! I have always been doubtfull about avoiding completely animals products. I am still convinced that when you dose the quantity, it still brings you a lot of positive.

Anyway, good luck and looking forward to seeing your outcomes after trying !

Thanks, I just try to go with the science and leave most of my personal preferences completely aside. I had the hardest time with food for many many years (I lacked control, but never was obese) and tried everything to fix it without much success. Understanding how the brain works and how you can change it in core really helped me overcome my bad eating habbits. It's actually quite easy now and one of the goals for these 100 days is to really get in in there strong so it becomes fully automatic.

I think you'll manage just fine.

From my experience, even though I'm a heavy meat eater, during the summer I kinda lose the appetite for it and prefer to eat mainly vegetables and fruits. Perhaps, your experience is similar.

Since you're doing a challenge, an experiment of sorts, and the 100 days is a long enough period for diet to show its benefits, it wouldn't be bad to do some blood tests at the start and the end of that period. That way you'll have the numbers on what the diet you've chosen is doing for you.

Good luck!

I plan to take my blood for sure at the end of the 100 days. I know it would be interesting to have a before and after but I'm too much of a pussy and really don't like needles.

I actually also still love to eat meat, it's my favorite. The conflict is too big though and It's actually not that difficult to leave it. I always knew that I wanted to turn vegetarian one day but didn't think I could do it. I once did 30 days without meat a couple years back which made me experience the difference and made it a no brainer to give it up.

I also should make a diet, not much time to get in shape for summer :)

Good luck!💪

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.2$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53