My ongoing changes for healthy eating habits

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Lately I'v been changing my eating habits for a healthier life, so I've been reading ALOT about good/ bad foods and how to change daily habits in order to maintain these eating changes. Since the food we eat can affect our health and risk of certain diseases, a healthy diet is good for our overall health. A strong and healthy body translates to a fuller, happier life. To eat healthier, we may need to change some of our daily habits. Its does not have to be all at once nor does it have to be a huge change. It's best to set small goals and make small lifestyle changes that will keep going for the long run. These small changes can make a big difference over time.

Eating right means being more conscious about the type of food we eat.

A few ways to make healthy changes in eating habits:

  • Keep more fruits , vegetables, and whole-grain foods at home and at work (I place small bowls of fruits around the house since then my kids have started eating much more fruit and actually have stopped asking for other sweet snacks).
  • Try to eat a family meal every day around the table. This helps focus on eating healthy meals and you control the portions.
  • Pack a healthy lunch and snack for work to have control over what you eat. ( the days when I didn't pack food for work I ended eating anything available
  • Put your snacks on a plate instead of eating from the package - to have control over how much you eat.
  • Don't skip or delay meals. If you skip a meal your strong feeling of hunger will probably make you end up eating too much or choosing an unhealthy snack.
  • Don't eat too fast. Relax and enjoy your meals. Try to make healthy eating a pleasure.
  • Reduce sugar intake -sugar is addictive. Sugar (fructose) can encourage fat storage and sugary foods can also make you hungrier more quickly, so if you’re snacking on chocolate you’re likely to end up eating more throughout the day overall.
  • Eat natural, unprocessed foods.
  • Avoid sodas with sugar and artificial sweeteners, fruit juice, milk and beer.
  • Drink plenty of water - carry bottled water everywhere you go. Itll remind you to drink and how much you drank so far.

Making changes in eating habbits does not have to be all at once. You can slowly adapt these changes into your life which eventually lead to a much healthier life with more energy, better sleep and a positive mood :)

I am still in the process of making these changes at home, especially cutting down on the processed food and trying to cook as much as I can at home. There isn't anything better than home-made fool or a home-cooked meal :) The other day my husband and I even made homemade pickles, which turned out amazing!
I will keep on posting more of my cooking very soon

Have a great healthy day!

Photo Credit: Arya Ziai via Compfight cc

-Please don’t forget to UPVOTE and FOLLOW-


@cooknbake

Sort:  

@cooknbake You are such a beautiful soul. Congrats on beginning to awaken :) I support you on your journey. My advice is that raw organic fruits, berries, melons, vegetables, and herbal botanicals are all you need. Check out Dr. Robert Morse. Much love :) Namaste

Youre so kind 😊 I really appreciate your support!
I agree and will check out Dr. Robert Morse !Thank you for commenting 🤗

You are so welcome :) We all need to be here and now for each other

Jep, Dr. robert Morse he rocks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @digitalplayer. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cooknbake to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Good advise. Now that I'm over the hill, I've come to the same conclusion. I have even start a garden to improve my eating. Unfortunately, my gardening skill need improvement.

Thats great! I dont have gardening skills either but i do what i can in the garden and of i can do it, im sure you can! Sounds like youre on a great path to healthy eating:) there isnt anything better than making food from your own garden! Good luck:))

Thanks for the vote of confidence.

Glad you liked, thank you for commenting 🤗

Awesome! your page and posts are great, i will follow you 'cause i feel in the same way. I invite you to visit my posts! greetings

Thank you, will do!
Thanks for commenting 🤗 Glad you liked!!

Liked your intro post😊 wecome! Im sure youll love it here! Lots of luck and happiness! Upvoted your post👍

Great tips on eating healthy. It is amazing how much less we can will actually eat by eating slowly. Take a bite , put your fork down, and don't pick it up again until you are finished chewing. You will find you will be satisfied with less food eaten. Following and upvoted!

I agree 😁 thank you for commenting and support!

Thank you for that! I started reading it:) hopefully Ill get some of that into my daily habits as well!😁👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51