My 28-day sugar detox - Day 3 - Let the cravings begin

in #health7 years ago

20180223_001901_0001_preview.png

So today I woke up and started to prepare my oats as normal - and then the cravings became evident - this would taste so much better with some sugar - some sweeter, maybe just a bit of honey? It felt like my body couldn't control these urges and I had to fight really hard and be strong. The oats are starting to become more bearable now! Anyway, I wouldn't want to write on my blog that I had been a failure - its only day 3! No one said this would be easy but I'm glad I had the willpower!

download (10).jpg

Logging the food is still a huge challenge for me - sometimes remembering to weigh everything can be hard but I just need to get into the habit of it. We had fish potatoes and pesto for lunch it was delicious! I didnt measure this so I had to estimate, but again I don't think there is any sugar to be found here.
Another challenge is getting enough calories in while adopting such a big change in diet! I'm am only getting in around 2000 calories which is well short of my aim of around 3000. No longer can I binge on high-calorie junk food to get in the extra calories - so I need to eat more volume and also eat more healthy fats (which are higher in calories)

I must say I have found myself a bit more sluggish and tired during the day (less energy to get up and do things) but I have been sleeping really well. All the extra fiber is also giving me problems with my bowels... I wont go into detail lol!


As you can see I am doing really well sticking on track with lowering my sugar intake over this first week - I haven't had any added or processed sugar so far!

Please feel free to browse through previous entries in my 28-day sugar detox journey:

My 28-day sugar detox - why I'm quitting sugar

My 28-day sugar detox - day one!

My 28-day sugar detox day two - how food preparation is the key to success

Thanks everyone for following and encouraging me on this journey I really appreciate it! Please remeber to follow, upvote and RESTEEM if you found this useful!

Sort:  

Follow me for upvotes | Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 SBD and the URL in the memo to use the bot for a resteem and to get 5 good upvots.
Click here to see how to use Tisko Bot.

Congrats on trying this challenge! The first week is always pretty terrible and too much for some people. Sugar is not just addictive, it has often been used as the bodies primary fuel source for some time. The body switching over to fat as it’s fuel source now is a big change and probably why you’re feeling sluggish but..that passes, pretty soon you will have so much more energy. Cravings don’t really ease up much ever though, I dream of pancakes and pizza constantly.

Yeah the first week is usually as far as I get - through the hard part and then give up! Im looking forward to having more energy for sure!

Thanks for reading! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62630.85
ETH 2463.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61