My 28-day sugar detox - Day 2. How food preperation is key to success

in #health7 years ago (edited)

20180223_001901_0001_preview.png

Waking up today was a challenge - round two of oats with no sweetener! Yesterday's attempt was a fail as I could only get through half of my oats as I couldn't continue with the bland taste! Today I was a lot better.. although the oats had the same bland taste I was determined this time and got through them. I need to start thinking of a few alternative ideas for breakfast (I've done chia pots in the past which were a success!).

A couple of insights today - I am going to have to eat a few more carbs and fats if I want to get to my goal of around 3000 calories per day. Eating a big bowl of vegetables is great for your body but it sure hasn't got many calories and it is filling. I had a dinner with broccoli, eggs, bacon, and capsicum and it was only 500 calories! I remember once eating a packet of Oreos which was nearly 1000 calories and not feeling satisfied. That's because junk food like that has little nutritional value so you can keep eating without feeling full.

20180224_202546_preview.jpeg


No sugar to be found here!

Secondly, preparation is the key to success! If I don't have healthy sugar free snacks available I am going to find this detox very hard! We now have hummus and basil pesto for snacks and I'm planning on making a lentil soup tomorrow.

20180224_192203_preview.jpeg


Living the hummus life

I'm still working on logging all my food (I find the lunch the hardest to log) and didn't log again today (it was pork chops and salad with blue cheese and homemade wedges with homemade mayonnaise! Looking at my amount of sugar today - 22 grams! what an effort it was 36 yesterday! Remember lunch wasn't logged but I don't think there is sugar in pork chops, salad, and wedges??!

Screenshot_2018-02-24-23-05-04-1_preview.png


Myfitnesspal stats for today

Thought id end today's post by sharing an informative and lighthearted Youtube video about how sugar is in over 80% of our foods. Enjoy!

If you are interested in following my journey from the beginning please see the following links:
My 28-day sugar detox - why I'm quitting sugar
My 28-day sugar detox - Day one!

Thanks everyone who is following along I appreciate the support. Please remeber to follow, upvote and RESTEEM if you found this useful!

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

It's probably a bit late, and you've already moved on, but some ideas re the oats. Using Sally Fallon's idea (in Nourishing Traditions) of adding fat, I;ve done this in the past - soak oats overnight in warm water with a little acid (lemon juice, whey or ACV). This is to digest it better,. Then in the morning, add some coconut oil while cooking them, and then just before taking it off the heat, stir through some butter. Would still be a bit bland without flavouring, but so much creamier and more satisfying for the taste buds.

Wow awesome thanks for sharing this I will try tommorow! Yeah they are very bland at the moment ...

I wanted to get some vanilla extract but cant seem to find any here in Spain :( guess there is always Amazon

That astonishes me, and I got curious about whether maybe vanilla powder was there instead. I found this recipe for homemade vanilla extract by someone in Spain https://thethingswellmake.com/homemade-pure-vanilla-extract/
If you can't find what you need at Amazon, try iHerb.

Thanks! Yeah we live in a small fishing village so finding lots of things can be challenging. We us amazon a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35