Late Night Snacks That are Good For You

in #health7 years ago (edited)

First, let’s debunk a myth.

When you are sleeping, no calories will be burned.

Not entire true, during sleep, you do burn calories as your metabolic rate slows down a bit, but it doesn't stop burning. A good night time snack would be around 200 calories with complex carbs and protein. Eating the right protein at night can help you build muscle while you sleeping.

Adding a protein to your midnight snacking will keep you full until breakfast. After eating your snack, don't go immediately to sleep, spend some time doing anything, maybe just sitting up reading, watching TV, doing the dishes, whatever to reduces your risk of indigestion and acid reflux.

Here is the list of approved late night snacks

Honey and warm milk


Why warm milk?
Milk can help providing good sleeping to a person because it contains two substances which are known to be related to sleep and relaxation. According to research, having it warm is more psychological influence. A glass of warm milk may project memories of childhood were our mother preparing us warm milk, that may help us to relax. Add honey to your warm milk will moderately boost the sugar content of your snack

Frozen Blueberries


Blueberries are one of the best foods that you can eat for your health. Blueberries are highly nutritious and among the world's most powerful sources of antioxidants. The cold sweetness of frozen blueberries however is very refreshing at the end of the day.

Almonds

Eating almonds and other nuts can be a great bedtime snack for you as it improve your night sleep. It is also:

high in monounsaturated fats, the same type of health-promoting fats as are found in olive oil, which have been associated with reduced risk of heart disease- link

Dark Chocolate


No. Chocolate is not always forbidden. There are a lot of nutritional difference between dark chocolate and the average-convenience-store-chocolate. The dark chocolate have less sugar yet have antioxidant substance to improve your mood.

Sort:  

You secured my vote with your recommendation on dark chocolate.

Honey is nice, I like almonds, blueberries have a nice taste.

But dark chocolate was the key to the upvote, LOL

STEEM On !!

DaveB

Curation comment - well written and formatted. Not too long, not too short, passed on some small pieces of information in completely appropriate manner that was fun to read.

Dark choc though taste not as good as milk choc are quite under rated. Tq for reading my friend. Yeah steem on~~~~!

I try to learn to let my stomach rest before I head to bed. Malaysians tend to have a believe to sleep with a warm stomach . It is true in many sense, but to have my body concentrate on other more important functions like detoxing and regenerating, I have chose this path rather than distributing its source to digesting.
However if I have something as these 3 hours before bedtime, should not be a problem; but right now, I want my body to burn my excess storage in my body rather than adding to it for now.
mischief
upvoted

Yes. Let your stomach cool after eating. Btw, Cool avatar miss!

Thanks @cikxajien . I have edited it. You can now click on my avatar and read all about it

Great post ! I always look to improve my way of living and my health ! Thank you @cikxaijen !

Simple and straightforward, never knew chocolate is good for me :)

Have dark choc more! It is fun in cooking too!

Great article post. I agree with your tips. If I may add. For anyone like me. Allergic to Cow's milk. Goat or Camel milk are great. Also. Almond, Coconut, and Hemp milk. Are fabulous options.

Great article!
Following & resteemed

Thank you!!! ^_^

You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70