Let Me Tell You Why I Only Eat Organic Bananas...

in #health7 years ago (edited)

IMG_8041.JPG
I was raised with the mentality that organics are the way to go! Having said that, there was a time when I felt that fruits and vegetables with protective skins didn't matter as much and could be conventional. Hey, it sort of made sense and it definitely made sense with my pocketbook, as well!

Research and experience will take you places and as a result, I have come to the conclusion that 100 percent organic is the preferred way to go.

So let's talk about bananas as I implied that I would....
IMG_7957.JPG

Obviously, protective skins do prevent direct exposure to harmful sprays and chemicals and consequently, I would much rather eat a conventional/non-organic banana than a strawberry in that same classification. But does this mean that conventional is the way to go? No, I don't believe so and here's why...

We must remember that the soil plays a major role in the development and of fruits and vegetables and when then soils is tainted by harmful chemicals, the natural process has been somewhat disrupted and distorted from its originally intended purpose.

I know it's a few cents more to buy organic bananas but I do believe it's worth doing, especially if you eat a lot of them on a regular basis.

Bananas are filled with nutrients like potassium, magnesium, manganese, iron, fiber and the list goes on. So don't stop eating bananas because they're an excellent source of super nutrition!

If you enjoyed the content of this article and other posts of mine, then please consider upvoting, resteeming and/or commenting below! You're welcome to follow me, too! :)

Sort:  

Great post, you have a new follower. i hope you follow me as i need the support.

@liberian
Thanks you so much! Thanks for the follow and happy to be following you, too! :)

Organic bananas taste better to me.
A teller once asked me why I spend the extra money,
and I simply said that the taste difference is worth paying a bit more.

@canadian-coconut
You are right about the taste! I forgot to mention that but it's true! I can definitely tell the difference! :)

My secret health tip is food combining. It's not cool but with correct combinations and fasting/detoxing maybe any one could be superman. So eat them bananas alone and google food combining and put a chart on the refrigerator. One of the greatest poisons is called a sandwich! They're everywhere and yummy! Add fries and a coke and if the human body wasn't so strong, would be enough to kill.

@shepdog
I'm really glad you pointed that out. I used to pay more attention to food combining but have slacked off in that area in recent times. I am inspired to start being more aware of the foods I combine. Thanks for your comment! :)

You should eat other foods than just organicbannanas. While bananas contain potassium, you are going need more nutrients. More protein! More bacon!

@enlightenedchef
Oh I agree that there has to be balance. I think I'd go "bananas" if I only ate bananas all of the time. Bananas are healthy and the kind that you buy can be important and that was what I wanted to point out in my post. I enjoy eating a variety of foods! Food is awesome! :)
Thanks for your comment!

Organic is the way to go whenever possible and organic foods typically have more flavor too. I'm off of bananas though, as it seems as though every other week I hear another story about how someone had to have their house fumigated after those deadly Brazilian death spiders---or whatever they're called---came in via the bananas. I like bananas...... but not that much!

@eyeoftgestorm
My favorite bananas are from South America as they seem to have a sweeter, less acidic flavor. But I agree that you got to watch out for those unwelcome spiders.... Not a good thing!
Thank you very much for commenting on my post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71