Keto and Me, a Diabetic Journey #6 - The Whoosh EffectsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

Every Thursday I add a little bit of insight into my Keto journey. As a diabetic, I felt like I won the lottery when I discovered Ketogenesis and what it's potential was. I was elated that I lost 10 pounds the first week and I though I would be down way more a month later.

Not so much...

24fa063d7461f46cc36165f5a320d118--ketosis-diet-ketogenic-diet.jpg 2017-08-24_12-16-01.png

What was I doing wrong? I did the meat, grease, and cheese thing I thought I was supposed to do. I made sure I got plenty of cruciferous veggies and abstained from fast carbs. I don't understand the macros just yet, so that's a work in progress.

1488402648281.jpg

As I was scouring the all knowing Internet, I stumbled upon a possible answer...The Keto Whoosh...

2017-08-24_10-55-35.png

As I understand it, fat cells are designed to hold fat for the famine periods we may encounter in a glucose lifestyle. Until our body is fat adapted, the fat cells replace the energy released as ketones with WATER!

giphy.gif

Water weighs much more than fat and therefore the nasty scale does not show any weight loss!

2017-08-24_12-43-34.png

Here's a little old lady explaining (in her own way) the Whoosh Effect...

I now think I understand what it will take and I have begun to adjust my electrolytes to help the Whoosh happen. I just hope I have a bit of warning. Don't want any uncontrollable whooshing!

animated-waterfalls-58cabe6d93eed665bdc0204a-g.gif

I also need to regulate my workouts to maximize the fat burn...

5295fb642ddd86117961ab39abe2c5da--weird-but-true-memes.jpg

Until next time...

4oEgo.jpg

all images are the property of the original artists, I have no rights

Except for this one...

2017-06-30_09-44-56.png

Thank you to my 300+ Followers - This is Steemit! https://steemit.com/steemit/@bigskykilroy/three-hundred-followers-this-is-steemit

Thanks for coming along on this journey. I post this Keto blog every Thursday and if you were one of the very few who did not see the previous installments, here they are...

Keto and Me, a Diabetic Journey #1 - Check Your Nuts!
https://steemit.com/food/@bigskykilroy/keto-and-me-a-diabetic-journey-1-check-your-nuts

Keto and Me, a Diabetic Journey #2 - The First Week In Kicked My Butt! Lost 10lbs so STFU!
https://steemit.com/steemit/@bigskykilroy/keto-and-me-a-diabetic-journey-2-the-first-week-in-kicked-my-butt-lost-10lbs-so-stfu

Keto and Me, a Diabetic Journey #3 - Water + Electrolytes = Hydration!
https://steemit.com/health/@bigskykilroy/keto-and-me-a-diabetic-journey-3-water-electrolytes-hydration

Keto and Me, a Diabetic Journey #4 - Intermittent Fasting, What the Hell is That? 16/8 Method
https://steemit.com/food/@bigskykilroy/keto-and-me-a-diabetic-journey-4-intermittent-fasting-what-the-hell-is-that-16-8-method

Keto and Me, a Diabetic Journey #5 - Weight Loss, Fitness, and the Gym!
https://steemit.com/life/@bigskykilroy/keto-and-me-a-diabetic-journey-5-weight-loss-fitness-and-the-gym

Kilroy Was Here !¡!

Sort:  

I am one of those 'slow losers', I see the posts of people losing lots of pounds in such a short period and it gets me frustrated but I just keep on. I find measurements really make a difference, you'll see more movement there then on the scale. 😊
Nurse Cindy has a great explanation of the fat whoosh, eh?! She has alot of good videos.
Great Post.👌🏼
Upvoted 😃

Thank you! I too am a slow loser, but I'm down to two meals a day and they are small. Just not hungry. Vitamins, greens, and coconut oil with a side of protein. It's pretty crazy how full I feel by just staying hydrated. Thanks for stopping by!

Very fun and well put together article. Thank you for sharing @bigskykilroy . I have been practicing IF for about 2 months now and am currently 75% of the way into my first 24 hour fast.

This was the first post I had come across from you but I will definitely be going back and reading your past posts, and am excited to see your posts in the future.

Stay strong, keep on that Ketogenesis, and don't ever stop.

I appreciate the kind words. Thank you for stopping by. Steem On Brother!

Congratulations @bigskykilroy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi @bigskykilroy, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thank you! I was unaware of your series, as many do get lost here. I appreciate the mention and I have added you to my exclusive list of folks I follow. I think it's great idea to include other's posts inside our own post as well as repost. Unfortunately, reposts get stuck in the same feed stream that original content gets swept away in. I think I shall incorporate a shout out section in some of my posts as well.

Thank you for stopping by and Steem the Dream!

The shout out sounds like a great idea. I would like to see the resteems separate from our own posts. The tendency to bury the users posts is one reason I rarely resteem which makes me very glad I am doing the Ramble and can share that way.

That's the same reason I'm very particular about what gets reSteemed.

Interesting post. Thanks for sharing your experience. Thanks to @shadowpub for telling us about you. Followed, upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you for stopping by. It was quite nice of @shadowpub for the mention. Steem the Dream!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42