Who knew about 22q?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

In my previous post, I talked briefly about 22q11.2 deletion syndrome. I hope I can explain a little more about it, and make more people aware of it's existence.

The many faces of 22q11:

"What you are not seeing, are the features that make life with 22q11 so challenging."

And this summarizes exactly why more people need to know about it. When you encounter a person with Down syndrome, most people know more or less know what to (not) expect. With 22q11, even if you know of it's existence, it's usually not immediately apparant that there is anything "wrong".
That being said, I really do not intend to compare different syndromes or medical conditions, but I hope I made my point.

People with 22q11 can have many possible symptoms and combinations thereof, ranging from mild to very serious. There's also a combination of mental and physical conditions involved.
Children with 22q11 usually have a below-normal IQ, delayed development, and delayed language acquisition, amongst many other things. Some can attend normal schools, but others need specialized forms of education (like my son). Adults have a high risk of developing mental disorders, such as psychosis and schizophrenia.

22q11.2 ds symptoms

Wikipedia:

"The signs and symptoms of 22q11.2 deletion syndrome are so varied that different groupings of its features were once regarded as separate conditions. These original classifications included velocardiofacial syndrome, Shprintzen syndrome, DiGeorge sequence/syndrome, Sedlackova syndrome, and conotruncal anomaly face syndrome. All are now understood to be presentations of a single syndrome."

Rough estimations say 1 in 2000 babies are born with 22q11, but some researchers and doctors actually think the syndrome may be just as common as Down syndrome (1 in 1000). The technique to detect the 22q11 deletion is relatively new, and as many doctors don't know of it's existence, a lot of cases probably go undetected. I actually asked around our local health center and just one (!) of about 12 doctors I spoke to knew about the syndrome. It might give you an idea of how many cases might go undiagnosed, which makes the lives of the affected people (and their families) unnecessarily difficult.

If you have some spare 10 minutes, I encourage you to watch this:

And as for me; What did I learn so far? I learned to be less judgmental about people with mental challenges. These people struggle with simple things I myself take for granted. They are in many ways so much stronger than me, and I can have nothing but a lot of respect for that.

Thanks for reading!

Brgds and Steem on!

Sort:  

Nice explanation man. I sure as hell hadn't heard about it till you broke the news to us ... Heartbreaking to see the little wonder in that first clip. Lets hope it will get more attention to the point that it has the same recognition as downs and will get the same amount of tests. Stay strong.

Thanks for your support! At first I couldn't really see what all this recognition would benefit to, but the more I think of it, the more I realize it'll make the lives of a lot of people a little bit better.

He man, nice write up. Did I see your son in the video? I think I did but now I'm confused I also never heard of this syndrome. It's good to get it more out there!

Congratulations @bennierex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @bennierex! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71