"And then it all came crumbling down..."steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Some time ago I was browsing Reddit and I came upon this question: "What's the title of the current chapter of your life?". First thing that popped into mind was the title of this post...

Wow, that got me thinking for a while. I mean, it could be worse, but that just sounds really depressing.

To be honest, a lot of things are going on in my life right now. In August last year we got some really bad news regarding the health of our youngest son. It's not like it's life-threatening, but he'll need intensive mental coaching and regular physical check-ups during the rest of his life. He's three years old at the moment, so we've got a long road ahead of us.

Almost three years went by, my son waking up 8 - 12 times a night, EVERY night, before we found out the real reason why this was happening. Three years of seemingly unrelated illnesses and physical discomfort. Three years of pleading to doctors to please consider writing a referral to have this sorted out. Three years before FINALLY meeting this pediatrician who knew what was going on, the first time she saw my son. The same woman that saved my other son's life over 6 years earlier.

Genetic testing confirmed:

"... he has 22q11.2 deletion syndrome."

I'd never heard of it, but that hit me like a freight train. I didn't dispute the test results; It explains all the, for all we knew were unrelated, symptoms he has. It also makes it possible to get proper care and "treatment". Still it felt like someone close to me just died.

Whatever happens though, I love the little guy to death. He's really sweet and I can see he's doing whatever he can to learn new things and keep up with whatever gets thrown at him. Less than four years into this world, he's already so much stronger than I will ever be!

Check out my next post if you care to know what 22q11 deletion syndrome is, and why I think more (all) people should know about it's existence.

If you got this far, thanks for reading through! Please bear with me as this is my first real blogpost on Steemit and I probably need some time to adjust ;) I'd love to read your comments and/or critique, or just if you can relate or find yourself in a similar situation.

Brgds and Steem on!

Sort:  

The picture of you and your son speaks volumes. You're helluva father Ben and I wish he and you all the best life has to offer! He, you and you're family have a blessed weekend!

Thanks for the kind words. Hope you have a great weekend too!

Life handed you and yours some serious lemons man ... if ever there is anything I can do to make lemonade, you know all you have to do is holler.

Thanks dude, much appreciated!

You are the best father he could have man! Love the first picture with you and your boy.

Thanks, appreciate your support every day 👊

Got an ice-block, down at the pool. Life is sweet bro'

Very nice post @exyle

22q11 eh? Pretty original sounding. Well done for sticking to task to ensure you got your boy assessed.

Congratulations @bennierex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for sharing this emotional story. I wish you and your family all the best and much happiness together

Thanks, really appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66709.93
ETH 3505.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71