How I Became My Own Doctor. Part 1.

in #health6 years ago

FB_IMG_1518619010618.jpg

Before I became this lovely version of myself, that you get to see these days.... let me tell you - my life was a misery.

I was unwell from a very young age, living with non-diagnosed auto-immune disorder.
The thing is - I was one of those who had a super human immunity, so they had to perform the vaccination process on me a few times more thanon other kids of my time in my country of birth.
That left me in a broken sensitive body, that reacted to every little thing.

I was a weak, scared little kid who refused to eat and speak, and just wanted to be left alone, or even better - to disappear from the face of the Earth.
My little body ached and had fevers "for no reason" almost all the time.
I kept fainting, could not play with other kids (That is why I am making it all up now). There was no life force in me.
Some days all I could do was just stay still and breathe.

Missing on life and joy that everyone around me seemed to have, I wondered what was wrong with me for a long time. My poor health was a concern for my family, an excuse to skip the school (Shhhh. Dont tell anyone!) and total confusion for doctors i was shown.

At 31, while living in London, I was finally diagnosed with an auto-immune disorder called lupus.

In case you are fortunate not to know, Lupus Erythematosus is a condition where the immune system is so whacked, that instead of protecting its own cells, it attacks them. That causes a lot of pain in our physical body - different organs, muscles, and joints.
Millions of people live with this "mysterious" disorder un-diagnosed, wondering why they are feeling like someone squeezed the life force out of them. Information on Vaccines is kind of a recent thing, only a few years ago I was able to connect the dots for myself.

According to dr Mark Hyman, a brilliant doctor of functional medicine,
“Auto-Immune diseases now affect 24 million people and include Rheumatoid Arthritis, Lupus, Multiple Sclerosis, Thyroid Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, and more...”

Millions of us are living with compromised immunity and no one to turn to!

35949081_2238738682810553_6496949135478882304_n.jpg

Where do we go when we fall ill?
Whom do we trust with our bodies, with our lives and lives of our kids?
Who is going to tell us that we can heal without meds?
Who is going to direct us to our Self, to Nature?
Who will guide us through a journey of Self-healing?

Big pHarma?

We were programmed to believe that taking medications is the only way to get well. We were programmed to feel dis-empowered and helpless. The more helpless we feel - the more profitable we are to the system.

I will never forget how on one of my ending-in-the-hospital adventures, a very compassionate nurse leaned closer to me and warmly said, "Please help yourself, darling. Take your meds." She was sincerely upset with my refusal to take drugs, and she meant well, I am sure of it.
The external programming made us believe that that there is only one thing to fix our health issues - one for every kind of disorder that we might have - medication.
Programming was not our choice.....choosing to unplug from it IS.

12923191_1196416443709454_1929678433545589692_n[1].jpg<.center>

Here is how it happened to me.
Ar first,It felt like I was trapped.
Feverish, confused and so-very-very-tired, I spent most of my days in despair.
I felt useless and dysfunctional, angry and confused... and also very sad and guilty about not being able to have a life.

What did I do?
Right after I got diagnosed and understood why I was feeling like a dead person for three decades, I decided that I could not take it any more. I will ether find a way to heal naturally... or... I die naturally.
I carefully read the long list of the side effects of the meds that doctors suggested. It sounded as scary as the symptoms
that I already had. I also read all there was to read at that time about lupus.
Things looked kinda gloomy.
The information did not feel very soothing and prognoses did not sound appealing.

To make it more exciting for me,
at the time of diagnosis, the part of my brain that is responsible for balance was “under attack.”
When my mind thought I was walking straight, my body was turning either left or right, making me bump into things, and scaring the day light out of me. "Omg. Maybe I should take the meds and just stay locked in, at home?" I was thinking to myself, while sitting on the floor of my little London apartment after falling down.

You know, It is funny to remember it all now from where I am these days - happily living-and-loving in beautiful Thailand, having heaps of fun... but, honestly, at that time it did not feel funny, it was one scary and confusing experience. I was young and hungry for joy, fun, and adventures that I could not have. I felt cheated by life.

I checked into a health spa in the UK right after the diagnosis and decided to wait for the right answers, for some kind of guidance that would feel right in my Heart.
That is where and when I had my first plant-based, raw food experience, and was reminded of our connection to Nature.
For the whole week I walked barefoot in the garden, smelled flowers, watched the clouds, kept myself to myself, read a lot and prayed even more.

One week of plant-eating, time with Nature and myself was enough of a reminder to me that there was something else here for us, in fact, it was calling on us, loving us and wanting the best for us.

Because I had nowhere and no one else to turn to, I turned to it. I made a connection to the Universe/Mystery/God.. whatever word resonates better with you.
Since then,
I became interested in meditation and yoga.
I started reading books on nutrition and healing. I visited numerous natural/herbal doctors.
Many of them were terrific, pointing me in the right direction – to Nature, to Harmony, to deeper Truth.

I learned everything I found relevant and tried everything I could. Experimenting on myself became my idea of fun.
People around me thought me strange, but every time they did not feel well or wanted to fix something, I was happy to be called their friend.
My bewildered family had to watch me do some “weird” stuff: all kinds of juice cleanses, drinking melted ice water, sprouting whatever can sprout, hanging upside down, oil pulling, liver flushes, enemas, zapping, sun-gazing and chanting, and "starving" myself most of the time, that seems to bother most people the most.

During this long exciting journey I felt I was coming closer and closer to my true Self.
I started remembering who I was, before all that programming, before the vaccines, before.. before.. before.
I remembered my roots and my cosmic lineage. I was no longer a victim or a stranger to myself.

I am well these days... I have energy to live a life.
I did not heal my body overnight, and I will not lie to you by telling you that it was easy.
But... the more layers I peeled - the better I felt.
The better I felt - the more exciting and glorious this life journey became.
I still have a lot to learn, to experiment and play with... but I healed enough to remember who I am.

These days I find my lovely Self among those who tell people that they can heal without meds.
I assist others on their way to themselves, and share my story to empower and to inspire.

15284906_1818673275036577_6170259526212157326_n.jpg

So...whoever you are, reading this, darling.

If you are unwell, lacking energy and vitality, as someone who walked the path, I wish to say this - You can HEAL.
You can do it.
Leave the external programming to those who are still afraid, who still put more trust in the system than in themselves.
You know you are better than that.
Believe you can heal.
Things can change for you, as they changed for me and many many others who dared to turn their face from the system towards Nature, who chose to believe in their Self.
If I, used-to-be-weak-and-scared-kid, could become my own hero, my own doctor, so can you!

~ from my next book "My Own Doctor."

Anna Suvorova
Health/Yoga Educator.
Self-Healing Advocate.
Author. Dreamer of a better world for all.

Sort:  

Thank you for this inspiring post and thanks to @barge for letting me know of your post :)

I like that quote in the photo to never own an illness. I will have to stop thinking of my thyroid tumors. I have been on alternative meds and a healthier diet. I just need to manage sleep and stress. My alternative doctor recently had me on intermittent fasting but I'm still not ready to start. I really need self-discipline and kinda scared to "starve" myself. I love food! :D

I am also glad that I didn't rely on the Big Pharma and also radiation. Like you, I knew something was wrong in them. I am still struggling to have a healthier lifestyle though. I am glad you were able to do all these and happy that you have healed yourself. I wish to do achieve the same. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I really do love all of your posts, they are very empowering, it really is so important that we take back control of our own lives, I strongly believe this. thank you for sharing your wisdom with us all @annasuvorova

It is nice to know you managed to overcome the issue that was holding back your enjoyment of life, sometimes we need to know ourselves properly so we can later understand what it is that is good for us and what might be causing us harm.

Fantastic article, just now discovered your work! So many parallels, my wife is still struggling with rheumatoid, but finally healing naturally. She didn't suffer to the degree you have, but many similarities nonetheless. I'll be looking at more of your work and most likely following. Thank you!
Sincerely,
-Logan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88