Steemit Weekly Health Challenge #2. A healthy dessert - yogurt with granola and strawberries

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Hello,

I participated last week in a contest organized by @healthsquared and I won the 3rd place, and now I am more confident in myself and I want to join in the second challenge: cook a healthy dessert recipe.

If you want to join too you should hurry up, the deadline is Sunday at 8 A.M. The sponsor of the contest is beautiful @sweetsssj.

I love this theme because I like to have a healthy lifestyle, so here is my entry: yogurt with granola and strawberries.

For those who do not know, granola is a combination of grain, dried fruits and seeds. The difference between granola and muesli is that in muesli the ingredients are not ripe.

I discovered various granola recipes on the internet but none of it was my favorite, so I decided to create my own recipe. We have a wonderful combination of grain that is certainly healthier than the ones in supermarkets.

Fibers are essential for body health. Specifically, they prevent constipation, improve digestion, help regulate blood sugar levels and give a feeling of satiety.

Due to its excellent nutritional profile, walnuts and seeds should not lack any healthy diet. We can opt for them whenever we want a healthy snack.

At the same time, nuts and seeds have significant amounts of healthy fats, essential to maintaining a balanced body weight.

ingredinete.jpg

So, when you prepare desserts at home, you can replace ingredients rich in calories with lighter and healthier alternatives! We all know that sugar is not healthy to eat, so I prefer to replace it with honey, agave syrup or maple syrup.

separator-modificat.png

How to prepare granola

These are the ingredients:

20180522_205228.jpg

So, you will need:

  • 100 g oatmeal;
  • 50 g coconut flakes;
  • 100 g nuts;
  • 50 g pumpkin seeds;
  • 50 g raisins;
  • a teaspoon of cinnamon;
  • 4 tablespoons of coconut oil (or sunflower oil or 50 g of melted butter);
  • 4 tablespoons of agave/maple syrup.

How to prepare:

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C).

Put the nuts in a blender. Then, put the ingredients in a bowl and mix them until the composition is homogenized.

20180522_205647.jpg

If the mixture is a bit dry, add a tablespoon of water.

Spread this mixture on a baking paper and then put it into the preheated oven until the mixture is ready (about 20 minutes).

20180522_210138.jpg

20180522_210504.jpg

20180522_210733.jpg

After 10 minutes remove the tray from the oven and mix the ingredients with a spoon. Put the tray back into the oven for 10 more minutes. When they become golden you take them out and let them cool.

Once you have removed the granola from the oven, keep it in a sealed container at room temperature for several days or in the fridge for several weeks.

Recipes are made to be adapted. You can also add goji fruit, sunflower seeds, linseed and sesame seeds, you can play with the colors and aromas, thus obtaining a healthy and delicious snack.

separator-modificat.png

Ideas and suggestions

You can prepare a larger quantity because the granola is kept for a long time, very well in hermetically sealed jars, although I'm almost sure it will end in just a few days ...

  • granola is very delicious for topping on ice cream;

  • a little granola over a fruit salad can be an ideal afternoon snack at work, being a healthy alternative to sweets.

The next step is to prepare a delicious and healthy dessert.

I eat yogurt with a low-fat content, but you can choose the ones you like the most.

For assembling, put in a bowl or in a glass alternatives layers of granola, yogurt, and finally strawberries. You can replace strawberries with any fruit you want.

20180522_214159.jpg

20180522_214926.jpg

20180522_215028.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my recipe and you will try it. :D

separator-modificat.png

I don't have a professional camera, the photos were taken with my smartphone and although they are not looking so good I want you to know that I have prepared this dessert with a lot of love and I hope it will be appreciated.

Special thanks to @bitson because he created for me this beautiful text divider, he joined Steemit a month ago and has a great blog, you can follow him on this wonderful journey. :D

Love,
@allesia

Sort:  

A general rule about healthy food: cow milk is very good... for a little calf, but not for humans!

Everyone is free to choose what they eat.

Hola amiga... quedaron chévere las fotos. Y la receta muy bien explicada. Se ve rico el postre. Suerte en el concurso.

Es una receta saludable, definitivamente será apreciada por su familia. Gracias por el comentario :*

Recipe is creative, tasty and healthy @allesia 👍

I hope you can win in this healthy contest @allesia 🤗

Thank you for your good thoughts :*

I loved the recipe, healthy and it has an incredible aspect, besides the handling in the explanation. The quality of the photo is the least, they still look good.

I'm glad you liked my recipe, thanks for the encouragement. Cheers :D

Wow for a healthy lifestyle a healthy diet is compulsory and your article is based on it.
Thank you for sharing this recipe and the procedures, it make cooking easy.
Your recipe contains fibers which is the most important diet a human body needed. I hope it will help many people.
Good luck for your contest.

It is very easy to prepare and I tried to offer as much detail as possible to get a delicious dessert. Thank you. Best wishes!

Woww that looks perfect....👌 never knew u r so good at health supplements😉

I like to eat healthy and take care of my silhouette :)

mmm, seems yummy, I have to try it !

Great, it is a very tasty dessert.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85