NVMe vs SSD vs HDD - just a quick speed test

in #hdd4 months ago

I remember a few years ago, I upgraded all the computers and laptops in our house by installing SSD hard drives instead of the all standard hard drives. That was revolutionary and it made the computers so much faster. It was fantastic.

Recently I discovered that my motherboard supports M2 and NVMe hard drives, so I decided to give it a try to check the difference. If you remember, I also tested the difference in speeds between different USB pendrives recently, and noticed that there is a difference in speeds for such drives as well. Even though a USB drive supports USB 3 or USB 3.1, doesn't mean that the pen drive will give you such speeds. So, I experienced speeds such as 20 MB/s for a pen drive, while another gave me 40 MB/s.

testing hard drives.jpeg

Then I checked my SSD hard drives and discovered that they provided somewhere around 500 MB/s. And then I decided to test my NVMe after I installed it, and it gave me a whopping 1,7 GB/s. That is quite an extreme difference. The only thing is that the difference felt much smaller than compared to when I went from a normal HDD harddrive to SSD, that was extreme. Now I guess the memory is limiting the speed, the CPU speed, and more... but it is great to know that my NVMe is performing very well and gives me a foundation for a fast computer and fast data processing.

I do like testing things like this, and I hope you found it interesting as well!

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34