I just got the most wonderful present.

in #haturday6 years ago (edited)

This morning, our friend called us to tell us the wood order had arrived and we needed to go and pick it up. So we had to get up early to go and collect the wood as another friend is arriving later today who is in the process of moving from the UK to Bulgaria, starting to think I am seeing a trend happening.

(Credit Pixabay)

So we arrived and started to load the wood onto the truck.

When my friend called me over to say he had something for me. I walked over and he handed me a bag, so I looked in and instantly remembered what it was, an authentic Russian Ushanka.

I remembered back in november when we were at a bonfire night, I was talking to my friend Avia who is from Russia and lives here with her Dutch husband. I said I would love one of those hats, she said she would get one for me when she was over next. I completely forgot about it until today, when I saw what she had brought back.

What is a Ushanka?

(Credit Pixabay)

Basically their hats that Russians wear during the winter, they're fur lined with ear flaps you can use to cover your ears or you can wear them up. I do have one which I bought from the market here but I always wanted the real deal and now I have one.

According to wikipedia, because I have to check these things out and give a bit of education, the Ushanka as we know it today has been around since 1918. The finnish army actually adopted the Ushanka as part of their military uniform during the winter war, as many soldiers were dying from freezing temperatures. It was their influence that the red army of Russia introduced the Ushanka as part of their military uniform.

source

So check out these photos from the Old Fur Cap to the new.

IMG_2034.jpg

This is the other half's old fur cap, he has had it for a number of years. Its old and worn, but now he can have my black one I bought at the market.

IMG_2032.jpg

The black Ushanka I bought last year that I now have given to the other half, this is worn up.

IMG_2033.jpg

This is it with the earflaps down.

But now for the penultimate authentic Russian Ushanka.

IMG_2031.jpg

Holy moly its big, but its lovely and warm.

IMG_2035.jpg

Here it is with flaps up.

IMG_2036.jpg

Here it is if I want to keep my eyes warm and just not walk anywhere, its huge.

I am over the moon at my new gift, its just a shame that we are now in springtime an I have months before I am able to wear it, but now at least I feel I won't be dreading the winter and will wear it at every opportunity.

IMG_2040.jpg

Can I also just thank @hazem91 for reminding me that every day can be a #haturday.

Thank you for reading

xoxo



The STEEM Engine

ASAPERS

My Achievements on Steemit


Sort:  

I like how you suck us in with a tale, followed by educational information about an unpronounceable hat - and then you go and hit us with a picture of you wearing a WOLF on your head! I hope you made sure it had emptied it's bowls prior to applying it to your head - or it could have ended up very messy!
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Ah but it is a lovely warm wolf though mr @c0ff33a we can't all say we have wolves for hats now can we. Regarding emptying its bowels head and shoulders are at the ready.

OMG one of them was really funny 😅 ok not just one lol
now you wont feel sorry if you don't find it next year after storing it somewhere.. You already have a photo wearing it 😉

that will never happen I know exactly where I am putting it in time for winter.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 15:57:17
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 25.20/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

My dad used to wear a Russian hat like this one when I was a kid. They were and still are very popular in eastern Europe.

Its the best hat I ever had. Not as popular now in eastern europe though you only see older generations wearing them now.

Indeed a very interesting story. I really like when you see Russian troops wearing winter hats. Whether it's called ushanka dear my friend? I really like 😉.

Thats right Ushanka is the Russian name for them other countries may have different names. This is called ushanka because it is from Russia.

OMGosh what a GREAT hat!!!!!!!!!!!

You are so lucky and that will keep you very warm!!! :D

I can't wait for winter now for more pics.

lol I had a few of those myself!

Hello stranger how are you??

I'm well... still trying to grow on here. lol

You have been defended with a 86.96% upvote!
I was summoned by @c0ff33a.

Well thats just because he is a cool king @c0ff33a.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60627.10
ETH 2662.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44