ART: DIY Harry Potter/Ravenclaw Stickers and Embellishments from Scratch

in #harrypotter6 years ago

ravenclaw cover.jpg

Hi Steemians! Today I would like to share how I made my Harry Potter Ravenclaw planner stickers. I love Harry Potter movies and I have started reading the books a few months ago. They are incredible and when I started reading the books, I realized how much details I was missing out. Since I have become a Potterhead, I signed up on Pottermore and I was sorted into Ravenclaw. It does reflect my personality so I am not very surprised. As planning has become an addiction of mine, I tried adding a touch of Harry Potter on it. I did not buy any stickers so I made my own. For those of you who are not Potterheads, Ravenclaw is one of the houses in Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. It was founded by Rowena Ravenclaw and the students who are sorted into this house are creative, witty, wise and take learning seriously.

"Or yet in wise old Ravenclaw,
If you've a ready mind,
Where those of wit and learning,
Will always find their kind."
—The Sorting Hat

The things that I used to make my planner stickers:

a mechanical pencil with a 2B lead
Staedtler Luna coloured pencils
a silver Sharpie marker
a black gel pen

Method:

P_20180708_210221_HDR.jpg

First of all, I drew some lines and columns to make boxes in the approximate size of my planner. I didn't want to end up drawing pictures that are too large or too small to include in my planner.

P_20180710_213533_HDR.jpg

Then, I drew my Harry Potter / Ravenclaw stickers. I didn't have the plan to include a banner at this stage.

P_20180716_122923_HDR.jpg

This is after colouring all of them except the potion picture on the top right. Well, I didn't really like it since I already have a potion picture in the second box of the top row. I also drew a little banner by merging two boxes so that I have adequate space.

P_20180723_205059_HDR.jpg

This is after colouring the banner. I was testing some fonts on the top right.

Ravenclaw's Badge

P_20180723_202102_HDR gimp yashny.jpg
This is the badge of Ravenclaw with its mascot, an eagle. I chose to follow the colours and mascot based on the books hence the colours are blue and bronze. Contrary to the books, Ravenclaw's mascot in the movies is a raven and the colours are blue and silver.

Hogwarts Acceptance Letter

P_20180723_195019_LL envelope gimp yashny.jpg
This is a Hogwarts acceptance letter envelope with a red wax seal. I lost my patience waiting for mine so I made one on my own. I thought of using tea to stain my paper but I did not like the idea of using a food item on my paper and thought it might damage it over time. So, I just used my coloured pencils.

A Blue Quill

P_20180723_202351_HDR gimp2 yashny.jpg

A quill is a feather pen that the magical folks use to write. They dip it in ink and use it like a pen.

A Stack of Witchcraft and Wizardry Books

P_20180723_195130_LL books gimp yashny.jpg
This is a stack of books with Hogwarts School subjects. I coloured them using my coloured pencils and wrote the subject names using a black gel pen. There are more subjects but I just chose those with the shortest names. I didn't want to go through the trouble of trying to fit in a long title into my little stack of books.

A Potion

P_20180723_202223_HDR gimp touch up yashny.jpg

This is a blue potion. Well, what's Harry Potter without some potion? I chose the colour blue to maintain the Ravenclaw theme.

Luna Lovegood's Spectrespecs

P_20180723_202139_HDR gimp yashny.jpg

This is my favourite Ravenclaw, Luna Lovegood's glasses. It was given out on one of the issues of The Quibbler, a tabloid newspaper in the wizarding world. Luna's father, Xenophilius Lovegood was the editor of the newspaper. These unique looking spectacles are like the 3D glasses of the muggle world (in case you don't know, muggle world is the no-maj world i.e. our world). It makes the users look like demented multicoloured owls.

Butterbeer Cork Necklace

P_20180723_202159_HDR gimp new yashny.jpg

This is a necklace which has a butterbeer cork as a pendant. Luna Lovegood wears it to keep the Nargles away. The Nargles are magical creatures that are mischevious thieves that steal things.

Chocolate Frogs

P_20180723_170430_HDR testing5 yashny.jpg
This is a sweet that is made of chocolate. They come in the form of frogs, hence the name Chocolate Frogs. They hop around and behave like real frogs. They will probably be hopping around until the magic wears off. The sweet comes with cards of famous witches and wizards of the magical community along with some information on their details and accomplishments when the cards are flipped around.

Bertie Bott's Every Flavour Beans

P_20180723_202124_HDR gimp yashny.jpg
This is a package of sweets which are like jelly beans. They come in a wide range of flavours from the edible items such as peppermint, chocolate, and toffee to non-edibles such as grass, vomit and earwax (yuck). I think my gag reflex will be activated the moment I get the first taste of the non-edibles.

Butterbeer

P_20180723_202722_HDR gimp2 yashny.jpg

This is a famous beverage in the wizarding world. The normal butterbeer is made of some butterscotch, sugar and water. There is also another variant which is the extra sweet version of butter with a few extra ingredients to add more sweetness.

Ravenclaw Checked Design

P_20180716_203934_HDR yashny.jpg

Ravenclaw Chevron Design

P_20180716_203858_HDR yashny.jpg

Ravenclaw Banner

P_20180716_203600 gimp last.png
This is just a simple Ravenclaw banner that I made. I did this in the last minute as I thought it will complete the set. I used coloured pencils, a gel pen and a silver Sharpie marker for this.

P_20180723_205023_HDR.jpg

This is a closer view of my completed artwork of Harry Potter / Ravenclaw stickers.

Source of information on Harry Potter:
http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page

I just noticed that the coloured pencils that I used are LUNA which is also the name of one my favourite characters, Luna Lovegood. She is so amazing that Harry Potter named one of his children after her. By the way, in case you are wondering why I have watermarked all of my artworks, that is because I might compile a digital copy to sell them. I will probably make digital copies for the Happy Planner and maybe for Erin Condren's as well. I am not sure yet, it is just a part of my plans. I hope that you enjoyed reading my post and a huge shoutout to all Potterheads! xx

If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

bitmoji-20180403064406.png


Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

Butterfly Colouring Contest


Cold/Flu Home Remedy | Step-by-Step Guide | Traditional Ayurvedic Medicine


steem artists.png


Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50